We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

First time to Tunisia and I would definitely go back :) The Hotel was lovely and our room was spacious with great facilities but make sure you take your own hairdryer as the ones at the hotel are quite weak and if you have thick hair like mine it takes forever. If you decide to stay at this hotel make sure you request a room on the 4th floor as they have been recently refurbished and ask for a sea view=gorgeous.
The food was good but got a bit samey after a while but there was a wide range of different foods to choose from. This kept us going. The waiters were lovely and very helpful also.
One down side to the hotel was that we had to tip to get excellent service from some workers (others didn’t require a tip and still gave excellent service). To get a sunbed each day you had to tip the pool guy to make sure he has one reserved for you otherwise it is very difficult to find one. When our bags were taken up to our room we had to tip the porter but he was not happy with the amount and slammed the door on us which I found very rude.
The entertainment team on the other hand were fantastic. Rico, Timo, Laska, Jo, Bebo and Fifi are all lovely and made our stay very enjoyable. Without them our stay would not have been as good and at times quite boring. There was entertainment every evening without fail and during the day you had the choice of doing different activities which gave me a nice break from my partner ;). Very friendly and fun loving people.
If you decide to do Zulu as an excursion with Thompson then be prepared to hang around at the zoo for 4 hours instead of 1.5 hours which was stated. It’s small and only took us an hour to walk around it twice. The evening show is good but the food is very average.
The pirates and gladiators excursion was great. Got to visit the coliseum where gladiator was filmed and then spent a few hours on a pirate ship where we saw dolphins, had bbq food, watched belly dancing, and jumped off into the sea.
Overall the resort was gorgeous, the people were friendly and everything was cheap and cheerful. I would definitely recommend to anyone planning on visiting Tunisia.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sofie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,096
    669
    239
    97
    76
See reviews for
661
744
77
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We arrived late at night were shown straight to our room which was lovely. No safes which is very annoying but you can pay for one from reception.
We thought the food was lovely there is always pasta pizza burgers and chips and at night they cook fresh meat in front of you. There is always a good choice including Tunisian speciality foods. Sometimes they do themed nights like italian. My boyfriend is very fussy and he always found something he liked and had lots of choice. The barbeque bar on the beach is great we went for afternoon pizzas and pancakes made fresh for us all the time.

There are lots of non smoking zones now such as reception, and the salon bar you can only smoke at the top so the room doesn't smell smoky at all.

The animation team were absolutely fantastic and made our holiday. The entertainment at night isn't big shows but is still good and the team socialise with the guests and we played cards with them one time. During the day they are always doing different activities that kids and adults can join in and they don't hassle you to join in.

The pool man put our towels out for us everyday in the same space and we paid him 1 dinar a day (40p). It is a pain for some people but it's useful and worth it.

We had a fantastic holiday and would definitely go again and will recommend to all our friends and family. There is always people that complain but we had an amazing holiday!

Room Tip: It would be nice to have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Just returned after having stayed at the Marharab Beach Hotel for 10 days. We usually go to Egypt, however fancied somehwere different and didn't want to spend too long getting there, a 2hr45minute flight was ideal.Our stay was purely to relax and chill out, we had a brilliant time the weather was excellent spent most of the holiday on the lovely white sandy beach and in the warm sea. The marina at Port El Kantaoui and the Medina in Sousse are a taxi ride or road train away worth a visit however be prepared for a lot of hassling so be strong, this is the same in Egypt and Turkey we bartered for 3 t-shirts starting price 140DN and managed to get them for 43DN in the end, that’s not to say we took advantage just good haggling skills by my other half!!
Can’t believe people have been disappointed with the food in the hotel there was plenty and a variety. We heard people moaning about the food it is 4 star and not a 5 star hotel message to all those: if you want English food go to Tenerife or Spain as I sure don’t want to eat fish and chips and Sunday roast, be adventurist and try the local cuisine or stay at home! The Maitre'D will ask you to share a table something that is done in Tunisian hotels just inform him that you would like to sit on your own they are very accommodating. Our waiter for the stay was a lovely chap called Riadh very attentive and polite and always had a smiley face.
The pool area is pleasant however does need updating the swimming pools in Tunisia are never big as they have the beach. When we first arrived we did compare to Egypt - don’t?
The rooms were absolutely fine I have been in far more antiquated rooms in a supposedly 5 star. The rooms are cleaned every day with fresh towels and bed linen every 2 days. There are no tea/coffee facilities or mini bar or fridge in your room this is because the facilities are available to you 24hrs a day just ring reception and place your order.
We didn’t have a safety deposit box just placed all valuable in a secure case with lock, doesn’t’ take much.
Staff are attentive and pleasant the odd one that isn’t happy but I think they get their fair share of moaning visitors that ask for the earth.
The sunbeds on both the beach and pool are a problem however once again that is everywhere. In Egypt the Italians were getting up at 0430hrs to reserve a bed.
The animation team especially the young lads and the young lady work extremely hard to entertain the guests on a daily basis.
We travelled independently so had no rep but I did speak with the Thomson rep Michael who was extremely helpful.
If you can have a massage in the treatment room full body massage for only 25DN (about £10) excellent.
Overall we had a lovely time and it met the requirements we wanted from a holiday: sun, beach, good food and a relaxing time like any of the hotels they now start getting busier due to the season, if we go again it will be early June or mid to late September.

Room Tip: Top floor less noise, excellent views of the med overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ronnie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Having just returned from this holiday i would like to share my experience with potential visitors, there aren,t any safety deposit boxes in rooms you can pay to have one behind reception costs about £1 a day ( non refundable ) this is a nightmare as the office is small and usually someone on the phone also you need master key from reception as well as your own to open the box and at busy times other guests are waiting.
There is a shortage of sunbeds but if you tip the pool attendant he will have hotel towels on your sunbeds waiting for you, these are available for 10 dinars which are refundable at the end of your holiday.
There aren,t any tea making facilities and fridges in the rooms but i always take my travel kettle for a cup of coffee on the balcony.
The food was average and not a huge choice also on first visit to restaurant you are allocated a table which you have to share with other guests which is ok if they are good company can be an uncomfortable meal if not.
Our overall opinion is average all inclusive hotel no real complaints but no real praises either.
Animation team enthusiastic and work hard, 2 evenings we had belly dancer, fire eater and snake charmer, all in all we enjoyed our holiday but would have no reason to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suse1826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I tried to think of something negative to say about this hotel but couldn't think of a thing apart from the shower head being badly situated consequently the bathroom floor was always flooded after a shower, but thats it. I felt like royalty all the time I was there (2 weeks). Every whim was catered for by smiling staff. The food was good though became repetative on the second week. Food was available all day for the hungry horaces and.the wines and spirits were good. Only disapointment was the A La Carte Restaurant which didn't live up to my expectations. The water was free in any amounts asked for. The gardens and pool were amazing and so peaceful until the animation team got to work with the music but even that went down to an acceptable level The beach was clean and the sea clear though early rising was essential to get a sun bed and it wasn't only the Germans, though this didn't apply to the gardens . The public rooms were non-smoking but there was a bar where smoking was allowed .Plenty of entertainment in the evenings if you liked that kind of thing and a Drag Show once a week along with a Beach Party. Every effort was made by the staff to make your holiday special. A tip of 1 Dinar (50p) was more than special for the little extras. Taxis into Sousse were 5 Dinars though inevitably some tried to charge more. Sousse was exciting and hot and a trip to Port El Kantoui is highly recommended. We visited Carthage Tunis & Sidi Bhu Ali a colourful mountain village with winding cobbled streets. There were 2 curfews whilst we were there due to civil unrest but we were not affected in any way and felt safe and secure in the complex. I would return to this hotel in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 206 with an excellent sea view and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmary528795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed with my partner for a couple of weeks in Marhaba Beach Hotel. The hotel was of a fair standard, though certainly not 4*: average meals, average rooms, nice restaurant and bars but refurbishment seemed well overdue. Staff polite, some more pleasant than others, especially when we realised they actually expect a tip. Beach and pool loungers in short supply, one has to get up early morning to tip the attendants for a lounger and a mattress. Beach safe and pleasant, with fine sand and the waves in the afternoons were great fun but it was partly spoilt by hundreds (or was it thousands?) of beach parasols. Mostly motorised water sports (jet skis, banana rides and paragliding), which operate independently. Animation team charming and very energetic but entertainment rated below average. Music in pool area often competed with that on the beach and the neighbouring hotels. All inclusive offered unlimited liquor; a great place to polish up your russian. Not impressed with some uncouth taxi drivers, charging 100% over the usual rates, doing a disservice to the local tourism and with the overdeveloped nearby town of Sousse. This said, the warm, sunny weather did not disappoint us. All in all, a good value but expect some ... challenges

Room Tip: Try 2-4 floor, to avoid late night noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plutonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at the maharbar beach and it was fantastic. Animation team are brilliant they help make your holiday. The service is absolutly brilliant and the hotel it self is fantastic its so clean. The only down side is the outside pool. Its not easy to get in if your over a certain age or disabled you.ve got no chance apart from the pool best holiday i.ve had.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slingbac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sousse
0.2 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 35 in Sousse
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#15 of 35 in Sousse
1,589 reviews
3.9 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#9 of 33 in Port El Kantaoui
2,031 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Beach Hotel

Property: Marhaba Beach Hotel
Address: Boulevard 7 Novembre | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#2 Family Hotel in Sousse
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marhaba BeachLocated in Sousse and 3 km away from Port El Kantaoui resort, between the white sands and crystal clear waters of the Mediterranean Sea, the Marhaba Beach has been created in the 80’s.His creators have established a contemporary and Moorish interiors of some suites … An ideal place for soaking up the sun of Tunisia and to relax on the beach, and the advantage of having nearest a new Thalassotherapy center : Les Neréides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marhaba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Beach Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing