We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall impressed, standard all inclusive hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overall impressed, standard all inclusive hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I went to El Ksar from 26 June to 3 July 2012 with my partner for our anniversary. We booked a sea view room with Thomas Cook and received a fantastic view. The rooms were good, a very decent size with a larger than normal double bed and very spacious bedroom. Maid service was great and went over than the required levels to tidy our room.
The location on the beach is superb, the sea is overall very clean and we always managed to find a sunbed with the help of the security attendants. The main pool was always packed and the sunbeds had been taken by 8am so we went to the quieter pools which was much better- you have 4 pools to choose from.
The restaurant was the biggest let down of the hotel and both my partner and I struggled to find a variety of things to eat even though I am not fussy at all. I ended up being Veggie for most of the holiday, but I would recommend the Kebabs at the pool bar! The service was okay, nothing special and you will find that there is a very tipping culture, particularly the porters at the hotel and airport which we found a bit cheeky!
For English travellers we were very much in the minority, the hotel was full of Germans and Russians so we didnt participate in the animation, perhaps its just the time of year we went and the summer holidays will be more english people. The evening entertainment was limited, the shows were pretty poor and it took us several days to find out where the main show stage was!

Overall I was happy with our stay, I dont know if I would go back again as I like to travel to other places however I would recommend it as a good standard Tunisian hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    363
    189
    126
    133
See reviews for
379
369
41
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Hotel is clean and is being spruced up (painting e.t.c) but none of the improvements affected our holiday .
Food was lovely , loads of choice , bread, pizza, pastries freshly cooked and taste so much nicer than shop brought ones .
staff friendly helpful and polite, they did not expect tips just happy with please and thankyou which some other nationalities seem not to use!
The beach is lovely and the sea is so warm and recommend parasailing its so much cheeper than other countries.
We booked a boat trip with the captain you will see him in his captains hat near the pool much cheeper than booking through the rep .
we had a brilliant holiday and would definatley reccommend this hotel.

Room Tip: the hotel is being improved from the lower floor up we were on the 3rd floor and the hall way was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojohnsonmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Beautifully designed Hotel, really excellent food with loads of choice. from soups to desserts. Fantastic staff and very friendly and helpful. The animation team could have been more interactive with more of their own entertainment in the evenings but through the day they were very good. Made some great new friends while I was there and we still are in touch and meet up now we are home again. Tunisia feels like my second home and I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilabeila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

These Hotel ist not bad.
But for so much money like this.... My experience was much higher.
The Poolchairs has been destroyed, the ways and the garden was dirty. It smells like.... in different areas in the Garden.
The Food was ok, but it can be much better.
Rooms in the first floor are full of regional animals, so we get a room in floor 4. That was much better.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less animal population.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timon500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

what a holiday it was . we were there may/june had a ball as they say in glasgow. the staff were fantastic and the food was great plenty of things nobody would need to go without. the beach was brill we done every water sport you could name,and the entertainment team were at the pool giving us a great time. we found value for money that good that we are going back next year. big thank you to marina our thomas cook rep she was simply the best.

Room Tip: any all the rooms look good we were ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

lovely hotel bar and amination saff was amazing food not to bad pool looked lovely but didn't go in as it was to cold lol beach was brill private and clean over all hotel was fantastic just ashame when we was there they was doing building work and had a film crew in hotel making a film which they was vey rude just glad we didn't take our 11 year old child there but would not go again as there is nothing out side the hotel you have to travel

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donna027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Neither my wife or I had ever been to north Africa before so we didn't know what to expect. When we arrived we were very pleasantly surprised, the hotel itself looks magnificent from the outside and when you go inside to the reception area its even better with its Moorish architecture. We found all the staff very polite and helpful including from the man who did our room everyday to the 'fat controller' who kept the bar area running like clockwork. The rooms were more than adequate the pool area's nice and clean, the hotel's beach area very good, and the restaurants great with a very good selection on offer every day. I expected to be 'bothered' a bit by locals trying to flog things to me if I ventured outside the hotel complex but found it disappointing that the hotel turned a blind eye to them doing it inside the hotel complex albeit on a relatively small scale. Would I go back to this hotel or recommend to others YES DEFINITELY loved it. The mint tea on the balcony is the best I've ever tasted.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the bungalows a short walk from the main hotel building and found it very peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.4 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sousse Palace
Sousse Palace
#12 of 35 in Sousse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.4 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso

Property: Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier | Khezama, Sousse 4051, Tunisia (Formerly Hotel El Ksar)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso 4*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the magic and mystery of the Mediterranean Sea El Ksar Resort & Thalasso is located on a private sandy beach surrounded by generous gardens. The hotel offers plenty of activities such as mini golf, bridge, table tennis, Volleyball, tennis, shooting centre, jungle park, four outdoor pools, one indoor pool and many more. The beautiful yacht port “Port El Kantaoui” is only a few kilometers away.Featuring 552 comfortable and elegant rooms, junior suites and 1 presidential suite, inlcuding family rooms which interconnect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karthago El Ksar Sousse
Karthago El Ksar Hotel Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing