We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Holiday”
Review of Marhaba Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marhaba Club Hotel
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
kingston upon Hull
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Brilliant Holiday”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Had a great family holiday at this hotel and have booked again for next year. The staff were friendly and polite and there were several pools to choose from and no need to queue for drinks. meals could be a bit hectic but there was a good selection on offer. Took part in lots of well priced trips. The private Bocca bar on the beach was lovely for a change.

Room Tip: Some rooms face adjacent hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marhabaresorts, Responsable relations clients at Marhaba Club Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of your experience at Marhaba Club Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.
I am thrilled that you felt at home in our hotel and enjoyed the warm and family like atmosphere. Thank you for your kind words regarding the service that you experienced during your stay as well; we really do appreciate when guests notice our dedication.

Do not hesitate to contact us for your next booking, i will personally take care of your reservation.
See you again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    226
    131
    76
    57
See reviews for
218
245
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This was our first time to Tunisia and what an experience! Considering it's a complex orientated holiday there was still plenty to do for the 2 weeks we stayed at the Marhaba Club hotel. The first day was slightly confusing as the complex is pretty big; benefiting the ground shares of another hotel, which I must say gave the hotel a brilliant atmosphere. The private beach is right on the door step of this hotel, so if you fancy a change from the 2 pools then the beach is a lovely escape to paradise. Although you may find yourselves being stopped several times for different excursions I will advise the Pirate Boat trip is a big NO NO! Complete waste of time and money, to the point we couldn't eat the "all inclusive" food and drink he claimed was included in the price with people going sick right next to the cooked food. Their hygiene standards were well below average, when you even had a tied up monkey walking in it's own faeces where they were serving drinks. I could go on but I hope what I've said will keep you far away from that trip as possible! Although going on that boat trip was an absolute nightmare, it did mean that we got to share it with some lovely people we met that stayed at the hotel. Even they would agree it was the worst experience ever.
On a positive note, the hotel is situated close to all the shops. So if you're like me and you like the bargains and good fakes then you've come to the right place. Real leather is so cheap out here.. Tip - Never settle for the first price, always haggle and if that doesn't work then wave the notes and walk away, then you'll soon find yourself with a stunning handbag that you payed peanuts for. The food at the hotel is priceless! For the price we payed and service we had was just incredible. A small tip goes a long way with these people and I have to admire the cleaners efforts every morning - fresh towels and bedding, room cleaned every day. You just can't fault it.
However, I did find that some tourists were very rude and arrogant. I think British citizens are the only people who have manners, where you have some continentals pushing into the queues for dinner and continuously demand first servings at a bar! The hotel isn't to blame for in considerate people but a better system is needed in the restaurant to avoid further animosity between guests.
If you're thinking of going for any excursions then I will recommend the Sahara Explorer. It's a once in a lifetime opportunity and we're so glad we experienced the most amazing thing ever. Camel riding is one thing, but riding through the Sahara desert is another.. You will not be disappointed, trust me! To leave it at another high, the entertainment staff are brilliant, always trying to get everyone involved, and there's always activities for everyone to enjoy. Thank you for a wonderful stay and we hope to return soon :)

Room Tip: - Avoid Pirate trip - Try the full body massage - Outstanding! - Keep hold of your bags at the air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nerys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marhabaresorts, Responsable relations clients at Marhaba Club Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent summer stay at Marhaba Club Hotel.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we are very pleased to learn that you had a great stay. Our whole staff tries his best to satisfy all needs and desires and offer a pleasant stay to every holiday maker.

We sincerely thank you for your recommendation and we will be very pleased to welcome you back at Marhaba Club Hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Brilliant holiday, fantastic hotel and resort, yes there were things that wernt perfect but come on this is tunisia not england, I stayed here with my wife and 11 year old step son for 1 week 8 aug - 15aug, every single thing u need on your holiday is there, all in one/two hotels, great service, great pools, shops, and beach all on your doorstep, we r guna book here again for 2 weeks next year, if your a picky windgy person then im sure u could find some faults, but none of these even came close to spoiling r hol, one final point is the annimation team r amazing, start at 9am in morning rite through till midnight, playing games during the day and putting on brilliant shows at night, overall excellent! Cant wait to go back

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickmwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marhabaresorts, Responsable relations clients at Marhaba Club Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a brilliant review from your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that your stay at the Marhaba Club Hotel was a memorable experience and everything was to your satisfaction on this holiday break.
Thank you for taking the time to recognize the dedication of all the staff here; I will be sure to pass on your comments onto all the team.
Our whole staff tries his best to satisfy all needs and desires and offer a pleasant stay to every holiday maker.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back for another memorable stay when the occasion arises.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Went to this hotel from 9 august to 20th, had an amazing time. Hotel very clean and staff polite, fab pool and beach. Only downfall was the restaurant as promised to reserve a table for 8 of us, but they never did and everytime we sat down to eat they were saying we couldnt sit there. Was only disappointed about restaurant and food and ended io eating out most of the time or starved.

the entertainers were amazing, got us involved in all activities, my favourite was gigi as he made our holiday making us welcome and laugh all day.

Was very safe and I didnt have anything stolen. I would come to this hotel again for the right price, cheap taxi to town and cheap to eat out.

beach was fab as you had a breeze and cheap prices for jet ski and paragliding.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giles742014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marhabaresorts, Responsable relations clients at Marhaba Club Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of Marhaba Club Hotel.

First of all, we are absolutely sorry about your disappointing concerning the restaurant.

Secondly, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Marhaba Club Hotel and I am glad that you found the location convenient for you, with many of the main sights, shops and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the helpful staff that you experienced; especially the entertainment team.

Finally, I look forward to you joining us again at Marhaba Club Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This was our second visit to Tunisia within the space of a month, we previously stayed at Marhaba Beach in July. We decided to go back with our children aged 12 and 18 as activities and eating out were extremely cheap.
We booked in to Marhaba Club this time as we were lead to believe that this was a better hotel..

ROOMS

The rooms are ok, we had two seperate twin rooms that although were asked to be next to each other they were on the same floor at least. We had clean sheets everyday and clean towels too so for the amount of time that we spent in the room it did the job.

LOBBY/RECEPTION

Cramped and over crowded, could never find anywhere to sit and could not understand where to sit/relax on an evening besides waiting until 10pm at night until the entertainment show started which is situated in the neighbouring hotel. As it is with most countries abroad you are allowed to smoke indoors..well our family is non smoking so for us we just found it horrible because the doors are always closed so the smoke gathers. This leads me to the beautiful open bar at the end of the complex which over looks the sea with its relaxing lighting and comfy sofas. We seen pictures of this on the website and thought great that looks fab...only to find out that you have to pay for drinks if you want to sit up there and it is open to the general public of Tunisia! The pathway leads to a car park that is used for the locals so ANYBODY can wander on to the complex itself.

POOL

This was the only saving grace of the holiday. The pool was clean and a fair size with a swim up bar. There was also the opportunity to use the pool in the neighbouring complex which had water slides although that was extremely crowded.

FOOD

Food was pitiful, if you are a picky eater this is not the place for you. We found it chaotic and not clean at all. If you werent there on the dot, you would not get a clean table and would have to sit on a table with a dirty tablecloth and no cutlery or plates etc. The waiters did no waiting whatsoever, just cleared plates thats it! The lay out of the restaurant was ridiculous with people pushing and shoving and queue jumping!!! We decided to eat out twice in the week we were there, once at Farmers Steak house and another where we caught the taxi to the port and had pizza which gave 2 nights of light relief.

ENTERTAINMENT

One asked my daughter if she was watching porn while she was listening to music on her tablet?!! Very distasteful...

ACTIVITIES

Do not book with the man that sits near the beach! We booked quad biking with him and they were death traps. We booked cheap and you get what you pay for unfortunately..

BEACH

Beach is ok, sand is a nice colour as is the sea but due to disrespectful guests that leave cigarette ends and plastic cups etc buried on the sand it ruins it. YES the sea has jellyfish my youngest was stung but it only lasted an hour however we already knew this from our last visit and didnt really go in the sea that much. If you are looking for water sports see Tina directly outside, we did para gliding and sea doo really cheap.

Lastly I have read hundreds of reviews on Trip advisor before for not only this holiday but many others before and I do believe that one persons holiday is not for somebody else. We are not very picky and are well travelled. Having been able to come to 2 different hotels that are right next door to each other within the space of 4 weeks I felt the need to give my honest opinion. Also beware if you are a young blonde or have blonde children as the locals are somewhat fascinated by them to the point where its creepy! We had many vile men antagonising my husband by making remarks about our daughters which when one of them is only 12 it makes you sick.

We spoke to a few families while we were there and some shared our view some said they thought it was great so all I can say is your holiday is what you make it and we tried to make the best of ours and had fun overall its just a shame that it fell short for us this time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank My Fair Wedding... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marhabaresorts, Responsable relations clients at Marhaba Club Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear guest,

We are absolutely sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and we would like to express our most sincere regrets about it. Please be assured that we pay all our attention to your feedback.

Just to clarify some points,

ROOMS : Thank you for the kind word, my Executive Housekeeper will be happy to hear that you found the rooms to be impeccable.

LOBBY / RECEPTION : The reception is devised on 2 areas, smoking and non smoking area.
Concerning the open bar you have talked about, it is BOCCA BEACH and it is our “Menu à la Carte” and it is open to everybody on the reservation of course.

FOOD : We are absolutely sorry about the troubles experienced at the restaurant.
I will personally share all your comments with the Dining Room Chief and the Chief of restoration in order to take the necessary measures and ensure that such a lack of service does not happen again.

Finally, rest assured that we have taken into consideration all your remarks that we have shared with the concerned Managers in order to take the necessary measures and ensure that such a lack of service does not happen again.

We will try to restore your confidence in our hotel and show you that the past situation was more than exceptional and very unusual in our hotel.
We look forward to hearing from you very soon,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sousse hotels

Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My family and I got back on Saturday after staying here for a week.
We arrived at the hotel at 3 in the morning and the very friendly reception staff explained to us that we would be put in a temporary room for the night and in the morning would be moved to our rooms when they were ready. They came to us and explained the rooms were ready and offered to help us move our luggage up there. 4th floor rooms with sea views were absolutely amazing! The rooms were clean, the maid just finishing off in there couldn't do enough for us and asked if everything was ok, and every morning she said good morning.
The restaurant staff were all friendly and we barely had to lift a finger, they couldn't wait to help us with anything. The food not to our taste a lot of the time however we never went hungry and never had a bad meal.
The animation staff, I can't big them up enough! Each one of them always with a smile on their face and always friendly and made time to talk to you and ask questions about the variety of activities on offer. A special mention to Gigi who made our stay there fun, he always made us laugh and he led his activities brilliantly!
After reading the previous comments about the hotel I was a little worried and have to say, it was miles away from being a horror holiday.
I absolutely 100% recommend staying at this hotel and my family and I are looking at going again next year.
Thanks to all at the marhaba club, best holiday ever!

Room Tip: 4th floor, left side of the hotel for best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marhabaresorts, Responsable relations clients at Marhaba Club Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great comments about your stay here with us at Marhaba Club Hotel.

All of the team at Marhaba Club Hotel are always thrilled to know they have done something to make their guests feel brilliant, and it is a good thing for them to see your comments. We hope many people will see your review and choose us too.

We hope to welcome you back to Marhaba Club Hotel in the future and thank you again for posting such great comments. Do not hesitate to contact us if you book with us again in future, i will personally take care of your reservation.

See you again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Just arrived back from Marhaba Club and I have to say it was amazing. Words cannot describe my experience at not only this hotel resort but the whole holiday as the area which the hotel is located is also amazing and is literally 2 mins away from a beautiful beach. I really cannot understand the poor reviews I saw as I was open minded when goin to the hotel but was amazed. The staff are so friendly and helpful as are the Tunisian people themselves so humble and friendly, the rooms were also clean as the cleaners came in on a daily basis and put new sheets on etc, the food was okay but I'm a very fussy eater although there was such a large variety and my other family members enjoyed the food ( I don't understand the comments regarding a small variety obvs the food is the same everyday but you cannot possibly have it all as there is so much to choose from so I would advise having a certain selection each day then choosing a different selection the next) the waiters are really good and friendly. Everything was just spot on I was so sad to leave that I am already looking with family to go back in the near future + we had a party of 11 and not 1 complained ! We all loved it. A beautiful country with beautiful people. Thank you to everyone at this hotel for making our stay special. Btw I also celebrated my 20th!! Was the best birthday !

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sonia_shh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marhabaresorts, Responsable relations clients at Marhaba Club Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of your experience at Marhaba Club Hotel.

It gives me great pleasure to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you found the hotel’s location to be convenient for you.
Thank you for your kind words regarding the service that you experienced during your stay as well; we really do appreciate when guests notice our dedication.

It’s also fantastic to hear that our team looked after your birthday and ensured it was a good one.

Once again thank you for your great feedback, our team and management are always really thrilled to know that we made our guests feel brilliant!

I look forward to welcoming you back to Marhaba Club Hotel in the future.
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly and i will personally take care of your reservation.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.0 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 35 in Sousse
969 reviews
0.3 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,585 reviews
1.2 mi away
Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Club Hotel

Property: Marhaba Club Hotel
Address: 2011 Boulevard 14 Janvier | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marhaba Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Sousse
Marhaba Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing