We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riadh Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riadh Palms Hotel
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Honest review from a late 20's couple. Wasn't sure what to expect after reading r. eviews. Ignore the bad ones. Pool is excellent size and depth. Always able to get a sun bed even if it ment tipping the pool guy. Beach excellent and private. Plenty of bars around the hotel the beer is weak but just use the pay bar in the hotel in the eve for a few for about £ 1.50 a beer. Entertainment team lots of energy and friendly always busy chatting and having fun with everyone. We only watched one show and it was good. We missed the shows as we would head to kantanoui by taxi for less than £3, 15 min drive nice marina plenty of bars restaurant and shops and relaxed atmosphere all cheap as well. Food was ok nothing special but we are fussy eaters and we didnt go hungry.
Great value hotel with all you need inside. Down side the pushy eastern europeans. But there not that bad just push back or tell them. Dont let itput you off.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank craigbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Responsable relations clients at Riadh Palms Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you your valuable time spent for sharing your important comments on Trip advisor regarding your experience at our hotel. We thank you on behalf of our entertainment team also.
We are pleased to hear that you had the chance to visit and explore other interested places around the hotel such as El Kantaoui Harbor with its different restaurants, bars and bazaar.
We would be pleased to host you and your family in our hotel during your next trip with the hospitality that Tunisian people is worldwide awarded and acclaimed for.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    778
    474
    234
    190
See reviews for
741
738
149
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

beautiful hotel
sol clean & kept clean at all times
outstanding customer service
nothing is too much trouble
great value
brilliant food anyone who moans is just being ridiculos
will def go back & saving every penny as we speak

Room Tip: high floor with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clairebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Guest Relations Manager at Riadh Palms Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2016
Thank you for your positive review and for taking the time to give us your impressions. Hotel Riadh Palms team is working hard to provide a memorable experience to all our guests. Your recognition encourage us to continue this effort. We hope to see you soon among us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for 10 days in August and this was our first time in Tunisia. The hotel and staff are excellent but i must say that health and safety needs looking into as when the first aid kit was required, the lifeguards could not access it as did not have a key and it was locked away. Nobody seemed to know where the key was so it was left up to the holiday makers to sort it out for themselves. Bit of a worry.
Room is large and cleaned daily with fresh clean towels every day. The grounds of the hotel are beautifully kept and we saw staff daily making sure that the grounds were clean,tidy & maintained. Very impressed with the garden displays. The pool is a good size and there is a separate splash pool for the toddlers. Staff around the pool area make sure that you have plenty to drink and there are bars by the pool & beach & also inside the hotel also.
The food was okay but i would have like to have seen chips on the menu more often as they were gone quickly after they were put out. Food was okay for adults but there needs to be more focus on the children's food as only saw turkey nuggets twice during our ten day stay and although the food was okay for adults, many children would not have eaten much of the other food as it was in sauce. Would have been nice to see more of the meat with a sauce on the side as an option so it could be added if wanted.
We didn't see much entertainment as started quite late and my 8 year old was tired out by then. The aqua aerobics every day was fantastic. I will miss this.
The hotel overall was 8/10. I would definately come back. Not very many English to talk to as mainly other Nationalities but did manage to meet up with some English after 5 days.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view. Nice and quiet (apart from the honking of horns from cars but close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Guest Relations Manager at Riadh Palms Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2016
Thank you for your positive review and for taking the time to give us your impressions. Hotel Riadh Palms team is working hard to provide a memorable experience to all our guests. Your recognition encourage us to continue this effort. We hope to see you soon among us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

How this hotel came by its supposed 4.5 out of 6 stars (according to our travel agent) is a mystery to me. Although we had a glorious seaview from our room on the 8th floor straight above the lobby, with a nice little balcony, the rooms themselves look very tired and there were issues with a toilet that wouldn't flush (which got sorted out after several requests, then broke again, after which the entire toilet was replaced), air conditioning (deafening noise, took several requests as well to get someone to come and look at it). Speaking of air conditioning, this was heavily rationed throughout the hotel. They'd switch it on at the start of meal service, but it got switched off halfway through the meal every single time so by dessert time we were dripping. Some hallways had aircon but most didn't. Elevators were excruciatingly slow to arrive, and regularly didn't work, someone in our party even got stuck (briefly, granted). Go for the ones a little further back from the main hall if you are on the south side of the hotel, they were usually a lot less crowded.
Room cleaning was, shall we say, different. They'd come in and take away all the sheets & towels at random times, and it was sometimes several hours before clean ones were delivered. Not pleasant when you get a bad tummy and want to go to sleep...
Apart from giving most of us a tummy upset at some point during our stay, the food was at best mediocre, but generally pretty grotty. Spaghetti that was so undercooked it refused to be twirled onto a fork. "Sauteed" potatoes so pasty & caked together that they looked more like a grey-ish dauphinoise - but without the cream. A very limited salad bar (although the tomatoes were always fabulous). Rock hard or overripe fruit. Stewed meat too tough to cut with a knife. I have to be honest, it was possible to find something edible every time (try the pizza, chorba, chili con carne, danish pastries and local sweetmeats), but not an awful lot. We ended up eating out regularly. On the plus side, the wines were just about drinkable, the beer was always cold, and the barman downstairs makes a mean mojito, but only if you slip him a few dinars.
I should also mention that when we told the maitre d' that it was my mum's 70th birthday, they laid our table beautifully with flowers, linen napkins (folded into swans and everything) and fresh fruit, and were happy to serve the special wine we'd brought with us, and they even got out the ice bucket. Again, I suspect the 5 TND helped...
Meal times were fraught, especially at night when there are 2 sittings. We had the 20.15-21.30 one. Turned up on time to find a huge mob scrambling in front of the doors. Went for another drink downstairs and came back 15 minutes later, congratulating ourselves on our cleverness. Until it turned out that most of the buffet had been cleared away as early as 21.10. And the aircon switched off of course.
Securing a spot by the swimming pool or beach is a challenge. Reserving seats is not allowed but everybody does it anyway. I was lucky enough to have early risers in the group who kindly got up around 6 or 7 every morning to put down some towels, German style, but 6 am was already cutting it fine. Life by the pool was actually pretty good - all it takes is to "befriend" one of the guys who run around with drinks (5 dinar should do the trick) and Bob's your uncle. We befriended a few of the guys and were constantly supplied with beer, bottles of sparkling water and ice cubes, and even had pancakes and doughnuts delivered to us while others were queueing for ages. Money well spent! You need to bring your own towels, by the way - we didn't and bought cheap towels (7 TND each) at the hotel shop. Word of warning - don't go for the cute ones with the map of Tunisia - they bleed black onto everything!
Evening entertainment was loud and irritating - we never went to see it but could hear it every night in our rooms until 22.30. Not much fun with youngish kids. The entertainment team was decimated halfway through our stay after a police raid - 3 guys were arrested for drug dealing, feeding female hotel guests date rape drugs in the hotel's night club and taking them upstairs to video the obvious activity that followed. When we left at 5 in the morning a few days later, 4 cops in civil clothes marched into the hotel once more, I suspect the entertainment may well be a little less loud these days. So there's my other word of warning - keep your daughters safe! Even on the hotel beach my 16 year old nieces were constantly accosted, and whenever we went out (not often, and never far, the surroundings are less than glamorous and the only place we liked was Una Storia Della Vita - amazing couscous but has to be preordered) the lecherous looks and efforts to touch them in all sorts of places were incredible, right in front of their dad, no shame whatsoever.
As a general tip: we were warned against going to the Medina by several people (including our travel agent). Very threatening atmosphere apparently, especially at night, and mugging is not unusual.

All in all there were certainly positive things about the hotel and we enjoyed our stay, but more through sheer determination and sunny weather than anything to do with Riadh Palms or, indeed, Tunisia itself. I am sure that there are better regions (and have in fact seen them, albeit 25 years ago), but Sousse and this hotel were not for us.

Room Tip: sea view rooms do indeed have a great sea view, but the downside is the evening entertainment and dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spoiltbrat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Responsable relations clients at Riadh Palms Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to describe us your holiday impression about our Hotel, Tunisia and your stay. We welcome all comments and remarks in order to improve both our services and our customers’ experience.
We are glad that you did enjoy the fabulous sea view from your room and our delicious beer, which is made by our private Brewery so that it is always, served fresh and cold.
We apologize, however, if you felt uncomfortable or mistreated by some of our employees or even the locals. Our entire team is committed into delivering the best service in most gentle ways for an incredible experience to each guest.
On the other hand we would like to clarify few points mentioned in your review.
We have recently lunched a whole renovation to include rooms, reception, terrace, restaurants… and most of our rooms are renovated.
We put at our guest disposal a total of six elevators working 24/7; two of them have a wonderful view over our pool, beach and garden.
All our hotel guests have access to sun beds and umbrellas by the pool/beach area free of charge and reservation are not permitted. Unfortunately some guests do not respect our rules. But we do not provide beach towels; we clearly mentioned this information on our website in the FAQ section.
Following our different experiences and to better serve our customers, we opted for the two services. This gives more spaces available at the restaurant and less waiting line to access the buffets. At arrival the guest can choose which service timing he / she prefers. And in case the guest wanted to change his set timing for dinner, our Head waiter is always at your service and would be pleased to help you on this matter.
On the matter of restaurant also; we activate its air-conditioned One hour before diner and we switched off 1/2 hour after closing, so that our guests can enjoy their meal in a cool atmosphere.
Regarding our food menus; we offer a huge variety of food. In fact, we program a full menu that change daily with a cycle of 15 days, with different types of salads, Tunisian specialties, international dishes… Also, we plan for different themed nights in our main restaurant (Italian, Tunisia, Around the Mediterranean, South America, fish…) and in our beach restaurant (Fish night, BBQ night and our pool party). Besides, our guest can enjoy a special ambiance in one of our Themed Restaurant; a special cuisines from Tunisian, Italian, Indian and fish traditions.
At last but not least, we did investigate the animation team issue that you have mentioned. It is not true we haven’t experienced such problem. Besides we have recruited a whole new team recently.
And it is a normal procedure in all the hotels for civil cops to be around and visit hotels at any time. It is a cooperation between the hotel and the police force to secure more our area and keep our staff and guests safe.
We hope that we did answer all your remarks and that we will have you among us soon.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sousse hotels

Brampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Have just returned from a stay at rihad palm and have to say have had a fantastic time. From the moment we got there all the staff were friendly and helpful. Reception staff very helpful our room was not ready on arrival but we did arrive before the 2 o'clock checkin went for lunch and by the time we were finished porter was ready to help us with our bags. What a lovely happy porter he was so friendly and throughout the whole stay he would chat to you lovely man. Was a bit worried about what room would be like due to reviews but wow lovely massive clean room and view amazing we had room 2214 think it was the new side. The maid we had she was brilliant always clean bedding and towels she also made lovely patterns out of the towels for the children's beds what a fantastic job she does. Pool area brilliant for kids however a few things do need sorting out there to make it a little better some rough edges around the pool. Plenty of sunbeds and waiters fab always offering you drinks throughout the day. The entertainment team were good not pushy at all and really good with the kids. The only downside I would say is the food all very much the same thing not a great choice for kids well no choice at all to be honest there is only so much pizza any child can eat mine love pasta but even this was no good due to been to spicy for them. You have to be careful with the chicken skewers they cook as each time I got them they were not cooked properly. However we did have a fantastic time and found everyone there to be helpful friendly and they all work hard to make your holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hel19772014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Responsable relations clients at Riadh Palms Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear guest,
We are truly thankful for your lovely feedback regarding your last stay along us. Our whole team (waiters, receptionist, porter, maids…) appreciates your review. They really work hard to satisfy all our guests’ desires and be as helpful as possible.
We are glad that you did enjoy your time especially your kids around the pool area.
However we wonder if you did try one of our Themed Restaurants and enjoy an Italian, Indian, Tunisian or Pêcheur menu, ambiance and relaxed atmosphere.
We hope to host you once again in near future.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel looks as beutiful as the pictures suggest. Our room was very nice and the view over the gardens, beach and sea was brilliant. We had to complain about the hairdrier in the batchroom as there were wires hanging out and when my wife tried to use it, it blew up in a plume of smoke. This took three days to be replaced. The beds are hard and only one pillow does not suffice.
The pool was lovely at first sight but there were problems which we reported but as we left nothing had been done. There was no cover on one of the inlets from the filter on the bottom of the pool which meant there was an 10cm open hole in the bottom of the pool. I would dread to think if a child put their hand inside and got it stuck. There was also a 50cm by 30cm opening on the side of the pool which should have had a cover on but didnt. this led to another inlet set back 20cm from the side of the pool.
The entertainment on the night was ok and the entertainers during the day were very good. We had an issue with one who lost his cool with our 8 year old but after heated words he became very friendly.

We never left the hotel as we were told it was too intense with people trying to sell things and dragging you into shops. Plus the armed police everywhere made us feel that walking the streets probably wasn't a good idea.

Now for the major problem with the hotel - The food.
We witnessed so many things wrong with the food it was impossible to remember them all.
We were given raw chicken on 3 occassions. once from the beach side lunch restaurant. They were cooking chicken kebabs and we were given them before they were fully cooked. After asking to have them re-cooked which they did they were fine.
In the main restaurant on the night there was a large tray of breaded chicken bites. When i bit into one it was completely raw inside. When i told them, they were very appologetic and said they knew they needed to be better.
They also cook in batches on a large metal grill, but they would pour on a batch of food, half cook it and move it over to one half and then pour a new batch on the other. This is not good and you could see the raw meat contacting and getting mixed in with the cooked meat as he was serving it.

Overall I think the hotel has massive potential if they fix these issues but until they do I would not recommend stopping there.

Room Tip: You have to get a beach view room if you are going to stop here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laheney-Clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Responsable relations clients at Riadh Palms Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear guest,
We truly appreciate your post regarding your last visit to Riadh Palms Hotel. We take all comments and remarks seriously in order to improve both our services and our guests stay.
We are so glad that you did enjoy and love the view over the gardens, beach and sea. It is so fabulous to see.
We apologize about the hairdryer’ issue, but we assure you that we are replacing all of them in all rooms. Also we are sorry about the raw chicken issue, which was solved immediately when asked.
We are surprised to hear that you were confused about the police stand outside the hotel. In fact, it is in both our staff and guests’ benefit and safety, so that our guests can enjoy their stay, feel secure and walk around the area safe.
Also, we have checked our swimming pool and we haven’t found any dangerous or risky inlets. However, we are thankful for your attention to other guests.
We are looking forward to hosting you soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

we came back from our Tuniisan holiday on the 27th july 2014, we booked in at the Riadh Palms hotel in Sousse. we thought th ehotel,looked nice from outside,got to reception to check in our party of eight consisting of 5 adults 3 children.we were told the two rooms we had booked were not available and that we would have to have a 2bed suite,which did not go down well. we were shown to the suite.the curtains were all falling down in one of the bedrooms the bathroom was filthy.i went to reception and complained we were then given another suite which looked better so we stayed and unpacked.then checked the hotel out further,it all looked ok except the next day sunbathing we found a loose tile at the pool some craked tiles to,the grill around the pool not safe in parts.then we tried to go for a walk on the beach at 5;45 and were told we could not go we are locking the gates to stop the locals coming onto the resort.same food nearly everday,poor service by some of the staff,some staff very friendly with us then they were moved for being to friendly with us.this is one country and certainly one hotel we would never visit again so stay clear you ahve been warned hahaha Riadh Palms hotel Sousse POOR

Room Tip: Go whwen the Hotel has been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julian30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Responsable relations clients at Riadh Palms Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear guest,
We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in our resort. Our whole team is working hard to offer its best and make each guest’s experience more memorable and pleasant. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, although every person has his own perceptions of things.
We apologize for the inconvenience on your arrival day, we tried to upgrade your stay into a suite so that your whole family can enjoy their stay together.
We have launched our renovation works for rooms (modern design, new furniture, new flat screen TV, hairdryers…), reception, terrace, bars, and maintenance.
We hope you will be back to visit us again and see the improvements done since your last stay.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.5 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
2,041 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
964 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riadh Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riadh Palms Hotel

Property: Riadh Palms Hotel
Address: Avenue du 14 Janvier, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#3 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#5 Family Hotel in Sousse
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riadh Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set among a realm of palm trees right on the edge of the most beautiful beaches in Tunisia, the Riadh Palms is located at the heart of Sousse. It is a 4 star-hotel where tradition, luxury and technology all come together to create a relaxed atmosphere.In order to make the most out of your holiday, many services and facilities are at your reach: a heated indoor pool and a large exterior pool, a sauna, a fitness center, a Spa center, a beauty salon, restaurants, bars with one near the pool & beach, a snack bar, a coffee and tea lounge, a night-club and a shopping gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riadh Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riadh Palms Sousse
Riadh Palms Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing