We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ditch the Compound sanitised hotels be a culture vulture”
Review of Kaiser Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaiser Hotel
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Sousse
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Pleasantly surprised at Kaiser. Top value. Centrally located, long established, Sleep and a good bed are important to me. The sheets and blanket are clean. Best nights sleep We have had in years. Clean beds, towels and rooms. I was given a disabled room. Walk in shower. Most rooms have 3 beds. Yes it is a cold buffet breakfast, and repetative but its V.F.M. e.g. help yourself to home made coissants and sliced baguette (no toast) remember it is a cold buffet breakfast. Boiled eggs, tomatoes, cheese portions, onions, chicken salami , yoghurt etc. Hot Tunisian food but the Chobra soup oh boy its hot not lukewarm, by the time I had two bowls I rarely wanted my main course. e.g. turkey roulle cous cous, tajeen type meals etc. (No desert) there is a shop that sells ice creams etc When so many people are going hungry, it is ethically wrong to over indulge and waste food. Two Irish families were staying in a large hotel, and felt overwhelmed and factory type hotellier, So they kept coming to the Kaiser to eat despite being fully inclusive at theirs. They felt their hotel was impersonal. Wishing they had booked in at the Kaiser. Yes its rustic but good. What I appreciated was the quietness to just read and relax. They have a supply of multi lingual books. We will definately be returning to the Kaiser its not bedlam like some hotels, but restful with a swimming pool to the rear, and a smaller one for the children. Before you get in a taxi always AGREE a price do not demand a price but negotiate a price. Be respectful of Tunisian culture, Tunisians overall are very gracious. You see young women walking around wearing very little. I ask "Has'nt she got a mother"? If you want respect give respect. Remember at the end of a holiday we will get money at home, so share what you have, with those with nothing. A 1 Dinar tip can mean a persons child has clothes. So for that cultural intrepid culture trip, the Kaiser is V.F.M.

Room Tip: At the back it is sunny in the morning, A/C worked
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Anita190728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Coming to the Kaiser To me is like coming home I have been coming to this hotel On and off Over 15 months I always have the same room And my lovely lady Who looks after us in room 503 you get what you pay for . I Note that the breakfast Is the same every day I just wished the bread Was fresh they are 2 Waiters that if they smile they would Crack on their face. For good value for a holiday You cannot beat .

Room Tip: Get a room on the 5 / 6 view and the lady's who do your rooms are lovely can not say bout other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

this is the worst hotel ever stayed in. the breakfast is the same everyday and dinner is the same.
everyones smoking in the lobby so its not a good place for a family, and the wifi is only in the range of the lobby, and the rooms are cold, the heaters are not working, its not worth paying the price your paying for, it should be cheaper if the situations are like this, otherwise the staff are really friendly, and its in a good location.

Room Tip: never choose this hotel, coming from my experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Imran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Decent hotel for the price - fairly good location in Sousse, clean room, friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was good (we had no trouble cramming croissants). Same adage - you get what you pay for.

Shukran Kaiser Hotel!

PRO-TIP: be willing to turn people down (difficult for the British, but you've got to do it) - as "salespeople," can be extremely pushy. When haggling knock everything down to half the value and then build it back up. ALSO buy water from supermarkets and stores for your room (much cheaper than buying in restaurants or bars).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

good price, low quality. Not located by the beach. Dark and dreary lobby stinks of smoke. Not friendly receptionists. Very boring breakfast. Find cafe across the street that I can recommend. (cafe tadsj Mahal)

Room Tip: do not choose a room towards the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank istokkeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Have stayed many times in this lovely hotel, clean, cheap and very friendly, how people can have a problem with the very few staff who work there is beyond me, maybe they are the problem with their daily unacceptable activities ........

Hamdoulla

sharon x

Room Tip: sun is on the back of the hotel all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shazza51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

i do not have expensive taste that was the reason i chose this holiday.it has been a miserable one .The head waiter asked me to leave the table after finishing my meal presumably because i did not pay him tips.i complain to the representative .after that the staff became very hostile towards me.the waiter still there .i presume he is one of the relatives of the owner.it is family run hotel.I felt very lonely especially in the evening.there was no entertainment.there were very few people who can speak english

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
Thank shitan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.8 mi away
Residence Boujaafar
Residence Boujaafar
#24 of 36 in Sousse
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marhaba Beach
Hotel Marhaba Beach
#4 of 36 in Sousse
2,325 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 36 in Sousse
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#3 of 36 in Sousse
1,119 reviews
0 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel
Royal Beach Hotel
#33 of 36 in Sousse
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#17 of 36 in Sousse
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiser Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiser Hotel

Address: Blvd Taib M'hiri, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Sousse
Price Range: £9 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaiser Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, LoveHolidays and Cancelon so you can book your Kaiser Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiser Hotel Sousse
Hotel Kaiser Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing