We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All inclusive at the Orient Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Orient Palace Hotel
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“All inclusive at the Orient Palace”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A beautiful hotel as you enter through the foyer,with an amazing chandelier. Desk staff were polite and seem to look after the eastern europeans before anyone else think this was down to the latter being bad mannered and impolite.

We were all inclusive and to be perfectly honest the food was not up to the standard we had become accustomed to and we found that many times food ran out cutelry was not always available and some of the food was recycled from lunch time.
we always had a look in before decideing to stay or eat out some days it wasn't too bad but not exceptional. There were complaints against the standard of the food and as i stated sometimes it wasn;t to bad. breakfasts were ok but there was large queues for the omelettes.
The al a carte night food was horrendous and most people walked out i counted at least 12.
There is a little restaurant on the complex which makes pizza and baguettes at a very reasonable price with 20% off for all inclusive guests.

The entertainment team although very enthuisiastic were awful there was alack lustre river dance and 2 comedy sketches which were abysmal,

During the day they hosted a well turned out pool aerobics.

Rooms were spotlessly clean and well maintained overall the holiday is very nice but if they got the food right it would be exceptional. one thing the rooms would benefit from would be to have a few more TV channels as ther was only bbc world news and a film channel.

The bar staff and waiters work exceptional hard and were often abused by the eastern europeans which was annoying,
taxis into el kantoue were reasonable expect to pay 5Dinars to the port and around 8 dinars to get back as it goes through a one way system.

Ther is not much around the hotel apart from the Marina at the port,this is decent area where you can barter wine and dine and basically have a nice relaxing afternoon or evening. The square opposit the marina is also quite lively with a fair graound for the children

went a trip to the Zoo with a meal at el shaba which was fantastic as there were south african dancers/singers and tunisian dancers taking it turns to entertain us in a lovely venue within the Zoo, food was good only you had to help your self and if you were on a table with strangers i found it a bit awkward.

the Zoo its self was a little concerning as most of the animals seemed to be going stir crazy and overall it was a bit tired looking.

Weather for time year was lovely with a few hours rain on the first day.

drinks were fine the local beer was not to bad and the spirits were fine.

Room Tip: we had a sea view and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    164
    135
    85
    147
See reviews for
201
229
53
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We chose this hotel because of its private beach and 5 stars rank. It was my first trip to Tunisia so I did not know what to expect. I was told they have their own standards and... it's true. Remember, 5 stars in Tunisia IS NOT like in Europe. It's more like 2 or 3. So, my first impression of this hotel wasn't the best, but overall, it wasn't that bad either (after I got learned the everyday rituals of living in this hotel).

PROS:
- safe is in the room, included in its price, no deposit
- private beach, not big, but you can get there straight from the hotel area
- 2 swimming pools - one outside, one indoors with heated water
- close to the Sousse center
- beach attractions eg.

CONS:
- only one regular restaurant
- constant lack of cutlery and glass in the restaurant - you have to ask and wait
- you have to wait in a long queue to get food
- tablecloths were not that clean
- too few restaurant staff

TIPS:
- make sure to get ALL INCLUSIVE with 3 meals and free drinks - if you think you can live with just 2 meals a day, you'll sure need to drink lots of liquids and not worry to pay for it
- if you want to take taxi to Sousse or El Kantaoui - take it outside the hotel. 5DNT is ok to pay, although they'll ask 8DNT
- remember to take your own first-aid kit eg. with some medicines acting on gastrointestinal tract
- you can take some colorful pens you don't need - it's considered a nice souvenir
- currency: if you have Euro or Dollars you can exchange it for Tunisian dinars in the hotel. Remember, you cannot take it with you when leaving the country, so make sure you exchange it back BUT it is possible to do at the airport
- nudism at the beach is forbidden
- there are 3 restaurants a la carte - oriental, tunisian and italian. Make a reservation at the reception desk, at least 24h before the dinner. There's a limited number of space. Italian is the most wanted one

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aigneis83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The rooms were tidy.
Status of the beach: easy to reach and clean.
Accolade for the staff and the animation team: they were very friendly, cooperative and entertaining.
Special thanks to Joe and Ilyas :-)!!!
Simply excellent...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I was last week in the hotel with my family and we like to much to come back soon.Ewerything was excellent.Beach was very nice.Rooms was to much cleare,and service is nice too.We like so much animation team wich was excellent,especially gay JOE and chef ILIAS who make our holiday complitly perfect.Hope to see you next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23singi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, the air con in our room never worked we reported it twice, but no joy. We had to report our toilet faulty 4 times until they fixed it, we had a lot of trouble getting into our room they had to keep reprogramming the card.
The pool area was lovely and clean and the beach was just as good. Entertainment was the same old stuff very day, they tried there best to keep us entertained.
This hotel was being advertised as 5 stars, it's more like 3 star.
Finally the food in this hotel is disguising not fit for dogs, they don't cater for the English they seem to cater more for the Russians, and Germans who don't seem to know had to queue they push and shove there way to the front very rude and arrogant people.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sousse hotels

Dalkeith, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I left this hotel yesterday at 5.30pm. I can honestly say that neither myself or my friend were happy to leave as we had the time of our lives! Every Tunisian person who spoke to us were charming. This included the reception who were very helpful on arrival, the waiters both in the restaurant and the all inclusive bar, the lovely cleaners who did an excellent job and gave us clean towels whenever we needed them and also the animation (entertainment) team. Sexy Joe, Alias and Selem were very entertaining and very friendly. They all did a great job and there was something for everyone from morning to night and all age groups were catered for too.
Before we left for the Orient Palace I had read some terrible reviews on tripadvisor but had decided to make the best of our bad choice of accomodation. I am so glad I did. It really was the best holiday we have ever had and between us Julie and I have been on quite a few!!
The food was tasty and presented well. I did hear one Russian man complaining to the waiter on my second day. Ironically this did not stop him or his company from being first in the queue every single mealtime and filling their tables to the brim with food and alcohol for the rest of the week!!!
We lay at the pool looking at the sea and vice versa, it was paradise. I could lay in my bed in my room and see the sea, it is really ideallic. The bar men and waiters were excellent too, especially Salem and the team who worked the evening shift, nothing was ever a bother to any of them.
My friend and I have no complaints what's so ever about our time at Orient Palace, please ignore ignorant people. I was very impressed with what we got for our money, it certainly was a fair deal and I am already making plans to go back. Happy holiday, go for the boat trip that Fateh and Ali are selling within the hotel. We did and it was a great experience, we had great fun. We just wish that we had booked up for longer as Tunisia is such a beautiful country we could have done so much more if we had time. We absolutely loved our holiday!!!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room, it's beautiful. We could watch water sports from our balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oradea, Bihor, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My experience was an excellent one, full of sensations due to the professional team of animators, who make an extraordinary effort that visitors feel very well starting from kids, teens, ladies, in a word for all ages. Their program starts in the morning and ends late at night to fall tourists fatigue. Conditions in the hotel are good, plenty of food and good bartenders instead move about slowly.
Greetings from Romania!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
1.0 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,608 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,008 reviews
0.8 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.0 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel
Royal Beach Hotel
#33 of 35 in Sousse
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Palace Hotel

Property: Orient Palace Hotel
Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4051, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Orient Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the great pleasure to invite you to discover our Hotel Orient Palace Resort & Spa, located on a beautiful sandy beach, 3 km from the famous Port Kantaoui, and 05 km from the center of Sousse, close to entertainment centers, and larger shopping centers ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Orient Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orient Palace
Orient Palace Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing