We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Gem and will be even more so!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SENSIMAR Scheherazade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SENSIMAR Scheherazade
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a Gem and will be even more so!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I would endorse almost all of the comments already made by people who have stayed at this hotel since it reopened as a "Couples" establishment.We have just returned after a 14 day holiday there and had one of the best ,if not THE best we have ever had.There were one or two little problems that arose but these were quickly solved.The grounds were still being worked upon but what had already been done, presented a lovely environment along with the pool area and it is obvious that when all the work has been completed the whole complex will be spectacular (.At this point I must give a special mention about the competence and general attitude of HELMI, titled "Life guarde",although he really was i/c the pool area next to the snackbar.He did a terrific job of keeping everyone happy whithin the area.) The final point I would make is that give the geographical position of the hotel and when the refurbishing has been fully completed, it will be one of the best in the area. John+ Ann from Christchurch

Room Tip: Go for a top floor room further from the lift if at all possible'( Not much of a problem if not)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John92911142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,124
    333
    102
    32
    8
See reviews for
58
1,267
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We had followed with interest the progress of this hotel since mid March,tili our arrival on 15th May.On arrival we were overwhelmed by level of service,cocktails and hot towels whilst checking in.We had booked a junior suite,and it was brilliant crisp white decor,really comfortable kingsize bed flat screen TVs in bedroom and sitting room,with UK channels.Fresh fruit,stocked fridge,and plenty tea and coffee.Bathroom was adequate, good shower,plenty of storage,and fresh towels daily.It was easy negiotating the hotel,as it is very well laid out.
The food in this hotel is excellent,so no one will starve,there are different themes ,italian,chinese ,Tunisian ect nightly.Plenty of wine and beer in main restaurant "Olivers".There is also a Mediterranean and Indian restaurant on site.Food is also available at the beach and pool bars from 1000 till 1800.

There are four bars Lobby,Scheherazde,pool and beach all well stocked and comfortable,with waiter service,or go to the bars yourself if you want

There are two pools courtyard with sunloungers and double sunbeds,main pool same thing plus covered sunbeds,both clean and well maintained

The beach is private,with plenty sun loungers and parasols available,cleaned every morning,also water sports with sea kayaks and cattamarans available no charge,also gym is available just off the beach, with views on to the Med.There is also a beach towel exchange in operation

The staff are all excellent,from the mangement through to the cleaners,all are friendly efficient ,and informative,with special mention to Kirsty,Heidi,Anis in the Lobby bar and Mohammed in the restaurant,and the watersport team, thanks all.

All over had a great stay and hopefully will be back,and to everyone going you will enjoy,so dont worry

Room Tip: Junior suites are great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Eddie096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed here from the 12th May to the 22nd May
We came out on a night flight and arrived at 3am in the morning.
We were greeted by reception drinks and an evening meal laid on (very impressive at 3am).

The hotel is fantastic, from first impressions on arrival right through to the last impressions when leaving.

The rooms are immaculate, and are cleaned daily.
Fresh water and fizzy drinks provided in the fridges in the hotel rooms, as and when required.
We had fruit, robes and slippers in the rooms as well as chocolates on the last day.
Bottle of red wine also on first day but no bottle opener or cork screw.

Communal areas are all very clean and are very inviting, and pleasant to be in.
The beach is one of the best I have been on, and the bar service on the beach by the waiters which walk around taking drinks orders from the sun bathing British sun worshipers is unbelievable, could not ask for anything more.

Snack bar has a fab selection of food available for lunch if you don't fancy the main restaurant, but both are better than anywhere else ever been.

Gym, not always on list of things to go to on holidays is basic but functional and always quiet, and has air con as well, so nice to be in there.

The two bars are a both in doors, and no where to really sit in the evening unless you want to sit on the pool terrace in the evening, or outside on the few chairs provided.
Drinks selections is limited, but it is an Arabic country, so understandable, but would be nice to have a larger selection.

Evening meals (more like feasts) are fantastic, different selection every day, so no getting the same old stuff every day like some other places we have been.
Each night is a theme night, and nothing was boring or samey.
All food is cooked in front of you on cooking stations, so all fresh, which is very nice.
No chips and chicken every night then.

we didn't try the Indian restaurant or the Mediterranean, but reports from people said that they were excellent.

Both bars are waiter service as well so no stressful walks to the bar to contend with.

Entertainment in the evening can be loud, but good all the same.

There is a tennis court, which is larger than the British courts with free use of rackets, and a crazy golf course as well.

The on site spa, we paid 125 pounds for the two of us, which got us a steam room, scrub and mud massage, and a further 3 massages each.
Not quite what we expected, but we only paid 125 pounds so not bad value, but wouldn't do it again.

The down side now,
On the first day we didn't have a safe as we arrived late, so unfortunately I have had my phone pinched from the hotel room,
We reported this to the manager and he was very apologetic, and came and searched the room with head of security, but it was gone.
He printed off the door lock entry log and the safe log entry which showed nothing un toward.
We reported to the police, which was an experience in its self lol (armed police can be difficult to talk to sometimes) but we got the appropriate form etc for insurance purposes.

Hope this review helped and please don't let the mobile phone being pinched give you a false impression of the hotel and staff, they are all fantastic and can not do enough for you,
Even the life guard and beach staff will clean down the sun beads before you use them

I only mention the phone so that you are aware that it happens at this hotel as well as every other hotel, and it is your responsibility to be careful with your own property, at the end of the day it happens every where and is not the hotels fault, just one bad member of staff in amongst a lot of excellent staff who go above and beyond to ensure that you have a great holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

My boyfriend and I Have just returned for a fabulous 10 night stay at is hotel. It was excellent the minute we walked through the door. The hotel on the whole is finished to a brilliant standard. I would agree that the bathrooms could do with a refurb. The rooms are slightly on the small side but this isn't a problem as we spent barely anytime in our room. Each room has a large TV with many English channels. There was a fully stocked mini bar which was restocked regularly also fresh fruit delivered on our arrival and chocolates on our departure. Each room has a safe which is free to use. Our maid cleaned our room on a daily basis and had our sheets changed regularly. Every room has a sea view due to the layout of the hotel.

The lobby and reception area was absolutely stunning with beautiful furniture and decor.

The staff were the best thing about this hotel. All staff were friendly and polite, in particular the porters and waiters.

We had no problem at all with the restaurant, we never had to wait for a table, the tables were always clean and clear with excellent service every time. The food was beautiful with plenty of selection. There was different theme each night so we never tired of the selection of food to choose from.

We were worried that we had taken a big risk booking this hotel only 12 days after it reopened but we are so glad we did, everything about this hotel was better than expected and definitely value for money....we would love to return again next year!!

We had a disaster at the beginning of our holiday with one of our suitcases not arriving on the plane, despite this not being the fault of the hotel, they did all they could to help and were constantly checking that we were okay.

The whole resort was brilliant and was the perfect balance between being 'touristy' and proper Tunisian culture.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We visited The "new" Thompson Couples Sousse, which used to be just the Scheherazade, between the 12th May and 19th May 2013. We paid £377 all inclusive with transfers and 20kg baggage allowance with Thompson from Leeds Bradford airport.
This hotel is marketed for UK customers and UK customers are the only ones we saw during our stay.

When we arrived the revamped hotel had only been open a couple of weeks and there had been one or two negative reviews on here.

We realise, like hopefully you do, that reviews on Tripadvisor are very personal and subjective to the author. I hope to offer a balance and accurate review based on our own experiences. I have added photos as well as some extra comments and photos to the Tripadvisor thread on the message board.

Upon arrival we were told our room was ready but our first room (number 717) had a dirty bathroom with black grout. If we had not expected this, if it was not suppose to be new shiny hotel we may not have said anything but we did as this was below what we were expecting. We were offered another room on the ground floor but it had two single beds so it was third time lucky with room 401 which was adequate although a little on the small side.

The bathrooms still appeared a little basic but the actual room was nice and modern, with new TVs offering UK stations and a fridge which is supposed to get topped up daily but on some days this did not happen.
The air con did not work in our room so we enquired regarding this and was told that it is only switched on from July onwards. This meant that it was extremely warm by 8am as the sun was aiming directly into the room. This was later turned on by guests asking for it however our own particular air con unit never worked in our room.

The rest of the hotel was very nice and clean. The room cleaners were not the best, the same single dead spider remained on the floor all week in our room.

I preferred the lower pool area to the upper pool. The upper pool was more sheltered but had plenty of UK smokers as this is where they liked to hang out so we tried to avoid it. Some of the tiles surrounding the upper pool were also lifting away, and we thought it was a shame that this could not have been sorted on such an expensive upgrade by Thompson.

The gym was new and had great equipment. There is a good tennis court at the front and a dated Mini Golf course.

Work was still been done on the beach area and a volley ball court had been made on the sand while we were there.

Food was very good overall. Plenty of choice and it was all clean and fresh. Some of the style of dishes were a bit over familiar by the end of the week even with the hotel trying to offer themed nights. We preferred to have lunch at the pool bar which offers a selection of pizzas and pasta along with burgers. All excellent quality and cooked to order.
Overall this hotel was one of the better all inclusive food experiences we have had. Not far off the Riu Palace in Aruba in terms of quality. Not all guests bothered with long trousers for dinner, which we thought was a shame.

The beach is pretty grubby, but the part in front of the hotel is better than the rest as you walk down to Sousse town. Some watersports are offered as part of the all inclusive package while others are chargeable.

Free wi-fi is offered at the hotel with a passkey provided at check in. This was some of the best wi-fi I have had abroad, with consistent 5-6mb download, and 1.5mb upload speeds. It worked in the bar areas and rooms but not at the pool areas which is a shame. Hopefully Thompson will provide additional range in the future.

Down sides for us for our week was the initial disappointment of the first room which was dirty and also the fact we had 10 TND stolen from our purse which was in the coded safe in our room.
We are 100% certain it was stolen as it was counted 3 times ready for a trip that morning. The rest of the cash remained untouched. The hotel manager was genuinely concerned about this and was going to download the data from the safe to look into it but we never got an answer prior to leaving. He did take our email address to let us know though.
We were not charged for using the safe in the room, no idea why there should be a charge anyway but it was mentioned at check in.
Anyway we relied on our locked suitcase from then on.

Even taking the above points on board we had a very enjoyable stay at Couples Sousse and have come away with positive feelings. We would recommended this hotel to other travellers. Don't expect masses of music or entertainment on a night. There was a black and white night on our last night which was just a couple of quizzes followed by some live music, so take something to wear for this. For a relaxing week away in the sun with good food you won't go far wrong with this hotel and it is less than 3 hours from the UK.

Liam Sandie and Michelle Sandie

Room Tip: Be wary of using the room safes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Couples Sousse is the new name for the refurbished Hotel Scheherazade, based in the Sousse area of Tunisia. Currently rated as a 4 star hotel, it definitely lives up to this rating without a doubt! I went as part of a family in our 3 respective couples and spent the duration of a week at the hotel.

Most importantly, the staff need mentioning first because for sure, they were the highlight of the hotel and of all the hotels I have ever stayed in, I can say that the staff here are the best that I have ever come across. They are amazing! Particular mention has to go to the Guest relations guys Ozzy and Hedi who can't be rated highly enough in my opinion...(esp Hedi, as I have a particular soft spot for him! LOVE YOU!! :).

Seriously though, these were both two fantastic guys that couldn't do enough to help you, make sure every part of your stay was comfortable and that you weren't lacking in any aspect of your holiday.

An example would be: on the one day, we had missed an excursion we really wanted to take part in to visit the ampitheatre which we had planned to arrange with the operator but we had missed her during her hours. We asked a variety of staff but all options seemed either expensive or very lengthy in terms of the journey there and back (the train taking 3 hours in total to get to El Djem apparently).

We mentioned this to Hedi and he arranged for a taxi to take us, wait and pick us up for a very reasonable fee and for a considerably shorter journey. So we booked this and what a trip. The driver danced and sung away the whole journey, it was so funny and unique,it will never be forgotten! In addition, you feel as though you are good friends with the guys. So for Hedi <3 and Ozzy, you get 10 stars guys! Love you!

The rest of the staff were all amazing too, so very friendly, I think the Tunisian people must be the friendliest people that I have ever met. The bar staff, Mouhad (pool), Aymen, HAKIM !!!!! (he pours lethal drinks lol) Love you all too! <3 And the chefs, always with a smile on their face! And MAN they can cook!

The food was amazing at all times in the main restaurant, although wasn't that keen on the beach bar as the food wasn't quite up to par there, one of my partners meals was burnt but this was just at the beach bar.

Every night, so that it didn't get repetitive, a different theme was created for the food, i.e. french, tunisian, fish. Although, in addition, there were always choices for those that may not eat that particular cuisine also (I don't like fish but found stuff to eat on that particular night, still, due to huge variety in choice).The puddings are absolutely to die for. Have been to all inclusives before where the dinner at the main restaurant is the absolute same every single night but this hotel does not do this, it is fantastic.

You get to use the Indian restaurant once for free during your stay. To me, I wasn't that keen on this either. They didn't have enough staff here in my opinion, the service was therefore slow and I felt that the menu didn't describe what we actually ended up with. One other a la carte exists which has a mediterannean theme but we didn't use as it was pay to use and we were trying to save money so I couldn't comment on this.

The facilities are great. The hotel has two pools and is literally, right on the beach.Although a lot of bed reserving goes on which is very annoying. The hotel seriously needs more beds for the busy season as we struggled on occasions.

They also have spa facilities although paid for and I would advise people to go to the centre and book directly if you wish to purchase a service as opposed to being 'chatted up' by Slim and being given a more expensive price. I booked a cleopatra bath and was quoted £20.00, my partner was quoted £15 for it when he went to the centre. I felt ripped off so I cancelled, it seems that Slim doesn't have a list as such and pretty much makes up figures for commission so be careful! (the only exception to the other staff who excelled themselves fully)

They have a tennis court, kayaking and mini golf all inclusive, non paid.

The local area is lacking at the moment. Sousse is a very traditional area and Port El Kantoiue was pretty much shut when we went in the evening as we have slightly come out of season...it may be more lively in July / August.

The only big disappointment I had with the hotel which marred my experience somewhat was their principle on air conditioning. I'm sure I'm not alone when I go to a hot country and have to have the air con on to help sleep at night. We booked our holiday online and in no way, was it mentioned that the air con was only turned on at the hotel's discretion (although our rep advised this is in one of their booklets..). This angered me and led to a pretty crappy night's sleep on the first evening. However, the disappointment isn't with the hotel, it is with our rep who dealt with it appallingly from there on in. The rep at the resort is Kirsty Lea and she did not help in any way with out complain about the air con, even though we were promised a fan (in light of the fact that the air con wasn't going to be on for some time). This didn't cpme and upon chasing it, were told we wouldn't need it as the air con was coming on early. This didn't happen and Kirsty did not further help in any way. So avoid taking your problems to the rep, if it's related to this issue in anyway, she won't help! Useless!

That aside, I had a fabulous time and loved the fact this hotel was kid free. Made it especially relaxing. I personally would go back, just to see Hedi and eat all the gorgeous food again!

So Hotel Sh, see you again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Yas957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydd-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We arrived sunday19th may, hotel fabulous, food and wine to die for, hubby said lager good too. We paid extra for a junior suite which has extra room with patio sliding door with bed settee 2 chairs and sideboard, very nice, downside still waiting for bath robes and fruit 2 1/2 days later, we have complained 3 times, we got extra towels first time, 2nd time nothing, and tonight we got fruit bowl and champagne in cooler and quess what NO ROBES,

Room Tip: Lose some weight before you come, as bound to pile some weight on here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mrsataylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sousse
0.8 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#7 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
4.2 mi away
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Royal Kenz Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#3 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENSIMAR Scheherazade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENSIMAR Scheherazade

Property: SENSIMAR Scheherazade
Address: Boulevard du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia (Formerly Scheherazade Hotel Sousse)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — SENSIMAR Scheherazade 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel Scheherazade" concept is "Couples only" with romantic settings and new features such as: spa, swim-up pools, buffet restaurant, 2 a la carte restaurants and more...We hope the service which we are prepared to render will be extremely satisfactory. Have a Magic Moments!!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing