We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap for a reason”
Review of Royal Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Beach Hotel
Ranked #34 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap for a reason”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Thought we were getting a good deal but as they say you get what you pay for!
Hotel wasn't greatly clean, staff not very helpful. They are geared up more for tunisian/french visitors. We asked to exchange money three days in a row and each morning we were told the
money was on its way! Buffet breakfast/dinner not what I call a buffet, choice of 3-4 different things and if you came towards the end of serving not much left and no more would be coming out.
Only good points is that hotel is right on beach and location is good, you are close to a lot.
In the end we had to shell out a bit more money and enjoy a much better hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mowen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael G, Manager at Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
thanks for your opinion. we are constantly trying to improve our services, but as you said, we can'toffer 5 star quality for a 3 star price. i hope that you profited at least from the beautiful beach and other positive options at our hotel and we would wish, that you come back next time to see our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    68
    43
    34
    52
See reviews for
46
82
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Me and my boyfriend had the opportunity to spend two weeks in July at Royal Beach Hotel in Sousse.
The journey was arranged by a tourist agency. And all in all, our stay was great and we hope to come to the same hotel next year, but probably on our own.
But to be more precise, I would like to point out some basic information about the hotel itself.

+ the hotel is located directly at the beach – just walk out through the gate next to the swimming pool and you are on the beach
+ to get to the Medina or City centre takes about 20-30 minutes walk, or you can take taxi (ca. 4 Dinars)
+ as for the hotel itself, the stuff is very helpful and friendly. They are always willing to help you with any problem
+ food in the hotel is very good. Though it is not strictly the same as traditional, spicy Tunisian cuisine, it is very tasty and the dinners vary each day. Once we went out to live in the restaurant, but we found the food at the hotel better, because after the restaurant we were feeling a little bit sick. Maybe we had a bad luck.
+ The hotel has two swimming pools, one inside, the other outside. The swimming pool is almost empty till midday, so we were happy to swim as much as we wanted without any distrubance.

- As for the breakfasts, they are a little bit monotonous. Almost every day you get served the same – Mortadella. But as we found out at the supermarket, in Tunisia it is hard to get any other cold cuts.. and the scrambled eggs were so greasy, that they were almost inedible.
- Air conditioning. Be careful, not to get a room vis a vis hotel Marabout. The windows are on the East side, and you will find it impossible to stay at your room. But we had a room with a view to the sea. And it was even colder than at our apartment in Poland.
- If you can't imagine your holidays without alcohol, than don't go to Tunisia during Ramadan. Of course, you can still buy alcohol at the hotel or restaurants, but you will not find it at any shop.

Summing up, the hotel is of very good value, decent conditions and superb stuff. We enjoyed our stay and we really hope to sped our next holiday at the same hotel. It is a good choice, and the best choice within this price range!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aleksandra_Mateusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael G, Manager at Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
hi, thanks for your opinion, we are proud and happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us ;-)... we hope to see you back soon and we are at your disposal at any time ;-)... michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Our trip has been spoiled by 2 men on street who stoled a bag from my friend on the first day in Tunisia. And general director of the hotel helped us to visit Police and to make our rest better. I would like to thank him a lot! We changed our meal (from dinner to lunch), we had privilege on the beach and so on. Our mood became better really.
Anyway if you want to change your room - pay 20 dollars on the Reception. Your room will be cleaned properly when you check-out maybe (I saw dirty mirrow all the 10 days, sand was on the floor). Wifi was very slowly and didnt work 3 days.
But staff were very nice: Reception, waiters, barman (maybe because of g.d.). Thank you for help!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TransHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael G, Manager at Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
hi, thank you for your review. i am the new manager of the hotel royal beach. we are trying to improve our services and the quality of our hotel all the time so to be able to provide the best holidays for our clients and to make them feel like at home. we would be happy to see you back at our hotel, you are very welcome anytime. best regards. michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I honestly hate people, who are paying 350 euros for the whole trip and expect ***** stars hotel. If you want to stay in a luxury hotel pay 3500 euros and enjoy your stay in every detail. I was really happy during my trip, I have spent not a lot and I had a great time. The beach, which belongs to hotels is really beautiful. The hotel crew was really great, the food was OK, sometimes really tasty, sometimes just OK, but not disgusting or anything. Boring breakfast, really sweet, but its normal in Tunisia. The location was perfect, close to Saloon, Bananas and other club/bars. This is not really a party city, but definitely, you have many places where you can go out, hang out with the tourists and locals the same time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Justyna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael G, Manager at Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
hi, thank you for your review. i am the new manager of the hotel royal beach. we are trying to improve our services and the quality of our hotel all the time so to be able to provide the best holidays for our clients and to make them feel like at home. we would be happy to see you back at our hotel, you are very welcome anytime. best regards. michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The sea and the private sandy beach are beautiful. The hotel is a bit dated, but the rooms are big and clean. Nice food. Friendly staff , especially the waiters in the restaurant. Better than some four stars in Sousse.Ok price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael G, Manager at Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
hi, thank you for your review. i am the new manager of the hotel royal beach. we are trying to improve our services and the quality of our hotel all the time so to be able to provide the best holidays for our clients and to make them feel like at home. we would be happy to see you back at our hotel, you are very welcome anytime. best regards. michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

It saddens me to report how badly this hotel has deteriorated since I was last there three years ago..

Let me put on record that I am a regular visitor to Sousse, have stayed at many of its hotels and do not expect 5* luxury at 3* prices but the Royal Beach is now barely a 2* hotel. It still has its fantastic situation directly on the beach, there is free wi-fi and a tv in the rooms, which have comfortable beds and are kept clean with sheets and towels changed regularly but that is all it has going for it now.

The problems stem from the top, the two brothers who own the hotel and sit in reception most of the time but are not interested in sorting out problems. Indeed when I told one of them that I was not happy I was asked to keep my opinions to myself. Bad mistake for him to say that to me I’m afraid so I simply said I had no intention of doing so but would never return and would put my report on line.

Startting with the rooms. Pleasantly decorated in dusty pink and cream, picked out in gold but the curtains were not hanging on the hooks properly so sagged badly. The rain came under the door/window leaving pools on the floor and I was on the third floor. There was a TV high on the wall which you had to lie on the bed to actually see and the only chair in the room was a plastic garden-type one. My bathroom door did not even shut, let alone lock, so I was forced to put the ‘Do Not Disturb” notice on my door if I wanted to have a shower uninterrupted by the maid.

There were hardly any guests, in fact never more than about 30, most of whom seemed to stay out of the hotel as much as possible. With these numbers I do not expect them to provide an extensive menu but all the more reason to ensure that what there was would be good and the service efficient. Breakfasts are never a strong point in Tunisia and at least the tea was decent but there were never any saucers. I insisted on being given one and had to ask every single morning (bar one when a cup and saucer was actually on my table). There was a toaster but the sliced bread beside it was rock hard so I never bothered with it. Normal Tunisian bread is usually wonderful but this was often stale There was no jams or yoghurts. Spam, cold cauliflower and limp salads were available for those who wanted them, failing which it was eggs, sometimes hard boiled and sometimes fried. The margarine was marked as ‘butter’ on the counter so I bought butter at the local supermarket and the waiter put it in the fridge and brought it out for me every morning. That is until a couple of days before I went home when it did not appear. I asked for it and he simply disappeared into the kitchen and didn’t come out. The receptionist later told me that it had been thrown away but that evening the waiter told me I would have butter the next day and sure enough half a new pack of butter was on my table. It had obviously registered that I would be leaving the next day and he wanted to make sure he got a tip.

Soup was cold (though the waiter re-heated mine in the microwave on a couple of occasions) and the only meat was marked as pork and actually had a picture of a pig above it but the colour and texture seemed to belie its origin. Potatoes could be fairly good but other vegetables were either cauliflower or broccoli, both either under or over-cooked, and spinach in a sauce which was invariably cold. Deserts were usually oranges, unset blancmange or biscuits (often rock hard) though we actually had strawberries on two evenings.

Despite having a sign saying “Change” in Reception this was always unavailable. I asked to change £20 and was told ‘no money’. I asked if they would have it later and received a shrug and ‘perhaps’. The bar-man told me later that he could have changed it for me easily but I didn’t bother again.

Many hotels in Sousse are now closed, probably never to re-open, and I very much doubt the Royal Beach will be around much longer unless it gets new owners who actually have their eye on the ball. I feel very sorry for some of the staff, including the lovely lady house-keeper who I know from previous visits.

Believe me it saddens me to write this report as I love Sousse and its people and long for them to prosper after their revolution but whilst there are hotels like this and the people who own it people will go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aslemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael G, Manager at Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
hi, thank you for your review. i am the new manager of the hotel royal beach. we are trying to improve our services and the quality of our hotel all the time so to be able to provide the best holidays for our clients and to make them feel like at home. we would be happy to see you back at our hotel, you are very welcome anytime. best regards. michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Although booked a package through a holiday company did not see or have any contact from the rep for the company, so attempted to gain assistance from the hotel reception staff in regard to local information. However, the male hotel receptionists were extremely rude - treated you with comtempt and made you feel that you were a huge inconvenience to be asking such basic requests such as where the breakfast room was etc....Found that got a much more pleasant and helpfull response for local info from staff in nearby shops / restuarants than hotel staff - who also asked "why are you staying at Royal Beach? It's terrible!"
Food items were stolen from the room by the cleaning staff and level of cleanliness in room generally poor.
Would not reccommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PClarkManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael G, Manager at Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
hi, thank you for your review. i am the new manager of the hotel royal beach. we are trying to improve our services and the quality of our hotel all the time so to be able to provide the best holidays for our clients and to make them feel like at home. we would be happy to see you back at our hotel, you are very welcome anytime. best regards. michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sousse hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Boujaafar
Residence Boujaafar
#22 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#18 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Faracha
Hotel El Faracha
#25 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Beach Hotel

Property: Royal Beach Hotel
Address: Blvd 14 Novembre, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Beach Official category: 3,5 stars The ,,Royal Beach" is a fully airconditioned and well-maintained hotel under international management and with great tradition in Sousse, perfectly located on a white sandy private beach, one of the most beautiful beach sections in the whole area. The hotel is a ,,16+" - hotel (minimum age of the hotel guests is 16 years). 1 Km to the centre of Sousse (unesco world cultural heritage), 4 km to the marina of port el kantaoui, 17 km to the airport Monastir, 45 km to the airport Enfidha,160 km to the capital Tunis. Beautiful and private large white sandy beach in front of the hotel, a lot of restaurants and shops in walking distance. 4 Km to the golf course of port el kantaoui (reduced green-fees for hotel guests and transport service on demand). Hotel facilities & restaurants: Comfortable lobby with sitting-areas, 24 hour-reception (safes to rent), concierge-service & guest relation, currency-exchange, excursion service and car rental. Accepted credit cards: visa, mastercard, american express. Elevator. Mini-market, laundry and jewelery store, dvds and cds for rent. Wifi-internet (complimentary). Main-restaurant ,,Le Royal" (non-smoking) with wonderful panoramic view, italian a-la-carte restaurant ,,Le Medaillon" with panorama-terrace, french gourmet restaurant ,,Le Vintage", snack-restaurant ,,Mario's", pizzeria-barbecue at the pool, beach-club-restaurant ,,Las Vegas" at the beach, english pub ,,Babylone" with live-music, professional Karaoke and football and- sports-coverage on big screen, ,,JET-bar" (open 24 hours), moorish coffee with shisha pipes. Leisure, sports and entertainment: swimming pool with sunbathing terrace and beverage service at the pool, indoor pool (heated in winter), beach-club (complimentary sunbeds, matrasses and parasols at the pool and at the beach), towels for hire. Wellness-facilities including beauty-salon, hairdresser, massage, health-treatments, ,,fish massage" at the beach and hammam (additional charge). Tennis (complimentary, tennis-lessons, equipment and flood-light for additional charge), table tennis, bowls, darts, aerobics, gymnastics, yoga, aquagym, water-polo, beach-soccer, beach-volleyball, billard-table. Watersports-station at the beach, motorbike and- quadrental, horse-riding (local offers). Discrete daytime entertainment & international evening-entertainment-programs with live-music, tunisian folklore, belly-dancing and karaoke. Leisure park and zoo (local offers). Ladies-special: cooking-courses in tunisian cuisine and basic courses in arabic language. Golfer's special: reduced green-fees at the golf courses of port el kantaoui and monastir and organized transport to the golf-courses (on demand). The Rooms: 127 rooms in an architectoral interesting 4 storey-building, all rooms have been recently renovated and refreshed. Doubleroom Standard (1-3 persons): Decorated in traditional arabic style, bathroom with bathtub and toilet, indivdual aircondition/heating, minibar, lcd-sat-tv, dvd-player, telephone, WIFI-internet (complimentary) Doubleroom Superior: Additional bathrobe, hairdryer, lateral or direct seaview Doubleroom Royal Class: Like the superior rooms, but with inroom-safe (complimentary), a balcony with direct seaview and VIP-treatment Royal Executive-Suites: Decorated in traditional arabic style, bathroom with bathtub, hairdryer and bathrobe, separate toilet, comfortable living room with sat-tv and individual aircondition, telephone, in-room-safe (complimentary) sleeping room with lcd-sat-tv, dvd-player, minibar, WIFI-internet (complimentary), VIP-treatment Single rooms are double rooms for single use. Halfboard plus (including dine-around-concept): Breakfast buffet with fresh egg dishes, donuts and fresh fruit and vegetable juices, late-riser-breakfast till 12.00, ,,Champaign-brunch" every sunday. Crepes and ice-cream every day between 15.30 - 16.30 Around the pool (complimentary). Dine-around-concept: dinner in the hotel's main restaurant (buffet for starters, main-course selection (including vegetarian option) and dessert-selection, table-service), dining options at the italian a-la-carte restaurant, at the french gourmet restaurant, at the pizzeria-barbecue, at the english pub and at the beach-club-restaurant (weekly and complimentary, reservation) The hotel is known for its excellent cuisine and the wide range of choices. ,,ROYAL BEACH 9" - bonus especially for YOUR clients: welcome-drink and a refreshing towel on arrival early check-in, late check-out (if available) complimentary upgrade to a higher room-category (if available) 24 hours - roomservice weekly excursion to the historic centre of sousse (unesco world cultural heritage) complimentary hammam (weekly) water and a basket of fruits at the room on arrival weekly ,,jet2cocktail-party" in the hotel garden weekly ,,jet2beach-party" with djs at the beach-club-restaurant The hotel Royal Beach is one of the leading hotels in tunisia and offers everything, that you need for memorable holidays: central but also calm location with a marvellous beach, superior equipment and facilities, excellent cuisine, various options for sports and entertainment and a competent and friendly staff under european management. With its ,,over 16" concept and many other options like ,,dining-around", the ,,royal beach 9" bonuses and the international entertainment programs the hotel Royal Beach is especially the perfect place for couples and for people, that look for classy holidays for a well-affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Beach
Royal Beach Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing