We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, made a nice change”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely, made a nice change”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Just returned after having stayed at the Marharab Beach Hotel for 10 days. We usually go to Egypt, however fancied somehwere different and didn't want to spend too long getting there, a 2hr45minute flight was ideal.Our stay was purely to relax and chill out, we had a brilliant time the weather was excellent spent most of the holiday on the lovely white sandy beach and in the warm sea. The marina at Port El Kantaoui and the Medina in Sousse are a taxi ride or road train away worth a visit however be prepared for a lot of hassling so be strong, this is the same in Egypt and Turkey we bartered for 3 t-shirts starting price 140DN and managed to get them for 43DN in the end, that’s not to say we took advantage just good haggling skills by my other half!!
Can’t believe people have been disappointed with the food in the hotel there was plenty and a variety. We heard people moaning about the food it is 4 star and not a 5 star hotel message to all those: if you want English food go to Tenerife or Spain as I sure don’t want to eat fish and chips and Sunday roast, be adventurist and try the local cuisine or stay at home! The Maitre'D will ask you to share a table something that is done in Tunisian hotels just inform him that you would like to sit on your own they are very accommodating. Our waiter for the stay was a lovely chap called Riadh very attentive and polite and always had a smiley face.
The pool area is pleasant however does need updating the swimming pools in Tunisia are never big as they have the beach. When we first arrived we did compare to Egypt - don’t?
The rooms were absolutely fine I have been in far more antiquated rooms in a supposedly 5 star. The rooms are cleaned every day with fresh towels and bed linen every 2 days. There are no tea/coffee facilities or mini bar or fridge in your room this is because the facilities are available to you 24hrs a day just ring reception and place your order.
We didn’t have a safety deposit box just placed all valuable in a secure case with lock, doesn’t’ take much.
Staff are attentive and pleasant the odd one that isn’t happy but I think they get their fair share of moaning visitors that ask for the earth.
The sunbeds on both the beach and pool are a problem however once again that is everywhere. In Egypt the Italians were getting up at 0430hrs to reserve a bed.
The animation team especially the young lads and the young lady work extremely hard to entertain the guests on a daily basis.
We travelled independently so had no rep but I did speak with the Thomson rep Michael who was extremely helpful.
If you can have a massage in the treatment room full body massage for only 25DN (about £10) excellent.
Overall we had a lovely time and it met the requirements we wanted from a holiday: sun, beach, good food and a relaxing time like any of the hotels they now start getting busier due to the season, if we go again it will be early June or mid to late September.

Room Tip: Top floor less noise, excellent views of the med overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ronnie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,062
    659
    235
    95
    72
See reviews for
630
732
75
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Having just returned from this holiday i would like to share my experience with potential visitors, there aren,t any safety deposit boxes in rooms you can pay to have one behind reception costs about £1 a day ( non refundable ) this is a nightmare as the office is small and usually someone on the phone also you need master key from reception as well as your own to open the box and at busy times other guests are waiting.
There is a shortage of sunbeds but if you tip the pool attendant he will have hotel towels on your sunbeds waiting for you, these are available for 10 dinars which are refundable at the end of your holiday.
There aren,t any tea making facilities and fridges in the rooms but i always take my travel kettle for a cup of coffee on the balcony.
The food was average and not a huge choice also on first visit to restaurant you are allocated a table which you have to share with other guests which is ok if they are good company can be an uncomfortable meal if not.
Our overall opinion is average all inclusive hotel no real complaints but no real praises either.
Animation team enthusiastic and work hard, 2 evenings we had belly dancer, fire eater and snake charmer, all in all we enjoyed our holiday but would have no reason to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suse1826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I tried to think of something negative to say about this hotel but couldn't think of a thing apart from the shower head being badly situated consequently the bathroom floor was always flooded after a shower, but thats it. I felt like royalty all the time I was there (2 weeks). Every whim was catered for by smiling staff. The food was good though became repetative on the second week. Food was available all day for the hungry horaces and.the wines and spirits were good. Only disapointment was the A La Carte Restaurant which didn't live up to my expectations. The water was free in any amounts asked for. The gardens and pool were amazing and so peaceful until the animation team got to work with the music but even that went down to an acceptable level The beach was clean and the sea clear though early rising was essential to get a sun bed and it wasn't only the Germans, though this didn't apply to the gardens . The public rooms were non-smoking but there was a bar where smoking was allowed .Plenty of entertainment in the evenings if you liked that kind of thing and a Drag Show once a week along with a Beach Party. Every effort was made by the staff to make your holiday special. A tip of 1 Dinar (50p) was more than special for the little extras. Taxis into Sousse were 5 Dinars though inevitably some tried to charge more. Sousse was exciting and hot and a trip to Port El Kantoui is highly recommended. We visited Carthage Tunis & Sidi Bhu Ali a colourful mountain village with winding cobbled streets. There were 2 curfews whilst we were there due to civil unrest but we were not affected in any way and felt safe and secure in the complex. I would return to this hotel in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 206 with an excellent sea view and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmary528795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed with my partner for a couple of weeks in Marhaba Beach Hotel. The hotel was of a fair standard, though certainly not 4*: average meals, average rooms, nice restaurant and bars but refurbishment seemed well overdue. Staff polite, some more pleasant than others, especially when we realised they actually expect a tip. Beach and pool loungers in short supply, one has to get up early morning to tip the attendants for a lounger and a mattress. Beach safe and pleasant, with fine sand and the waves in the afternoons were great fun but it was partly spoilt by hundreds (or was it thousands?) of beach parasols. Mostly motorised water sports (jet skis, banana rides and paragliding), which operate independently. Animation team charming and very energetic but entertainment rated below average. Music in pool area often competed with that on the beach and the neighbouring hotels. All inclusive offered unlimited liquor; a great place to polish up your russian. Not impressed with some uncouth taxi drivers, charging 100% over the usual rates, doing a disservice to the local tourism and with the overdeveloped nearby town of Sousse. This said, the warm, sunny weather did not disappoint us. All in all, a good value but expect some ... challenges

Room Tip: Try 2-4 floor, to avoid late night noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plutonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at the maharbar beach and it was fantastic. Animation team are brilliant they help make your holiday. The service is absolutly brilliant and the hotel it self is fantastic its so clean. The only down side is the outside pool. Its not easy to get in if your over a certain age or disabled you.ve got no chance apart from the pool best holiday i.ve had.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slingbac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I recently stayed at Marhaba beach and it is overall a nice hotel however there were a few issues. Our room was really clean and had a nice view. There is night time entertainment but a lot of it is geared towards children. Also some nights if you don't want to watch the entertainment and you have a pool view room, you'll still hear the entertainment very loudly in your room (some songs get on your nerves after a day or two!) This does stop around half 11 so its bearable. The staff are very friendly however you do feel you need to tip to get better service. i didn't mind this as they do work very hard and come across as very grateful.

The first few days we got there there were never any sunbeds left by about 9am and we were soon told by another customer that the sunbed guy reserves sunbeds however, you need to tip him to get him to save you some.

The main thing i didn't like was that if there is 2 or less of you on holiday you will probably have to share your table in the main restaurant with another couple. Although the couple we were with were really nice, it is a bit awkward and if I known this before booking I probably would of looked at another hotel.

Another thing that was a bit of a let down was if on the last day you have a late flight check out is at 12pm. They have a policy which will let you keep on the room until 6pm for 40 Dinar which is around £16. When we asked to book this we were told we could only book it after breakfast on our last day. When we went back to our last day to book we were told our room was unavailable for late checkout. They said we could use a shower room for 30 mins but you can't book a time for this. Also the receptionist was pretty vague about what time we could use this room. We were able to use a room in the end but we did have to wait around half an hour in reception for it. Also they were ringing at half an hour to tell us our time was up.

The food was better than expected. Breakfast time is the best with the most choices. Also we didn't realise till later in our holiday that there is a menu for the beach bar as the buffet wasn't that appetising and you could order pizzas, sandwiches etc which were a lot nicer.

Overall for what we paid for this holiday, Marhaba beach was very good value for money. I personally would't go back but I'm not that keen on all inclusive. A lot of people we met at the hotel go back year after year so clearly for some people the hotel is doing something right.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunisia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

just returned from maharba beach . on arival felt a little dissapointed with the appearance , looked tired and dated . as soon as the guy took our cases he held his handout for a tip , he had literally moved them four feet lol . we were showm to our room 208 and i was less than pleased . i paid for a beach/pool view and this room was in a courner overlooking a very untidy area . air con not working at all ,patio door broken you needed to be a body builder to open it . bathroom very dark and dingy , but clean as was the room . thought there was going to be a fridge as it was extremley hot , told we can hire one . i wanted to leave . any way they changed our room to 172 . this was same style but did have a sea view but once again air con broken and toilet leaked . so they sent a maintainance guy who bodged it up ,but on the good side the aircon stopped on . but the toilet still leaked .hence a towel was left on the floor to mop it up . pool was not as seen in brocure as in other reviews it was very dated it was acually the pool in the other hotel . pool area was not cleaned , and u did need to tip to get a bed . otherwise the pool man wasnt interested in finding u a bed . as soon as u leave the pool man takes the matteress away so the next people have to ask him and he gets tipped again . same as beach if u not up at 5/5.30 u wont get a bed . w did sucumbed and pay two dinars a day to get sunbeds .theses people are paid poorley but they make a hell of a lot in tips. we spent over sixty pounds in two weeks just tipping , if u didnt tip u did get lefttill last ,. some of the younger waiters were pleasant and did work long hours , but a lot of staff were miserable. i found the reception staff very freindly andhelpfull .
the bar inside the hotel is very small ,and the saloon bar only open at night .
i have to say i didnt feel safe leaving the hotel at night , lots of youths around . i have previously been to different parts of tunisia and always felt safe .
now the positives . maid service every day ,clean towels , beach area beautifull ,sea lovley and warm . drinks was ok if you drink spirits. beer not to bad . snack bar do nice pizza ,chips and sandwhiches after 12.30 till 5 . the drag show on a saturday was good even though u had to pay to watch it . entertainment ok not great but they tried. waitors at night were good. but the best thing that makes this hotel is the guests .i have never been to a more friendly place and i have travelled. everyone spoke to each other and this made the holiday o despite someof the negatives we had a lovley holiday ,thanks to mary and bruce, donna and mashella ,bob marley and all the other lovley people there . would i go back ? if i returned to tunisia maybe . im sure if u are going u will enjoy your holiday . would just like to add we are not normally complainers so this is our honest opinion.

Room Tip: higher floors , some have been refurbished. dont automatically tip , only tip if you satisfied , don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepsiTunisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sousse
0.2 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 35 in Sousse
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,585 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,010 reviews
3.9 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Beach Hotel

Property: Marhaba Beach Hotel
Address: Boulevard 7 Novembre | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#2 Family Hotel in Sousse
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marhaba BeachLocated in Sousse and 3 km away from Port El Kantaoui resort, between the white sands and crystal clear waters of the Mediterranean Sea, the Marhaba Beach has been created in the 80’s.His creators have established a contemporary and Moorish interiors of some suites … An ideal place for soaking up the sun of Tunisia and to relax on the beach, and the advantage of having nearest a new Thalassotherapy center : Les Neréides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marhaba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Beach Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing