We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Good We're Thinking of Going Back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marhaba Salem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marhaba Salem
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So Good We're Thinking of Going Back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We were here in November 2012 for 10 nights. There were 6 of us and had 3 rooms next to each other.

First impressions were good. Check in was quick and easy, with a welcome drink included. Rooms were basic, but all you need, as you're only sleeping and changing in them. No fridge or kettle, but with drinks available from 6am till 1am the next morning they weren't needed.

Pool area by the 3rd hotel (hotel is only open in the summer so was closed at the time) was clean with plenty of sunbeds and a bar nearby. This wasn't as busy as the main pool area, which suited us. The water chutes were only on a couple of times when we were there (we missed the second time as we were out), but I enjoyed them! If there had been more call for them I'm sure they would have been on more.

The gardens are lovely, with plenty of activities to do within them, including archery, tennis and basketball. The beach was next to the gardens. Again, plenty of sunbeds and watersports at a reasonable cost if wanted. We didn't partake so can't comment on them. The beach bar is a nice space to escape to.

The animation team work very hard, and always very friendly. The evening entertainment was OK, with some good nights and some bad. This took place in one of the areas inside. As it was easonably quiet there was enough room. The dance night was brilliant, showing off the animation teams' skills. Very enjoyable. The Fakir show was also good, with some of our crowd being pulled up to assist. Some cracking photos were taken I can assure you!

We enjoyed the food in the main, with us all finding something to eat every time we went. The only problem was our table; it was next t the desserts, which were heavenly! 2 or 3 trips were made by most of us each meal!!

Snack bar was good, with food from 10am. we used it a few times when we'd not got up in time for breakfast in the main restaurant. Well appreciated. Tip, get your bottles of water from the snack bar to take with you as they're in plastic, unlike the glass bottles in the bar.

Though we ate in the Marhba Salem, we could also get drinks in the Royal Salem next door. This was a beautiful hotel, and it was good to go next door for a change of scene. Bureau de Change was in this hotel, as well as an indoor pool which we could use. Indeed some of our party did.

The grounds also have a disco, which is open to the public. Hotel guests get free entry and drinks are reasonably priced. We went most nights and enjoyed it.

Outside the hotel isn't too bad with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants both ways. A must place to visit is the ice cream parlour, 10 minutes to the left. Very good ices, and free wifi. (The hotel wifi went down a few times, much to the annoyance of the guests!). The road train goes to Port el Kantaoui, which has a nice harbour area and amusement park, and stops outside the hotel. Cross the road, and it takes you to Sousse. It stops about 10 minutes away from the Medina which is great for exploring and cheap bargains. There is a government shop just at the start of the Medina for those who don't like haggling.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday. So much so we're thinking of going back this November.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scotsmanc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    327
    114
    49
    48
See reviews for
382
257
44
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I visited the hotel in June with my partner and 2 other couples in June this year and had one of the best holidays I've ever had. As soon as we arrived the staff made us feel welcome and went out of their away to be helpful.
The rooms were quite basic but were cleaned thoroughly everyday. The only thing missing was an in room fridge.
The food was good. I always found a few options to choose from and even though its not a la carte I always had enough food. The waiters in the restaurant were lovely and reserved us our own
table for the entire holiday.
The animations team also always seemed happy to see us and get to know us as individuals. Ben Alex sargon and Sam were amazing and Mido was our personal favourite as he went out of his way to make us feel like one of the family . cushy inn it!
There area outside the resort isn't great and you really have to be careful when outside but we didn't really need to as we had everything we needed in the resort.
All in all a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorelai87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

The holiday was to celebrate my brother in laws 50th birthday, we were a party of 16. The hotel was quite nice, sharing the pool etc with another hotel. It was quite busy but not so busy it was packed. The team looked after us at dinner, saving us a table big enough for all of us, flowers were laid in the middle and they made sure we all had drinks. The food was quite good, with plenty of choice. Going out of the complex was ok, but young blond girls be careful as they do tend to stare quite a bit. Evening entertainment was ok and there was a disco for the young teenagers. The pool staff were very good at keeping your glasses full. The one thing that let us down, was that we were all spread over the place, it would have been nice if we were kept together. Activities round the pool was ok too. Camel caravan was good, as was the paragliding, I loved it.

Room Tip: If you are going in a group make sure you ask to be together if that's what you want, we were 25...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east kilbride
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Ok a rather mixed but honest review. Made to feel very welcome upon arriving and settled in well, the rooms were clean and made up nice everyday by the maid, our ground floor balcony made it very easy to flit between our 4 rooms all next to each other. The gardens were kept immaculate by the environmental workers, who I have to say don't get enough credit for the beautiful work they do.
The outdoor pools were salt water pools which didn't ruin it but would have much preferred them not to be as it would sting your eyes after a while plus I think I may have exceed my whole days salt intake with 1 accidental mouthful of water lol The pool area was as clean as it could be... I say this because the evening entertainment is set up around the pool so as you can imagine a lot of ash or spilled drinks are still lingering in the morning which makes it hard for the lifeguard to clean as folk have set their beds out before he comes on duty but he does his best.
The animators were all very friendly to all in our group always taking time to come over and talk to the guests. They done their best with what limited resources they had always smiling and trying to get everyone involved.
In the bar in the evening drinks were usually warm which is odd as during the day they were freezing, good selection of drinks (beer was extremely watered down but refreshing all the same)and most bar staff were very friendly and helpful. However at one point near the end of our stay we went to the bar for our order of 10 drinks as we had all week (one each per person in our party) we were questioned and made to feel 'on the take' and when we explained there were 4 rooms in our party and questioned why this is even an issue when its all inclusive, our drinks were slammed onto the table, needless to say we left shortly after as we were made to feel unwelcome.
The restaurant...ok this almost ruined my stay. The chefs done the best they could with what they were given, having said this the quality of meat they were given was very poor and queuing was regular. Most of the meat consisted of bone and fat and by the time you finished dissecting your meal there was little or no meat, dishes that appeared to have no bones actually had small bones you didn't notice until it was in your mouth so be careful with young children! The flavour of the food was nice but having to inspect every mouthful you eat can ruin the whole thing. I mostly stuck to pizza, pasta and vegetables as these were the only safe options. A lot of restaurant staff (not all) were rude and accosted us while trying to take our coffee to the terrace after our meal, then stalked us until we returned the cup indoors, (the terrace is part of the restaurant and many ppl take cups out)
The beach was very dirty at parts and Im not talking about sea weed there was trash hidden around corners and a lot of rubbish in the sea, even far off shore as we took a trip on the pirate ship and all we could see was plastic bags floating around.
We enjoyed our stay all in but would definitely not return as the restaurant put us off, which is a shame as this was really our only main problem, activities were fun and we did enjoy ourselves, they have recently upgraded to 4* although I don't think its reflected in most aspects of the hotel due to lack of resources.

Room Tip: Ground floor has so many advantages - no need to drip through reception when you can walk through yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carrie8513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

went june 12th for 11 nights, 12 adults 13 children and had an amazing holiday.
we all were put in rooms by each other either pool or sea views,
food was good and plenty of choice.
pools were great we spent most of time around the small pool next to the big pool with slides.
great water sports on beach and really cheap as well 45 dinar for 1 adult 1 child on jetski
rooms were cleaned every day hotel staff were very friendly and waiters worked hard all day and always made sure we were ok for drinks around the pool.

now for the best part that made our holiday so good THE ANIMATION TEAM
mido (happy) lol crazy ben alex, sagon, sarah, sophie, mira and most of all every ones fav FIFI
they all kept us entertained day and night they work really hard.
kids loved the club dance king Africa bomba. fire show was great as was every nights show they put on.
our son tyler loved FIFI as did every one I think she was every ones no 1 member of the team
and really hope she is still there next summer along with the rest of the team for our return to marhaba salem

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swanseajacks2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Went for two weeks this month june 2013 and had a fantastic time no regrets whatsoever the people are just so nice and friendly and just cant do enough to please you.
soon as we arrived we got off the coach and was greeted by the staff our cases were taken in to the reception for us and we allocated our room in about ten minutes and were taken up by the porters who were very nice and were happy with the smallest tip you wish to give .
the room was good for our needs we had a nice comfortable bed a bath and a shower water was always hot as you would exspect a nice view over the pool from the balcony.
food was ok we always found something to eat good selection of deserts and always loads of fruit to helpyourself too waiters always there to help with your drinks etc a little tip goes a long way.
everything is so cheap too 2.4 dinars to the pound and your money can easily be changed at the sister hotel the royal salem safes are readily avialable too cost us about £15 for the two weeks we were there and only you have a key .
this hotel is right on the beach too and we the choice of using three pools or beach spoill for choice the only thing i didnt like was the fact they use salt in there pool rather than chorine and can be a bit of a shock when you first get in the pool.
the animation team are fantastic and always do there very best to entertain you and get people involved special shout out to ALEX,BEN AND SAM CANT REMEMBER HIS NAME BUT THE GUY WHO DOES THE ARCHERY THANKS GUYS MYSELF AND WIFE (STEVE,IRENE WE MISS YOU GREAT GUYS) the weather was great too dont always take notice when you look on sites because we did it sais about 25-30 degrees trust me its hot but bearable 37 whilst we were there with a nice breeze both got lovely tans.
to sum up nice country nice people and nice hotel would highly recommend wanna go again next year thanks guys for making our holiday great...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whittak181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Had an amazing time here in Tunisia at the Marhaba Salem hotel. Was made to feel very welcome by all staff. The animation team were all very friendly and made you feel at ease. I found Dino the most approachable member though with his friendly smile and kind manners. If I was to ever have a question or need to know anything he was always willing to help or advise. He told me and my friend of the places near by to experience and where everything was situated within the complex. He introduced us to the box which was the hotel nightclub which I have to say was very good and me and my friend attended nearly every night.They was all very lovely though I must say. I very much enjoyed my time here and would consider coming back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
1.0 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
0.2 mi away
SENSIMAR Scheherazade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tour Khalef Marhaba Thalasso & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
0.2 mi away
Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Salem

Property: Marhaba Salem
Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sousse
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marhaba Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Marhaba Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Salem Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Salem Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing