We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alexandria National Museum”

Alexandria National Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$71.50*
and up
Private Customizable Day Tour to Alexandria from Cairo
More Info
US$105.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Tour: Alexandria Historical Sites from Cairo
More Info
US$28.60*
and up
Private Guided Full-Day Tour to Alexandria from Cairo
Ranked #10 of 72 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: More than 1800 archaeological pieces are exhibited chronologically from one floor to the next: the basement is devoted to Prehistoric and Pharonic times; first floor to the Graeco-Roman period; second floor to the Coptic and Islamic era that highlights artifacts raised during recent underwater excavations.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Alexandria National Museum”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Wonderful place to visit for the whole family, a lot of fun and education, also a lot of history, very nice location near by everything , then you can take a walk on the see cornich.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ilovesumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    77
    29
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

The signs need to be updated, as lots of information is missing. The building used to be the USA Alex embassy. Lovely floors and staircase. Just be careful as I was shouted at for placing a finger on an object which was not allowed. No signs to say otherwise. But all the staff phones on extra loud is ok.
My main grumble is the fact a lot of the objects come from elsewhere in Egypt

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobE_AdamD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good small museum”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Gives the history of ancient Egypt in general, as well as Alexandria. Also has muslim and christian artefacts from the modern era.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnV28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Alexandria, so much to see.”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We arrived in Alexandria, via our cruise ship, we had limited time,
so on leaving the docks we decided to take a tour of the city by
pony & trap. this was to be the most exciting time, including a few
near misses from mad drivers in delapadated cars etc. In 4 hours
we toured all of the city, including Pompeys Piller,30 metre,s high of
pollshed red granite construction with a spinx garding it, near by
there are catacombes that are worth a visit, We passed Montaza
palace which i think is maybe used for government duties now, but
never the less an imposing building with its white walls & tower. On
to what was the site of the Pharos lighthouse, one of the ancient
wonders of the world, it now a smallish castle type of building, made
from some of the original stonework of the lighthouse, the waterside
was like any mediteranean beach resort, the city had a european
feel in a lot of its design. The local people were busy & happy going
about their day, & the city as a whole was Vibrant, Historical & full
of interest. At the end of the day, we had a bit of hagling over the price
of our pony & trap ride, but we managed to do a deal. Alexandria is
a great place to visit, you could just watch the world go by, with out
doing anything else.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank baz_durrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matara, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GRATE”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

alexandria national museum is a grate place to see and there are many things to learn about their history from the museum. amazing history

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank prasange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alexandria National Museum also viewed

Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
Alexandria, Alexandria Governorate
 

Been to Alexandria National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing