We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money”
Review of Kaiser Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kaiser Hotel
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent value for money”
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Clean basic rooms, breakfast cheese, meat, eggs, french bread. Evening meal soup. salad, two choices of main course [beef, chicken, fish, turkey], two veg, either rice or pasta and chips, dessert icecream, fruit, yoghurt. Good value but book in UK as cheaper if booked here than in the hotel. Only problem was no green tea for breakfast or in bar - only hotel I have stayed in Tunisia not to serve it! Small area around pool to sunbathe but close enough to beach to walk in less than 5 minutes. Staff friendly and helpful. Not many 3 star hotel have a health spa so an extra luxury.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ezri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    58
    46
    22
    21
See reviews for
27
59
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We love the Kaiser! It makes me very sad when people slate this hotel. It is not a luxury hotel but for the price it is really so so good!!! Firstly it has got its own character with a wonderful set of staff. It is away from the sea front hotels and the noise associated with them, so if you are after a quieter hotel then stay here. Good choice of food at the breakfast buffet. Only a few minutes walk to the beach and good choice of restaurants near by. The beach staff are very attentive, they may fight over you! Spa facilities are good. There is a small but well stocked shop for essentials with a very helpful owner. This is a basic hotel, but its very clean and serves it purpose, I've stayed there twice and i will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank splodgebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiverton devon
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Seeing we went to this hotel on the cheap we wasnt expecting a lot, and we were right not to !
The menu was very limited for the evening meal we had a choice of 2 set meals per evening one of which was allways "chicken"
Breakfast was allways continental style mainly consisting of boiled eggs,bread ,soft cheesses and one type of cearel. Bring egg cups with you as they dont have any over there!
The pool is small at the back of the hotel and is over looked by local houses.
There are 2 bars you can use at the hotel which the locals seem to use often, There is not a great deal of choice of drinks and i thought the local beer was pretty crap!
There is a shop in the hotel but its not very well stocked and they dont sell milk, but you can get it from one next door to the hotel, if you want to make your own tea etc in your room, but bring your own travel kettle the hotel dosnt supply them!
The rooms are pretty basic but they do have a tv, the bathroom is on the small side but functunal.
There is a lot of traffic noise from the front side of the hotel which can be heard clearly from your room and if you are to the rear of the hotel you can hear the trains and the loud hailers at about 5 am as they call people to mousc !
On the upside the hotel is kept very clean, your linen is changed regulary and the staff are friendly, It is ok for a cheap holiday for a week at most, i wouldnt recomend a fortnight though.
There is not a lot for kids to do, they got the pool, a pinball machine, a pool table and an internet room but thats about it.
Like i said you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaka12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Hubbie and I stayed for 1 week in June without children. Having read the reviews on this site was expecting "budget" but was pleasantly surprised. It's not luxury but clean room, plenty of hot water even had a remote controlled TV! No kettle or fridge but we used the facilities in the hotel and didn't spend much time in our room anyway. Good location about 10 mins from beach. Breakfast was interesting! Boiled Eggs, dairylea triangles, tomatoes and onion plus french bread/pastries. Was ok considering we only paid £85 for two B&B 7 nights!! If you use the Kaiser sunbeds on the beach they ask if you'd like a sandwich from the hotel about 1pm. We didn't partake but lots of people did so assume good value (if you didn't stock up at breakfast!) Very friendly staff - Hotel pool is on the small side but has a jacuzzi and was peaceful (more quiet than the beach!). Perfect hassle free break. TIP: Hotel has a new fitness centre in the basement - Gym and Spa treatments. I had "bath and scrub", back massage and facial (plus complemenatry jacuzzi). Paid less than £60 for 2 hours - fantastic! Really added to the relaxing break."

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggiinnaa1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Me and a friend stayed in the hotel for a week in later June after reading rather mixed reviews. After this time both of us agreed - you got what you paid for and more. The hotel was clean, tidy had friendly staff, a nice pool and a decent breakfast. We only went bed and breakfast so can't really comment on the food however the rest was fine. There is a Turkish hammam in the basement where you can have a massage, haircut and various other treatments as well as a gym. Some of the rooms have a sea view (albeit over buildings) and the beach is easily walkable, they have their own little section where staff prevent too much hassling from the locals. I've no doubt there are hotels of better quality in and around Sousse, but then they would have cost much much more.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen21Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two weeks on a half board basis. The hotel is not a luxary hotel but is fantastic value for money. The rooms are a fair size with a bath/shower, toilet and sink. We had a tv and air conditioning. The food is ok with plenty of choice and variety. The rooms are cleaned every day and you get fresh towels. The pool is a little on the small side but to be honest any sun bathing we did was on the beach. The hotel is located just a 10min walk from the beach, you just walk out of the hotel, turn right and walk to the end of the road. The medina is just a 20 min walk away. The bar and restaurant down stairs are great in the evenings for relaxing if you don't want to go out. On the whole this hotel is fantatic value for money if you want to go to the beach and explore Sousse. If you are someone who stays in and around your hotel on holiday then this hotel is not for you, however if you are just using a hotel as somewhere to eat and sleep then this hotel is definatley worth considering.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennielouManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

I stayed at the Kaiser from 9 May – 16 May. At a cost of £63.89 for a ‘Double/Twin Balcony/Terrace’ room with bed and breakfast for 7 days I think you have to agree without even needing to see the room that this sounds like a superb find, a tremendous deal. And it was. First things first, reading a couple of the other reviews, some people were dismayed by the Kaiser and from my stay there I can sort of understand why. The hotel is incredibly basic BUT you’re forewarned in the price you pay. More later. To the essentials:

My room was large, spacious, airy and tastefully decorated in white and clean upon arrival. Being a double it sufficiently catered for two guests, although I was alone, with two single beds, a dressing table, two bedside tables, wardrobe, suitcase seat and a TV (no remote). The curtains were plastic although didn’t look it. The room had a balcony looking over a construction site (although most of Sousse seems to be a DIY landfill or construction site with hotels and ‘apartments’, no doubt for the tourist market, being built everywhere).

The bathroom was, again, quite big with a bath and basic mixer shower attached to the wall above the bath that was desperately in need of limescaling as the water went everywhere when turned on.

After my first night I had to get them to service my room door as the handle, lock and fittings all round were so loose that even after locking the door it still looked ajar and a sneeze would have had that front door open. When I reported this the guy at the front desk insisted that I just didn’t know how to lock the door and only sent the repair guy to ‘show me how to lock it properly’. All the screws were eventually sufficiently tightened so that I could feel safe in the room and leaving the room but probably could have done with completely new fittings. This is something you should check for.

Another problem was when I returned to my room after my first day exploring Sousse is that I had to report that the bath had not been cleaned from my morning’s shower and the floor throughout the bathroom and bedroom had not been mopped. These were the only incidents and for the remaining 6 days the room and bathroom were cleaned to a satisfactory standard.

The self service buffet breakfast was rather simple but superb value with French bread, a salad of tomatoes and spring onions (you have to try the Tunisian tomatoes, they are amazing, they actually have taste, flavour. Shocking!!), Danone yogurts and Presidents soft cheese triangle spread, cereal and boiled eggs (Tunisians love their eggs) and of course the obligatory tea, coffee and a choice of 2 soft drinks. This was breakfast every morning (although there may also have been some reconstituted ‘meat’ like substance but I don’t eat meat so didn’t register it).

If you are in Tunisia to explore the country and you’ll really only sleep and shower in the hotel, the Kaiser is perfectly fine. Very good value for money. However, if the ‘hotel experience’; the beautiful surroundings, service, room, cute bathroom goodies and minibar, remote accompanying your TV, opportunity to dress up to eat in the hotel restaurant, all otherwise known as “luxury”, is a significant part of your holiday, do not stay at the Kaiser. If you only really sleep and eat breakfast in the hotel, but perhaps do not stay out late and enjoy most of the trappings of a good hotel, even if it is just a pleasant room and attractive surroundings to come back to after a hard, long day out walking about a medina, the Kaiser also may not be for you.

It is actually word ‘hotel’ that leaves those unimpressed by the Kaiser so disappointed. Think ‘Kaiser- luxury hostel’ and you’ll be closer to the mark as to what to expect with no disappointment because this is exactly what it feels like and really is.

No part of the hotel in my experience felt like a hotel, the atmosphere and clientele said hostel. The communal areas were quite neglected and worn, the large concrete staircase (which you actually never have to use and aren’t really expected to use but I like to work my legs) was home to chunks of stone and rubble for the length of my stay and the reception from the staff on at the helpdesk typically ranged from indifferent to rude with the exception of just the one man who always greeted my collecting or handing in my room key with a pleasant smile.

The corridors and hallways where the rooms were were very impersonal and not at all attractive; they looked much like the hallway of a block of council flats.

The communal area where the Hotel bar was again felt like that you would find in a hostel and the often rowdy and haggard guests added to the atmosphere of hostel.

I wouldn't reccommend to most of my friends because they like their luxury but to an explorer like myself, definately.

I believe I got tremendous value for money and have no regrets, but the key word for this accommodation is hostel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lushberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.1 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Boujaafar
Residence Boujaafar
#22 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Faracha
Hotel El Faracha
#25 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Marabout Hotel
Le Marabout Hotel
#15 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.8 mi away
Karawan Beach & Resort
Karawan Beach & Resort
#31 of 35 in Sousse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiser Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiser Hotel

Property: Kaiser Hotel
Address: Blvd Taib M'hiri, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaiser Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kaiser Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiser Hotel Sousse
Hotel Kaiser Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing