We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year at the Marhaba beach hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
GB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New year at the Marhaba beach hotel”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Had a hassle free journey arriving on christmas day & arrived at the hotel at 1.30, but by the time we fiiled forms out etc we decided to skip lunch that finished at 2pm. We were not offered a welcome drink even though it was christmas day, but after being there a few days we saw others were offered when they arrived.

Our cases were taken to our room with no hassle & we were happy with our room as we had requested a high sea view room which we were very pleased to get.

We were disappointed with the indoor swimming pool, as it had tiles coming off the sides & after using it once we didn't bother again as it didn't feel clean to us. The steam room & sauna were lovely & we used them but the staff have a lot to be desired, not very friendly & found it a bit of a hassle to have to come & get a ticket every time you wanted to use it. We also found it strange we had to put a deposit down for our beach towels, never had this in all inclusive before & when we took them back to get our money back, it was not easy - be warned!!

We realise that going in the winter months things are not opened, ie:- beach bar & pool bar, this wasn't a problem as the weather was chilly & we didn't sit outside all the time & the waiters are around to fetch you a drink around the pool area if you want one, which we did.

We cannot praise the waiters in the restaurant & bar staff enough, they work very hard indeed & try to make your stay very enjoyable.

The food in the restaurant was good, we loved the omelettes in the morning made fresh for us each day, the one problem we found was the food was not replaced fast enough when the restaurant was busy, which seemed to be mainly at the weekend, if this hotel was full i don't know how they would cope.

The main reason we came was for the New Year Gala & to be honest the evening started really well, dancing & music in reception, they had put extra bars out & all was going well. We went into the restaurant all a set time for everyone & it was all in candle light which looked lovely. We had starters on the table, following by fish & soup & up to this point was going well. BUT, after this everything came to a halt & people started to leave as they got fed up with waiting, the family that came with us being one of them.
We stayed & eventually we got our main course, but it was stone cold. We complained to the management & my husbands only was taken away & it eventually came back hot, but just his. We were so disappointed my husband had another word with management & we also left & joined our family in reception. The bars they had put up had disappeared & all was quiet even before the new year but we made the most of things with our family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,024
    645
    234
    95
    72
See reviews for
614
717
68
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Only one thing in this hotel put me off...a bit sick of hearing our fellow British holiday makers complaining about the lack of Full English Breakfast or that they saw an insect. THIS IS NORTH AFRICA. I've seen bigger spiders in my front room than the beatles which I saw a couple of. Seriously, if you want Full English, stay at home or go to the Costas. The only reason these people were there was the same reason we were, because it was a very good deal over the Christmas and New Year period. At £600pp for 10 nights including Christmas and New Year is a steal anywhere. The hotel is kept nice and clean, albeit a little shabby in places. Communal areas are spacious, grounds and pool area picturesque and above all the hotel is directly on the beach which is always a bonus. Sea view rooms offer a very nice aspect onto the Mediterranean with spacious balconies.
The animation team are a very important cog in the hotels mechanism as without them nights would be a sombre affair. Having said this perhaps the hotel ought to consider bringing in a professional show more than twice a week. There was a bit more of an effort made around Christmas and New Year with a pianist/singer in the foyer and dining room.
Food was plentiful and there was always enough variety to avoid the more odder choices on offer. You must bear in mind that at least half the guests were of North African origin so the food is aimed at a large cross section of the world in this respect.
Thinking of venturing out, then Sousse is 5 minutes (or 5 Dinars) away in a taxi. Sousse itself is a large city looking a little shabby in places but the walled market or Medhina is large and bustling market area where you can haggle yourself some bargains. Take a trip the other way up the coast and you'll arrive at Port el Kantaoui, somewhat more pleasing on the eye and geared up for tourists. If you wish to go further afield, consider a tour. Be warned though, the Sahara tour offered by Thomson means you're spending 7 to 8 hours a day on a cramped coach.

Room Tip: Rooms on the fourth floor have been modernised, and have fridges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frequentflyer017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Well lets start with the goods.
Good hotel staff and sun.
Negatives.
Well i don't think will have enough room to put it all.
We were lucky as we had room with a fridge and faced sun only saving grace really.
Many rooms had old tvs and no fridge and very small.
I ventured to walk out side, but had women begging for money after covered in blood. Also constant hassle from taxi drivers and people pretending to know u saying they know u from the hotel.
Food very bland and same everyday really think most people would struggle after two days spent most holiday ill to be honest great staff lovely beach but that is it and that's a shame .
So disappointed expected a 4* hotel and it was 2/3 at the most.
Would not return even if offered for free :-(

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank sunny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This was the third year in succession to this hotel. We traveled out on xmas day. The journey was effortless, both getting to the airport and on to the plane. We arrived at the hotel too late for the evening meal and we went to the hotel snack bar, the meal was acceptable, although not xmas dinner. We spent the rest of the day in the salon bar meeting old friends and the hotel staff. My, haven't they good memories. The following two weeks were just as in the past years. Good clean rooms, a good selection of foods, plenty do drink and several daily outings. The atmosphere in the surrounding towns was more relaxed and shopping was a pleasure. Not so many beggars or tricksters about. The country is beginning to get things together, cleaner now and much more settled. This was the third visit to tunisia and eould be satisfied to go again. The star ratong is now three, although I would it higher. Well worth a visit. You should be plesantly surprised.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view and a high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abuzz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Had the best week ever booked it spare of the moment with no idea how impressed i was going to be not a party place in winter but amazing food and very clean venue also excellent customer service facilities exceptional nice large deep indoor swimming pool

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lisasellwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

With all the stories you hear about going to Tunisia, me and my friend were a bit worried about going after we booked to go in October, but we had the most amazing time even booked to go back for new year.

The staff were very caring and friendly, if you needed anything they were always happy to help. Tiga was brilliant!!! Perfect with getting everyone involved in all the activities children and adults. A friendly and welcoming face everyday at the hotel. Also very funny to watch when it was showtime! It was nice to have someone you could approach whenever throughout the day.

All in all a brilliant experience, made my first time in Tunisia a very memorable one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Levi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Like Carlsberg I don't do reviews, but if I did it would read something like this:
If you are expecting a 4 star hotel do not come to this hotel.
If you are expecting a modern hotel that is not in need of an extensive update then do not come to this hotel.
If you are a fussy eater do not come to this hotel, you will go hungry.
If you like access to snacks all day do not come to this hotel, snack bar very limited opening hours.
If you like a nice, modern, clean pool that is a reasonable size with easy access then do not come to this hotel.
If you are unsteady on your feet take extreme care on the side paths around the hotel they are poorly maintained and are broken or very uneven.
If you are expecting to use the sister hotels and do not wish to pay for food and drink then do not come to this hotel.
If you like a nice speciality restaurant don't come to this hotel. Worst environment and food I have had in any hotel. Avoid the steak unless you need your shoes repairing...not only was it un chewable, it was un-cutable. We were not unlucky with our meal as others had simmilar experiences.

The main (and only) dining room is crammed and server area is small and like a school or medium business canteen.
You often have to cue for the food but by the time you reach the food often it has been emptied by the many hoarding north African guests. which the hotels seems to be now mainly catering for.
Salads are quality and poor choice, unusual food choices on servery, soups very average, the staff are hard working but management poor. Windows not cleaned in months, typically - unserviceable toaster not replaced for over a week, complaints over the horrendous food and service for the new year eve meal arrogantly rebuffed and ignored.
The outdoor pool is one of the poorest pools I have ever seen in any standard of hotel. It is small, has some strange raised lip around the edge with a significant drop to the water meaning that the only sensible way to enter it is via old unstable metal ladders.
Indoor pool is smelly and shabby. The wellness (sauna) area is in need of a complete update and does not provide a relaxing experience.
Reception staff or maintenance poor - typically - requests for TV retuning ignored despite reminders.
Generally the hotel entertainment areas are too small and the entertainment a lot lame so take cards etc.
Entertainment staff do the minimum required, repeated requests to get the volleyball out for a game were ignored.
The hotel has been poorly maintained. Typically, bathroom "80's" tiles poorly grouted and woodwork repainting covering tiles, many paths not maintained correctly and are dangerous.
On the plus side the cleaning staff and waiters are hard working (undermanned) especially if tipped.
The gardens are nice, the Sousse beach is pretty and the view from room over the bay good.

Overall the hotel is in need of complete update and rework of the site. Rather than providing the absolute basics in terms of cuisine and dining experience, it needs to offer a far wider food choice at a higher standard in superior surroundings (main restaurant v.poor and should have a purpose built speciality restaurant rather than sharing it with the snack bar). We will not be returning to this hotel and I will challenge the 4 star ratings given by our tour operator. We asked for change of hotel after the first days, we were offered an "upgrade" to 3star hotels that were better, but would have had to pay an additional GBP300 to 400. But the fact that we were offered upgrades to 3 star hotels by our rep speaks volumes on the current state of this hotel! Of the positive reviews, they cannot have been to "real" 4 star hotels or are "friendly" with the hotel and staff.
It should be downgraded to somewhere between 2 and 3 stars to reflect the overall standard or complete update quickly carried out.
You have been warned.

Room Tip: Insist on bay view on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FevsNr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.9 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
0.2 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Beach Hotel

Property: Marhaba Beach Hotel
Address: Boulevard 7 Novembre | Zone Touristique, Sousse 4031, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#2 Family Hotel in Sousse
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marhaba Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marhaba BeachLocated in Sousse and 3 km away from Port El Kantaoui resort, between the white sands and crystal clear waters of the Mediterranean Sea, the Marhaba Beach has been created in the 80’s.His creators have established a contemporary and Moorish interiors of some suites … An ideal place for soaking up the sun of Tunisia and to relax on the beach, and the advantage of having nearest a new Thalassotherapy center : Les Neréides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marhaba Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Beach Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing