We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel - clean, best location, great views, good breakfast, charmingly ornate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We stayed one night here and paid for a water view with our online booking. When we arrived there was a group of 3 checking in, so we were asked to wait on the lounge for a short while. Along came a complimentary refreshing non alcoholic cocktail wheeled out on a trolley with biscuits, followed by clean damp hand towels. This was most welcome after our grimy 1st class train trip from Cairo.
We were informed that we were being upgraded, which was a lovely surprise! What we didn't expect was opening the doors of the Omah Sherrif suite to see the very ornate and grand room with king size bed. The room with it's huge bathroom was very impressive, but the balcony was the best. The views from left to right along the corniche out to the sea were spectacular (the hotel is situated around the middle of the corniche)
The bonus of free wi-fi in your room was a great added bonus too.
Buffet Breakfast was excellent with lots of variety. We found the staff very helpful and polite, trying to ensure we had a good stay. With tourism being hit hard in Egypt, it was nice that this hotel was doing it's upmost to try and please their customers and ensure you left with a good impression.
The traffic is busy on the corniche out the front of the hotel, but we had no trouble sleeping. The balcony shutters helped keeping the noise out. Traffic noise dies down after about 10pm and with the curfew currently in Egypt after midnight, all is pretty well quiet.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We are not generally into grandure in hotels, but this came as a surprise and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience, particularly the ornate cage lift. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Nice staff, comfortable and clean. Quite an experience.
Great seafood in Alexandria, must try while there.

Room Tip: Try to book an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cath_and_Col
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2011

Traveling with a small On the Go Tour group we spent several days here. We were upgraded to huge rooms with harbor views from the balconies. Food service was a little slow, but food was good and staff courteous and all had adequate English. Rooms were clean - spotless sheets and towels, bathrooms immaculate and plenty of hot water. I found my king-size bed very comfortable. The old-world lift is a bit of an adventure to operate, but all part of the charm.

I very much enjoyed the ambiance of faded grandeur and old-world elegance and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Can't comment on value for money, as tour company paid the bill.

Room Tip: Ask for Corniche/harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoneTravelling_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My Fiancee and I came to Alexandria on a Geckos Add-on. An aside, we upgraded to this hotel after being told by some friends on our tour that did the addon prior to the main tour departure. We tried to change 8 days in advance but Geckos fought us for every last nickel and we ended up losing our money from the other hotel. Geckos also wanted $160 per person per night for this place. We thought that was insane and booked it ourselves. We paid $89 and had breakfast included.

When we got to the hotel we got asked to sit and wait in the lobby by the front desk staff (who spoke almost zero English, remember your in freaking Egypt so don’t expect people to speak English). We were pretty confused but the manager came out 5 minutes later and asked us if we were Canadian (they had photocopies of our passports) and they would like to upgrade our room. All he asked in return was for us to write a review on hotels.com. Awesome. Done. He told us that they were trying to attract more international travellers.

On with the Review. Please keep in mind we had an upgraded room, but we did have friends staying on our floor with a regular room so we saw both.

When we were there the hotel was getting a bit of a refresher. 2 rooms on our floor were being re-wallpapered and the paint was being touched up. Not a major re-model or anything, so no noise etc. Basically bringing the walls back from faded whitish yellow to white. As some other reviews said, some carpets have stains on them but these are in the halls, for the most part the place is in good shape for being 100+ years old. They did wash the carpets every night we were there. But really if you’re concerned about the carpets being top notch don’t go to Egypt.

Our room was huge. Honestly the biggest hotel room I’ve ever been in. It had really tall ceilings and was decorated in the 100+ year old era wall paper, fixtures etc. The bathroom was nice, clean, really old school. Couldn’t complain about the room at all. We had a balcony that we could see the ocean from. The regular room was also pretty nice. Much, much smaller but with the same ceilings and decorations. We didn’t go in the bathroom.

The elevator was awesome, something right out of the Titanic. The breakfast was decent, you have to be choosy because a lot of things weren’t kept properly etc. Basically a difference between most of Egypt and NA food standards. The staff is really nice, they might have no clue what you are asking them but they do try their best to make your stay better. Which is really all you can ask for.

As a whole the hotel is really nice compared to the vast majority of what is there, and other hotels we stayed in. I would definitely recommend this to anyone especially for the price we paid. It might not be a 4star by North American standards but it definitely is compared to Egyptian standards. We really didn’t have a single complaint about this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guelphjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

too many problems to cite them all
the 2 major ones were:
1- the floor in the room in which my 86 year old grandmother was staying had an uneven floor. we asked them to slip a piece of wood underneath the (already loosened) carpet to even out the floor ... a simple solution, we though and we were told it would get done so we didn't push to change rooms. It never got done nor did they offer to change the room for the second night when everyone noticed it wasn't getting done.
2- water was dripping from the ceiling in another one of our group's rooms. A lady in her 70's was getting 'showered' when not in the shower and nothing was done about it. No repair and no room change.
Upon check out we listed our complaints to management. They were not only uninterested in our problems nor did they care that we would make sure to let people know about it. They refused any king of refund or compensation without shame.
Please do NOT go there. There HAS to be another alternative, if not change your travel dates because you will regret this decision.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmarkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

This hotel was booked for us through our tour guide, so as we didn't pay directly I can't comment on the value for money. But it is a gem. A beautifully evocative hotel on the Corniche with huge ground floor rooms and high ceilings throughout. Although the decor is just a little faded, everything works - the en-suite was large and clean, the breakfast is to die for, the views from the 6th floor restaurant (breakfast and evening) are amazing.
The service for tea, etc on the ground floor and evening restaurant was slow. Bring a book, or go elsewhere!
Otherwise, just lovely.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolandsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Perfect. So was our stay in the Windsor Hotel. Due to an overbooking they moved us from the Metropole Hotel to the Windsor. We were a little bit sceptic after reading the bad comments in Trip Advaisor.
The manager received us (excellent professional, pure kindness and
politeness) to apologize for the mistake and they gave us a room with view to La Corniche. The staff was extremely pleasant, probably the best one we found all around Egypt. The hotel was a little bit noisy of course, but we are in Egypt and the noise is part of the game. We slept as princes, not only because the room was really comfortable, but also for the pleasure of feeling as travelers of another time. If
you are an individual traveler the location is perfect to move in
the city and the lobby, the cafeteria and the lounge the best place to rest after walking Alexandria. Splendid election. One of those hotels in the world where you can still taste the pleasure of traveling.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zelitoCadiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

I was very dissapointed in Alexandria , Windsor Hotel, the hotel was dirty, they had a great lack of education on safe food handling, there were piles of garbage everywhere in Alexandria. I would never ever enter the ocean their because it is so dirty. The lighthouse is gone a long time ago. There is no shopping, the food at most places is the same, poor quality. The Four Seasons Hotel is a becon of light however, the food was fantastic and no more expensive than the crap at the Windsor or Sofitel. The employee's seem to try and make it ok but are fighting a loosing battle, the management needs to put their money where their mouth is and clean it up, buy better quality food and staff training. We stayed at the Windsor Hotel on recommendation of Memphus Tours who booked it for us.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank Cliff1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Inn Le Metropole Hotel
4.1 mi away
Romance Alexandria Corniche Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cherry Maryski Hotel
Cherry Maryski Hotel
#10 of 39 in Alexandria
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Cecil Hotel
Steigenberger Cecil Hotel
#7 of 39 in Alexandria
522 reviews
8.5 mi away
Alexandria Mediterranean Suites
3.9 mi away
San Giovanni Hotel
San Giovanni Hotel
#25 of 39 in Alexandria
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel

Address: 17 El Shohada Street | from El Gish St, El Mansheya, Alexandria, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Alexandria Governorate > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: £57 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the early 20th century, this historic 4-star hotel is situated directly on Alexandria’s waterfront. Breakfast can be enjoyed on the rooftop terrace with panoramic Corniche views.The elegant rooms of Windsor Palace Hotel offer hand-decorated high ceilings. Each has a balcony, satellite TV and free Wi-Fi. Individually controlled air conditioning is standard in all rooms.Light snacks and refreshments can be enjoyed in the open-air Prince Charles Café with sea views. Decorated with antiques and frescos, the Queen Elizabeth Hall offers fine dining and wine.Guests will be ideally situated in the social and cultural hub of the city. There are several street cafés, shopping boutiques, and seaside promenades nearby. Alexandria Library is 1.5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise Inn Windsor Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Palace Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing