We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orient Palace Hotel
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Reviewed 7 April 2013

A luxury hotel with friendly helpful staff, spacious well equipped rooms, excellent food, clean beach. Only inconvenience, apart fro the restaurants, people are free to smoke in all the public spaces, however this is true throughout the country.
Sousse is a great place with lots of things to do and within easy reach of many other great places in the country.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for the sort of room you want, in our case a double on the top floor with sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Th0masHillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

We just got back after spending a week at the hotel. By all accounts there is very little I can fault, as any issued we were dealt with immediately Whilst it was a quiet time of the year as far as occupancy was concerned at the hotel, we experienced a high level of service, the indoor pool was a bonus and finally the meals were excellent, perhaps not to everyone's taste. The facilities it offers is excellent, the internet is free,the area surrounding the hotel is well maintained and the beach was clean. What more do you want.

Room Tip: Worth pay the extra for sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bridgepartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Is a very nice and big hotel , with club inside, cafe place, big and nice rooms, very nice garden close to the water, but , cleaning not soo good...The food was very variet and very good.
Still, remember about cleaning....
We took the trip to Sahara, a wonderful experience, but everything was so dirty , so this is the main reason to consider if I will go back in Tunisia.
If you give money around, they will treat you very wheel ;)
Remember you must negotiate everything, they will try to trick you every step...

Room Tip: Give extra money at the reception... (20 euro)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Simona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This hotel was good value for money. Our room was a decent size, clean and in good condition. The room we were first allocated did have a sea view but there was a building site between us and the sea. A polite but firm request for a change met with success and the hotel was quiet. The food wasn't great but we tried other places and they really weren't much better.

Hotel facilities were good with pleasant grounds leading to a clean strip of beach. Indoor and outdoor pools were a decent size.

The biggest problem was when a mass of Tunisians arrived for a weekend religious seminar. Their conduct left much to be desired especially when they piled their plates high with food, much of which was left uneaten. Overall we were happy with our choice of hotel.

Room Tip: Our second room overlooked the pool and sea and would be our choice location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Canteloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Whatever you do, don't go here. We are supposed to be there now, arrived on Sunday last week for Christmas all inclusive, when we arrived the hotel was full of Tunisian people and we were not allowed to go into the dining room we were told you will be better off in the snack bar, that was just the start. In the bar all that was on the tv was Tunisian news or the X factor for Tunisians, when asked if there was any English music to put on we were just answered NO. The staff were rude, not too fresh looking in appearance and we were made to feel really unwelcome. Arriving on the Sunday through to the Wednesday we did not eat a meal the food was utterly dreadful the Europeans which there were 6 of in the hotel compared to the 94 Arabs were not catered for at all, unless you like fish with heads and tails for breakfast or bolognese sauce!! We eventually had to bite the bullet and leave the all inclusive hotel and find another in port el kantoui which is much cleaner and brighter the staff are wonderful and cannot do enough for you at the hotel kanda. The Tunisian people do tend to arrive at the weekend and do seem to take over the hotel and we have seen a difference in the food since they arrived, but have managed to find a little something to eat. Shopping here is a nightmare the Tunisian shopkeepers are nothing less than rude and ignorant!!! At home if we spoke to people in the same manner we would be charged with racism. Your best bet is not to go!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank weany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

First of all this hotel is certainly not a 5* these days, though it may have been once, and can in no way be compared to the Movenpick but, like the parson’s egg, it’s good in parts and for the price I paid I really can’t complain.

The rooms are a good size with plenty of cupboard and drawer space, a table and comfortable chair and a bathroom with separate toilet. A hairdryer is provided, as are the usual toiletries and shower cap. I had ...
a problem with the shower in the first room I was given but was moved and had no further trouble. There is even a trouser press in the room, together with a fridge/mini bar (unstocked). Although the info provided in the room says you can hire a safe, my room was complete with a safety deposit box which you could lock digitally. The balcony had a wooden table and two chairs.

The food is quite good and you’ll never go hungry and even the toaster at breakfast usually works. For those on H/B the cost of drinks is quite expensive, 3 dinar for a coffee and 14 dinar for a gin or vodka and tonic (local brands) or more for imported. Much to my surprise they didn’t have fresh orange juice and the ‘squash’ was 3 dinar, though you could get freshly squeezed orange almost anywhere for between 2.5/3.5 dinars.

You do not have a dedicated table in the restaurant which means you don’t have your own waiter, so unless you are having drinks with your meal there is no need to tip. Staff are pleasant but not particularly friendly though my little chamber maid was lovely.

Smoking is only allowed in the 2 bars, one of which is only open in the evenings and the other which invariably has the TV on full blast with either football or pop which appears to be more for the locals than the paying guests.

There was no actual entertainment but on a few evenings there was music in one of the bars. With few guests the hotel lacked atmosphere but unfortunately this seems to be true of many places in Tunisia at present, though I heard that a couple of other hotels were fuller.

The whole hotel is in dire need of refurbishment but is kept clean, as are the grounds, which go right down to the beach. The toilets always smelled fresh and had adequate supplies of toilet paper, soap and paper towels as well as the usual air hand-dryer

To sum up, I wouldn’t mind staying there again though it wouldn’t be my first choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aslemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

I was put here on a business trip - and maybe it was the time of year (November), but this hotel really is shabby, with no atmosphere and really poor food. It's also a long way from the centre of Tunis. The rooms, while clean, are shoddy - holes in carpet, locking system doesn't work properly, no plugs for chargers etc. The reception is tacky, breakfast is awful and re restaurant has no choice. As I say, this could have been due to off season - but the hotel seemed busy enough. On the plus side, the staff were helpful and nice. The prices aren't that reasonable in comparison to other local hotels either.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamDubberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.8 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
1.5 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#15 of 35 in Sousse
1,606 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,658 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sousse Palace
Sousse Palace
#7 of 35 in Sousse
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#4 of 35 in Sousse
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Palace Hotel

Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4051, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range: £22 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orient Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the great pleasure to invite you to discover our Hotel Orient Palace Resort & Spa, located on a beautiful sandy beach, 3 km from the famous Port Kantaoui, and 05 km from the center of Sousse, close to entertainment centers, and larger shopping centers ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orient Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orient Palace
Orient Palace Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing