We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“by far the best kept beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Returned yesterday from 1 week holiday. Arrived at approx 10.45 at night. Greeted on arrival by staff and taken immediately to the restaruant - which was great as we were starving. Didnt; queue to check in - we were seated in receipt and brought choclate and cocktails whilst filling out the forms.

Had a juniour suite swim up room - room was very nice but the bathroom was a letdown. No tiles on the wall. it looked like they had been plastered and waterproofed! Room was clean but could have been better.

Gardens were very well kept. Views amazing - especially sunrise.

Several people have already mentioned the comfortable sunbed situation. I think the hotel needs to do something about this. I witnessed people putting towels on the sunbeds at 11pm!!!! However, there are plenty of beds on the beach - all with umberellas. The towels supplied are not big at all (small bath towel size) so I would reommedn taking your own!

The beach was by far the cleanest around. One morning all the staff from clearer through to manager's were on the beach cleaning it up.

Food in the restaurant was to a good standard and the beach bar served food prepared for you rather than buffet. I didn't drink much but what i did have was ok - not great.

We did see a few people being stung by jellyfish but were informed that they are not norammly present at this time of year and that it was due to unusually high temperatures. The lifeguards treated the stings.

The sea was a bit disappointing. There seems to be plastic bags floating it it. You will see a lot of disgarded plastic bags in Tunisia!

There are several waterports avaialbe at a cost (apart from canooeing which is free).

The staff in the main could not do enough for you - whether you tipped them or not.

We were given a courtesey room to shower in as we had an evening flight. Room was exactly the same as our room so I don;t know why they just didn't let us keep our room??

Entertainment .... The usual things - belly dnacing, fire eaters etc. The duo entertainers who were based at the hotel were not good at all - but that was quite funny in itself! However, the guy who played the guitar and sang during eveing meal was fantastic - he should do all the entertainment!

All in all, a good holiday. Service and food make it a 4 star

Room Tip: Take your own beach towel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank NCFL68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 723 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from our first visit (10-17July) to the Scheherazade which we agree is a super hotel, staffed by attentive and charming personnel, set on a large site with pretty gardens and wonderful views to the sea. The food was good - we've had better in other Thomson Couples and Platinum hotels - but this was our first experience of all-inclusive; we don't drink sufficient alcohol to make this option worthwhile when it carries an additional charge. Vegetarian choices are limited; there are 2 main course options which are not very imaginative but salads and vegetables are plentiful. The benefit of all-inclusive for us was lunch and being able to get bottles of water whenever we wanted them - and the delicious cakes served at 4pm daily. The water coolers around the site are a nice touch.

We cannot understand the fuss over the non-tiled bathrooms. They are clean and fit for purpose so does it matter that the walls are not tiled? Our main disappointment was the shabby, stained carpet along the corridor between rooms 300 and 330 which needs to be replaced.

We walked along the beach to Sousse (about an hour's walk) on a Sunday and visited the medina which was an assault on all the senses! If you are squeamish, I would suggest you avoid the meat market. This walk - followed by another towards Port el Kantoui - emphasised the fact that the Scheherazade is situated on the best section of beach along that strip. The sea water is clear with some seaweed, and lots of fish even in the shallows. but I found the flotating detritus (plastic bags, food wrappers, etc) very offputting.

Some of the visiting entertainment acts were very good; sadly the resident duo, Lowell Lane, weren't. I will say no more except that they need to practise, practise, practise and gain more experience.

If you fancy a local walk, exit the hotel entrance whose driveway of around 200m leads to a guarded gate. You are then alongside a dual carriageway and into a hinterland of hotels and commercial premises, completely devoid of any cultural interest. We like to explore the local community during our holidays and were very disappointed with what we saw.

In summary, this is a beautifully clean, extensive hotel, set in lovely grounds with beautiful sea views and super staff .... but located in a cultural void. Despite the feel-good factor of the hotel and its staff, the lack of charm and interest in the local environment means that we will not return. This was a fairly late booking so we thought we would give North Africa a try; next time we will return to the beauty and "wow factor" we have experienced in Spanish and Greek territories.

Room Tip: Choose a room above the ground floor to gain a panoramic view of the seashore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LynneNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just arrived after 2 weeks at this hotel. Hotel grounds are lovely and well maintained, hotels bars were good so was the pool area. although i did not use any of the pools they were very good and there was always sunbeds available but dont expect the posh beds unless you get up at 5.15 and put your towels there as it was the same idiots all the time going down. The rooms were cleaned daily with clean bed linen and towels, dont worry about the bathrooms they werent that bad after reading the bad reviews on them.
Spent most time on the beach which was fantastic, by far one of the best beaches i have been on, plenty sunbeds available all day on the beach. Be aware the were jelly fish in the sea as a few people had got stung, although i went into the sea i did not see them, so dont let this put you off. Would like to thank the water sport guy for saving my husbands life from drowning lol. The guys on the beach were the most friendliest but to be honest i think the reviews on the staff are really hyped up as they were average as what you would expect in any hotel.
The food wasnt what i expected, not much choice had better in other Tunisian hotels, As for the guy making the omelettes who didnt crack a smile and coughing over the food for the whole two weeks i was there, that wasnt good.
Well the entertainment where do i start, the main acts were fab couldnt fault them but the duo who was on every night was the worst i have ever heard, absolutely dreadful. Did mention this to Hedi who was already aware of this. unbelieveably bad they really need to get rid of them quick.
Outside hotel wasnt the best, nothing around except the supermarket which sold a bit of everything which is a pity as there was nowhere to walk in the evening to get away from the duo. you could take a short taxi ride or the noddy train to Port El Kantoui which was a lovely resort to visit. I was surprised as this was a couples hotel and was expecting the more mature person how many young couples were there, just didnt expect so many young people.
All in All i would rate this as a very good 3star, but i personally think some of the reviews on here are hyped up alot, thats my opinion. did enjoy the holiday alot but would not return, but if you have booked dont worry it is a lovely hotel and sure you will have a great time.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank caroljuliejones49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just arrived home from our second visit to this hotel, we went in July last year not long after it opened and have to say our return visit this year was just as good an experience.

So here is our review:

Yes the rooms are not the largest but are adequate and fully equipped, and as we were not in them for any length of time so we were more than happy with them, the shower in the bathroom was fab. All rooms have a sea view which is great and balconies to sit out on. We were in a ground floor room last year with a swim up pool which we didn't order but were lucky enough to be put in, but yes the sun is only on these until 12.00pm. This year we were in a second floor room and the view was lovely. Our room was kept very clean by our maid and we had swans made out of the towels and flower petals scattered around on a regular basis.

The pool areas are kept immaculate as are the gardens, there are plenty of loungers for all but if you want the really plush beds you need to be up early! The staff around the pool and the gardeners work really hard. The beach is great and nice for it to be private to the hotel, although either side of the hotel's beach there is quite a bit of rubbish about.

For an all inclusive you cannot fault the food, there is a wonderful choice at each sitting and you would be hard pushed not to find something to eat. Although as we were there for two weeks this year and only one week last year, we did eat out a couple of times as it is nice to get out for a meal and have waiter service instead of the self-service buffet style. Breakfast was great, lots of choice and at lunch you could also eat at the pool side snack bar which just serves snacks like burgers etc and it's nice to sit overlooking the beach and sea instead of being in the restaurant and this is waiter service. Evening meals, there is a different theme each night ie Italian, French, Mediterranean etc which are all pretty good,again lots of choice.

And now to the staff, Hedi we love you, you are exactly the same as last year and we loved seeing you again, you remembered us as well the moment we got off the coach which was amazing and made us feel very special at being back! so thank you for that. Thanks also to Ozan, he sorted out us keeping our room a bit longer on our last day.

Also big thanks to our waiter Mehdi, he served us last year and we sat in his section again this year and once again he remembered us and even what we drank, which was astonishing!! He is a lovely guy and could not do enough for us, once again he made our return visit memorable.

All the staff at this hotel are great, always cheery and nothing is too much trouble, can't remember all their names but from the older chap who cleans the pool, to the pool guy and the photographer, thank you for being wonderful people.

Unfortunately there are a couple of negatives, we did not rate the cocktails last year and they have not improved this year! I think the hotel could look into improving these as we are well travelled and these cocktails fall short of any we have had before. Entertainment, last year it was very hit and miss as the hotel had only just opened and some evening acts that were meant to be performing did not turn up, so sometimes there was no entertainment in the evenings. This year however there was a great improvement with the dancers and other acts, but the young singing duo were a bit disappointing, room for improvement!

To finish, would we go back for a third visit, yes definitely, but not for two weeks, we think that a week at this hotel is ideal. We met some amazing people, who made the holiday very memorable for us "The Scottish Clan" and "The Crawley Crew" you know who you are and thanks, we will be visiting!!

We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JulieandPaulK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The greeting on arrival really shows you - YOU ARE WELCOME! Rooms are really nice with a welcome bowl of fresh fruit and bottles of red and white wine. Everything is for your comfort. Management and staff are really friendly and Heddie is a great host and will be there for you should a problem arise. This man was put on this Earth as a peoples person, he is an exceptional addition to this great hotel. We had a very relaxing holiday (although there is night life if you want it), we met lovely friends here and enjoyed some fun evenings laughing the night away. I 100% recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and didn't have any problem, but the hotel is in a half moon shape so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 833L_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

What a Nice place to stay! The hotel is on the beach with 1 courtyard pool And a pool close to the beach with pool restaurant.
The room are fine, not so big, but good if you are outsid all the time relaxing at the beach or the pool. There are always enough sunbeds which are made for you. They even c ome to ask you what you like to drink!
The food is very good, outstanding for an all inclusive hotel. Much of the food is prepared in the restaurant, so you are served from the pan.
We enjoyed a swim up room with morning sun and schade in the afternoon which was great with high temperatures.
Last, but not at all least, I have to mention the staff. Around the pool, at the front desk, the clearingbank ladies, but most of all the people in the restaurants they all try to please you every minute of the day!

Room Tip: Swim up room. Is downstairs with 2 sunbeds, a little table and two chairs. The pool in front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank inepien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just got back from this Hotel stayed for 2 weeks in July 2014 & l wont be going back. The Positives are lovely hotel, very warm welcome & staff very attentive & helpful. Very clean round the pool & bar areas & outside toilets cleaned on regular basis. Gardens round the hotel are beautiful, very well maintained. Cannot comment on Courtyard pool as we never tried it but it looked nice. The main pool is lovely same depth all the way round, lots of sunbeds & the pool boy very helpful. Pool bar with outside seating really lovely & staff brilliant very helpful & chatty. The private beach that your on is very well kept & lovely & clean. Beaches either side though horrible & dirty. Hotel has a security guard to keep the area safe. Buffet restaurant lovely inside, staff cannot do enough for you so helpful & polite especially a waiter called Wissem. Variety of food, different theme every evening but not too my liking. Indian restaurant on site is a must food lovely & again waiters so helpful & friendly. Now for the Negatives: Most food in buffet restaurant was spicy, so l lived on rice, chips & on the odd occasion when they didn't spice it up l would have the chicken & sometimes this was dry. The desserts were yummy but so repetitive that it became boring. Could do with a Maître D in the restaurant. The serving area in the restaurant was quite small & queues were blocking the gangways. The rooms they could do with an overall they looked rather tired. The bathroom has waterproof plaster on walls, which looked horrible a coat of paint would off been good. Cleanliness of our room was very bad, the floor in bedroom & bathroom never got moped, the area round the sink & our dressing table was never cleaned only by myself & to top it all reps had said sheets got changed after 3 days but after 6 days l had to ask for them to be done & that was the only time they did get changed not good at all. Was told if you wanted your towels changed to put them in the bath, but they just got put back on the rack & not changed. On our last day the cleaner had made swans out off our towels & made it all look pretty a bit too late unless it was for a tip. Some guests on different floors were happy with their rooms so it must of been the cleaner on our floor. The Entertainment well, their was a young couple a lad on guitar who sang & a girl singer if you could call it that, it sounded like 2 cats being strangled, (sorry if your a cat lover) everyone was complaining but l think the reps were tone deaf or something, even the waiters were aware of how bad they were as they had less customers to serve so they had a rest. The guy who sang in the buffet restaurant in the evening was very good, they should have had him instead. Dancers was not bad but overall not good for a supposedly 4* hotel. Location of hotel is not good there's only 1 shop outside it sells most things though. Went into Sousse horrible place except for Restaurant Caruso opposite the beach, lovely food this is a must. Port El Kantouri lovely little harbour village but the traders don't stop hassling you, it gets a bit too much at times. Watch out for the bird man, nasty piece of work if you don't do what he says. Overall not bad but would say this is more like a 3* than 4* we wont be going back there again.

Room Tip: If you want a great view then 804 but if you want your room cleaned properly then go to the floor be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Veronica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.6 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.8 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sousse Palace
Sousse Palace
#8 of 35 in Sousse
70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#4 of 35 in Sousse
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade

Address: Boulevard du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia (Formerly Scheherazade Hotel Sousse)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Price Range: £174 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel Scheherazade" concept is "Couples only" with romantic settings and new features such as: spa, swim-up pools, buffet restaurant, 2 a la carte restaurants and more...We hope the service which we are prepared to render will be extremely satisfactory. Have a Magic Moments!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing