We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic accommodation in Sousse”
Review of Hotel El Faracha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Faracha
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good basic accommodation in Sousse”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I was on business and did not want to stay in one of the many large beachfront hotels that cater to package group tourists. Also I didn't want to stay out of the way in Port Kantouri which is where so many of the supposedly "Sousse" hotels are really located. There's nothing authentic Tunisian about that area and I wanted to be in Sousse itself. This hotel proved to be entirely satisfactory. It's an older structure but the rooms are in good condition and the location is good, close to the beach and the medina. I didn't care for the food in the hotel restaurant but there are plenty of restaurants in the area. This place is good value for money and a good place to stay as long as you don't want all the trappings of a big modern tourist-market hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terrence o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    19
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
17
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

For sure a veey good hotel with good quality price ratio. New rooms and equiPment close to a very nice beach. Nice and welcoming staff. Good breakfast. I recommend for few days or the weekend. Building is way more modern than the rest of the hotels in sousse.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aveiro
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This hotel is a bit old and dated but is definitely excellent value for money: for 45 Euro we got a kitchen, living room, two bedrooms, one bathroom and two balconies (one with see view). Beach is nearby. Location is ok with a lot of restaurants in surroundings.
"Free private parking" is advertised by the hotel, but basically, you park on a side street.
The hotel is a bit difficult to find.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iouA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Gorica, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I was in this hotel months ago. It was good experiences. Hotel is with great location. Rooms are spacious and cllined every day. Breakfast is, as others already write, pour.
Be careful when u take a room. Make sure that you pay room which u wanted. The TV, AC and mini Frigidaire are extra payable. Of course, some agency are included TV and AC in it's arrangements, so check it, otherwise you'll be asked to pay 1-1,5 euros per day for each of this goods. There are only 2 sockets for laptops in restaurant. Wi-fi in lobby is only for phones or tablets.The staff was helpful spatially younger man who work during a day.
It will be beter if there are Wi-fi in rooms, but my be it will be in future.
Global impression isn't so bad.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor are no smoking, for others I don't know
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Branko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mo i Rana, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

A good budget hotel. Clean and near the beach. Only the breakfast was not good, very average.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaReina68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
evansville, indiana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

El Faracha was an excellent value with a very helpful staff. It is located in a business district 5 minutes walk from the train station, public beach, catholic church and 10 minutes to the Medina. Our family of 5 stayed there 2 nights and the rooms were clean and well-maintained. Breakfast was simple but pleasant with croissant, bread, yogurt or boiled egg, and coffee/tea/hot chocolate. The front desk staff was very accommodating with directions and even let me use the internet for 5 minutes to check for an important email. The beds and pillows were just OK, a step up from alot of cheaper Tunisian hotels but a notch down from the nice resorts. For the reasonable price and great location we were very satisfied. The area was safe with the beach hotels just a block away.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corndoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Hotel is clean and very close to the beach, price is OK but double what we expected (double rates are -per person- and not -per room-; 70 TND/night for both together at high season rates). Breakfast is ok but don't take the coffee, which is a color of black I have never seen before, and when mixed with milk, became a deathly gray.

Room is very clean, no shower gel/shampoo is provided but soap is provided. Very close to the beach, not even a 5 minute walk. Free WiFi, but only available in the lobby and 1st floor. Suite rooms have kitchenettes--maybe advisable for a longer stay. Minibar is available, but costs 3 TND/day even to use it just as a fridge. Staff not particularly friendly, but okay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Egw87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Boujaafar
Residence Boujaafar
#23 of 35 in Sousse
36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaiser Hotel
Kaiser Hotel
#20 of 35 in Sousse
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel
Royal Beach Hotel
#33 of 35 in Sousse
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel & Casino Cesar Palace
0.4 mi away
Sousse Palace
Sousse Palace
#11 of 35 in Sousse
38 reviews
2.1 mi away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#16 of 35 in Sousse
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Faracha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Faracha

Property: Hotel El Faracha
Address: Rue du papillon, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Faracha 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city center of Sousse, a bautiful city which associates quiet and leisure and 50 m from fascinating “Boujaafar ”beach, the hotel EL FARACHA will charm you with its great confort and priviliged situation, it is luxiriously equipped and air conditionned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Faracha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing