We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% fine”
Review of Royal Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“100% fine”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

To anyone who is being put off by the terrible reviews on this site, think again!
I stayed at the royal beach from 9th-16th august with my boyfriend and we really enjoyed it. I think when people see that its a 3 star, they expect luxury. but no, its not but instead it is a perfectly nice clean hotel. we had a room with a view of the pool and the beach, which was lovely.

All of the staff were really friendly, welcoming and helpful, and I was especially impressed to find that the bartender spoke a range of different languages besides french and arabic, so anyone would feel at home.

as for the "stealing maids" we had absolutely no problems, they purely did their job (cleaning) and they did a very good job of it too!

Didn't ever try the food as it didn't look great, but there are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance, in the medina or port el kantaoui.

Private beach was beautiful & clean, sun bed man was really friendly.

I would definitely reccommend this hotel for a budget holiday for young people!

Room Tip: as for a sea view :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nimi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    69
    43
    34
    52
See reviews for
47
82
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I went to this hotel twice and would have gone back a third time except there was building going on next door. It was right on the beach and was so homely and felt safe there. i travelled there the first time with my 3 daughters and felt so safe even though we were 4 females in a Muslim country, it had the best mix of culture and package holiday with sun and sea It was also great value.I really must go back again.

Room Tip: roooms to the front are definitely best looking straight out into the Mediterranean sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doolinaccomodation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Hotel not up to much, it is just ok! food disgusting disgusting disgusting i got food poisoning on our third day there, need i say more! I got clothes even pants stollen, they must have been desperate to steal underwear, just stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxymcstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sousse hotels

M/c
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed here a while back but wasnt on trip advisor then. All in all a dump with dangerous balconies and cots, terrible food, thieving maids who even sh** in our toilet and left foot prints on the toilet seat. We were a party of three, two adults and our baby son but we grouped with everyone else who arrived on the same transfer. Thanks to one persistent older lady we all got moved in a group to golf residence in Port El Kantaoui. What a total contrast. Had the move never have taken place we wouldn't have returned to Tunisia. Last year we went to the El Mouradi port hotel but that was dated and I got sick for six days plus we were robbed of Crocs and things. This has never happened at the golf res' and we have been there six times. Booked in for this year too. Only went to the El Mouradi because the Golf res' was fully booked. Royal beach was a total let down and would have put us off Tunisia for good. Its not even in a nice or handy spot. Try the golf if you liked the royal beach and you wont be disappointed. I'm not on about five star luxury of course but for a cheap break you get your moneys worth at the Golf in my opinion and definately dont at the Royal beach. pajoby

Room Tip: Go to the golf res' instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pajoby2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We have stayed here 2 times in total.

its clean and basic! food is lovely but the resturant is abit small and cramped.
We have always stayed in decembers so havent used the pool/bath tub..

The resturant in the bar offers a British menu which was lovely!!

i think we paid 50 pound to upgrade to half board from bed and breakfast.

entertainemnt was nothing but you can expect that from a hotel of its size. the rep was friendly and done everything to our standards good.

The second stay last year well the balcony was as big as my house at home lol! we had a front balcony and a side balcony. room was fine door didnt open properly though.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tunisialover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

we have stayed here 5 times i have written a review but ccant find it . it may not be the best hotel but its the one were they know and remember you the second and third time you got driinks brrought to you and so on. we have stayed in hamment and i must say the men there are so rude and nasty were here they have known of it we have also stayed in the tej . we would love to come and visit you next year lauren

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren221292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I just spent a week at the Hotel Royal Beach I should have a room with sea view, but got a room on the side of the hotel and only when I complained I got it right one.the cleaning was very poor both in rooms, common areas, Resturent unclean glasses in the bar. even the sand on the beach was filled with waste, the only good thing was the weather.
the all inclusive food was too bland, the same every day almost

I think Souss is a nice place but choose another hotel

Room Tip: dont stay in 415 -417 the aircondision engien for the hole hotel is right abow and makes alot of no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E-laulund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Boujaafar
Residence Boujaafar
#22 of 35 in Sousse
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#18 of 35 in Sousse
885 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marhaba Salem
Marhaba Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,008 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Marabout Hotel
Le Marabout Hotel
#15 of 35 in Sousse
456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beach Hotel

Property: Royal Beach Hotel
Address: Blvd 14 Novembre, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Beach Official category: 3,5 stars The ,,Royal Beach" is a fully airconditioned and well-maintained hotel under international management and with great tradition in Sousse, perfectly located on a white sandy private beach, one of the most beautiful beach sections in the whole area. The hotel is a ,,16+" - hotel (minimum age of the hotel guests is 16 years). 1 Km to the centre of Sousse (unesco world cultural heritage), 4 km to the marina of port el kantaoui, 17 km to the airport Monastir, 45 km to the airport Enfidha,160 km to the capital Tunis. Beautiful and private large white sandy beach in front of the hotel, a lot of restaurants and shops in walking distance. 4 Km to the golf course of port el kantaoui (reduced green-fees for hotel guests and transport service on demand). Hotel facilities & restaurants: Comfortable lobby with sitting-areas, 24 hour-reception (safes to rent), concierge-service & guest relation, currency-exchange, excursion service and car rental. Accepted credit cards: visa, mastercard, american express. Elevator. Mini-market, laundry and jewelery store, dvds and cds for rent. Wifi-internet (complimentary). Main-restaurant ,,Le Royal" (non-smoking) with wonderful panoramic view, italian a-la-carte restaurant ,,Le Medaillon" with panorama-terrace, french gourmet restaurant ,,Le Vintage", snack-restaurant ,,Mario's", pizzeria-barbecue at the pool, beach-club-restaurant ,,Las Vegas" at the beach, english pub ,,Babylone" with live-music, professional Karaoke and football and- sports-coverage on big screen, ,,JET-bar" (open 24 hours), moorish coffee with shisha pipes. Leisure, sports and entertainment: swimming pool with sunbathing terrace and beverage service at the pool, indoor pool (heated in winter), beach-club (complimentary sunbeds, matrasses and parasols at the pool and at the beach), towels for hire. Wellness-facilities including beauty-salon, hairdresser, massage, health-treatments, ,,fish massage" at the beach and hammam (additional charge). Tennis (complimentary, tennis-lessons, equipment and flood-light for additional charge), table tennis, bowls, darts, aerobics, gymnastics, yoga, aquagym, water-polo, beach-soccer, beach-volleyball, billard-table. Watersports-station at the beach, motorbike and- quadrental, horse-riding (local offers). Discrete daytime entertainment & international evening-entertainment-programs with live-music, tunisian folklore, belly-dancing and karaoke. Leisure park and zoo (local offers). Ladies-special: cooking-courses in tunisian cuisine and basic courses in arabic language. Golfer's special: reduced green-fees at the golf courses of port el kantaoui and monastir and organized transport to the golf-courses (on demand). The Rooms: 127 rooms in an architectoral interesting 4 storey-building, all rooms have been recently renovated and refreshed. Doubleroom Standard (1-3 persons): Decorated in traditional arabic style, bathroom with bathtub and toilet, indivdual aircondition/heating, minibar, lcd-sat-tv, dvd-player, telephone, WIFI-internet (complimentary) Doubleroom Superior: Additional bathrobe, hairdryer, lateral or direct seaview Doubleroom Royal Class: Like the superior rooms, but with inroom-safe (complimentary), a balcony with direct seaview and VIP-treatment Royal Executive-Suites: Decorated in traditional arabic style, bathroom with bathtub, hairdryer and bathrobe, separate toilet, comfortable living room with sat-tv and individual aircondition, telephone, in-room-safe (complimentary) sleeping room with lcd-sat-tv, dvd-player, minibar, WIFI-internet (complimentary), VIP-treatment Single rooms are double rooms for single use. Halfboard plus (including dine-around-concept): Breakfast buffet with fresh egg dishes, donuts and fresh fruit and vegetable juices, late-riser-breakfast till 12.00, ,,Champaign-brunch" every sunday. Crepes and ice-cream every day between 15.30 - 16.30 Around the pool (complimentary). Dine-around-concept: dinner in the hotel's main restaurant (buffet for starters, main-course selection (including vegetarian option) and dessert-selection, table-service), dining options at the italian a-la-carte restaurant, at the french gourmet restaurant, at the pizzeria-barbecue, at the english pub and at the beach-club-restaurant (weekly and complimentary, reservation) The hotel is known for its excellent cuisine and the wide range of choices. ,,ROYAL BEACH 9" - bonus especially for YOUR clients: welcome-drink and a refreshing towel on arrival early check-in, late check-out (if available) complimentary upgrade to a higher room-category (if available) 24 hours - roomservice weekly excursion to the historic centre of sousse (unesco world cultural heritage) complimentary hammam (weekly) water and a basket of fruits at the room on arrival weekly ,,jet2cocktail-party" in the hotel garden weekly ,,jet2beach-party" with djs at the beach-club-restaurant The hotel Royal Beach is one of the leading hotels in tunisia and offers everything, that you need for memorable holidays: central but also calm location with a marvellous beach, superior equipment and facilities, excellent cuisine, various options for sports and entertainment and a competent and friendly staff under european management. With its ,,over 16" concept and many other options like ,,dining-around", the ,,royal beach 9" bonuses and the international entertainment programs the hotel Royal Beach is especially the perfect place for couples and for people, that look for classy holidays for a well-affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Beach
Royal Beach Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing