We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I just got back today from a week at this hotel. I'm still trying to get over having breakfast in Africa but now watching the rain out of my window in miserable England.

Arrived at the hotel after a bit of a delay as our coach broke down. Not the hotel or Thomas Cook's fault but was sorted relatively quickly anyway. Warmly greeted at the door and given a little form to fill in and a mint tea (a new vice of mine.)

We were waiting about 2 hours for our room to be ready even though I kept being told "Please 10 minutes." Although the staff did seem genuinely distressed about it and the manager was kicking right off at someone over the phone because of it. So I won't hold it against them.

Was a bit confused at first as I think they could do with a little booklet for each room which explains the services available to you and how things work on all inclusive as a few things arn't really that clear to you. e.g you have to give a little coupon out of a book they give you at the bar for a bottle of water.

The only other gripe I have was the sales people on Hotel grounds trying to sell you excursions on a pirate boat or something. They had "Hotel El Ksar" name tags on and were clearly on hotel properly without being moved on so I have no doubt they were sanctioned by the hotel but they did leave you alone after a polite no thanks.

Onto the good then. Great food, all you can eat, lots of choice including desserts! Free bar, cocktails, coffees, teas on tap. They even put out little cakes for afternoon tea. Hotel was very clean, maid service everyday. She walked in on us twice which was a little awkward (Not in that way. Girlfriend was reading and I was watching TV) So we just let her get on with it.

99 percent of the staff were very friendly. A couple came off a bit cold but I think that's just a by product of having to understand a different language thrown at you every 5 minutes which they deal with amazingly well. Had no problems being understood.

Outside pools and beach were very clean and nice looking.

They have a little shop in the reception which sells stamps and postcards but not much choice of anything else. Take a little stroll outside the hotel and you'll find alot more shops anyway.

Safety deposit boxes cost 2 dinars a day but would reccommend for keeping your valuables safe. I kept my phone, wallet, money and travel documents in there no problems all week.

In conclusion if you're after a really nice hotel and don't want to worry about feeding yourself go all inclusive here. I don't think it's the best if you're the type that just stays in the hotel all the time but me and my girlfriend only really were in the hotel for meals so the other services weren't that important to us.

Room Tip: Best views seem to be on the corners. We had a sea view but not a very good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    365
    190
    126
    135
See reviews for
389
376
41
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

It wouldn't be fair to give this hotel a 'terrible' rating, however it doesn't warrant an 'excellent'. Personally, this hotel should be rated as a 3 star not 4 star. I'm a well travelled person and I do know the difference of quality and just poor standards/management.
On arrival to this hotel, we were place in 2 adjoining rooms which both smelt of paint. The carpet outside the rooms were covered in paint and dust. The corridors were poorly lit. I approached the reception staff and asked if we could be moved. He replied that the hotel was full and there was no other rooms available. I pointed out to him for health & safety this was unacceptable and asked to see a Manager. He told me that there was no Manager on duty, however he could change one room. He kept saying just take the room and you can then speak with your Rep. I refused this and then by magic he had 2 rooms available.......which we moved into. The following morning the Guest Services Lady Mme Inmes approached myself in the reception area stating that she was informed that we were not happy with the rooms. I explained to her all about last night and how we had eventually changed rooms. She did confirm that one side of the building was having renovations and the rooms had just been painted a week ago. She asked us to return back in an hour and she would sort the rooms. She certainly did work her magic as we got 2 nice adjoining rooms. To be truthfully she made our stay at the hotel more experiencable by sorting other issues out for us. The TCX Rep Marina was also excellent...she certainly knows her stuff and has a lot of pulling power in the hotel.
The food was much to be desired. At breakfast you will mainly be eating eggs...more eggs....omelettes. They do freshly baked pastries, ie croissants, pain au chocolate etc. There are other delicacy for breakfast, ie cauliflower, potatoes!!!!!!! If you like oranges, you'll be in your element as that is the only fruit you will see on the buffet.
The Entertainment Team are excellent, they really do their best to make your stay enjoyable. Helmi was our favourite.
Hotel facilities...the WiFi is NOT free as stated in the hotel room brochure. The gym equipment was either broken or out of use. There is an external Spa which is situated at the side of the hotel, however you have to pay for the services.....but you certainly will see and compare the difference to the Spa that is available within the hotel.
Overall, the holiday was a holiday to remember with all the issues we experienced, ie food, sickness, rooms. I certainly wouldn't return to this hotel until all the issues are sorted.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foxxy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

went end of march to this hotel and will be going back in the near future,nothing was a problem
to the people who worked there,and the animation crew are the hardest working team i've ever seen in a hotel, they put in 100% they seem to be happy in their work all the time.the hotel rooms were very spacious and was cleaned every day.there's also an indoor pool which was like getting in a bath,the hotel is on the beach and there's a nice little bar to get your drinks.you will never go hungry no matter how picky you are with food as theres plenty of choices,the cakes are to die for,(ate far to many).The hotel's all-inclusive is u
ntil 12 but there is a disco that starts at 9-30pm and the all-inclusive drinks goes on until 2am.
there is plenty of entertainment in the disco,a lot done by the animation team but very well done and there is outside entertainment brought in twice weekly

Room Tip: your bags are taken to your room by a porter but they will take £1 coins as a tip so theres no probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thornhill, dumfriesshire
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My friend, her son and i went to this hotel for two weeks at the end of March beginning of April 2012. Having been to tunisia 6 times before we would have to say that this hotel is the best we have visited so far. It was very clean and staff were extremley polite and helpful. Pools were cleaned daily and the beach was kept tidy.

We enjoyed taking part in daytime activities with the Animation team. Who never seemed to stop working amd made our holiday much more enjoyable. The evening entertainment was good especially the two cabaret shows per week.

Marina the Thomas Cook rep was excellent and always seemed to be available to speak too and sort out issues.

Having one vegetarian in the group she only struggled a couple of times to find something to eat. freshly made pancakes and omlettes are available at breakfast. Freshly made pizzas and pasta available at dinner times. Our waiter always had our table ready for us with the rose wine on the table. Sometimes meal times were hectic and crazy due to rudeness of other hotel guests and not a fault of hotel

Waulid our poolside waiter / bar man worked hard, was a great laugh and always kept our glasses topped up.

While there we went on a few trips, El Djem and mosaics is worth visiting, Pirate ship is a fun couple of hours out. We went on Medina ramble with a guide which is good if you are unsure of going yourself but we also went on our own and didn't find it to daunting.

Big thanks to Mike and Zico for Archery we had great fun and Mimi for all her hard work at Kids Club.and the rest of animation team for making us smile.

While ther the temperature did get to around 26 degrees and we felt it was unfair the animation staff were forced to continue wearing there hooded sweatshirts and sweat pants while doing there jobs.
Corinna, Shelley and Anesu

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corinna_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

my friend & i went for a week two single ladies..we teamed up with about 10 other brits and some polish guests we had a great holiday..the hotel was like a second home,drinks when u wanted,plenty of choice in restaurants..u could come and go without any hassle..we were in the hotel club til closing every nite and visited the local clubs a couple of nites..the staff were very nice and friendly and the animation team worked their socks off..soooo glad we visited,it was the fun break we needed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This was very good holiday. The staff were helpful. The accommodation clean. Very close to the beach. This was an all inclusive holiday and the food was of very good quality if a little unimaginative. Excellent for veggies and people who like desserts. It has to be said that the desserts were wonderful!!
The a la carte restaurant did not live up to its claims but the customer liason lady was on the ball and I am sure that this aspect will improve.

Room Tip: The rooms to the right as you enter the hotel do not get much if any sun so there is not much point...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed here for a week and had an absolutely wonderful holiday. weather wasnt the warmest but there was a heated indoor pool, there was also a sauna and steam room all under the all inclusive package. the staff were all really welcoming and helpful the entertainment team were very good and Marina the thomas cook rep was both friendly and helpful. we WILL be going back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eunice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.4 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.5 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 35 in Sousse
969 reviews
0.7 mi away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#15 of 35 in Sousse
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso

Property: Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier | Khezama, Sousse 4051, Tunisia (Formerly Hotel El Ksar)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso 4*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the magic and mystery of the Mediterranean Sea El Ksar Resort & Thalasso is located on a private sandy beach surrounded by generous gardens. The hotel offers plenty of activities such as mini golf, bridge, table tennis, Volleyball, tennis, shooting centre, jungle park, four outdoor pools, one indoor pool and many more. The beautiful yacht port “Port El Kantaoui” is only a few kilometers away.Featuring 552 comfortable and elegant rooms, junior suites and 1 presidential suite, inlcuding family rooms which interconnect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karthago El Ksar Sousse
Karthago El Ksar Hotel Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing