We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pros and Cons”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marhaba Salem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marhaba Salem
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Me, my husband, my 1 year old and my mum have been home from this hotel for 3 days.
Its a bit of a mixed bag really. All the hotel staff are lovely, especially the animation team. They are fantastic with the kids and they work really hard. They go out of their way to speak to you or just to wave at you. They are a credit to the hotel.
The food is really nice, the waiters are great. Only downside is it is pretty much the same foods at dinner and tea every day, and I found breakfast there isnt really much choice at all.
The hotel itself is in dire need of a refurb. The walls in the corridor leading to our room had some sort of pen lines all over them. Our room was spacious and clean but the drawers were very rickety and got stuck a few times. The cot provided for our baby was very old and not very big. The bathroom was fine, nice big sink and mirror. Bath was tiny in width. There were ants on the floor in there and on the bedroom floor. Needs a good few licks of paint and more modern furniture.
Lobby and reception is lovely, very modern and pretty. Lovely big sofa and open fireplace. Seems as though thats where the decorating attention has gone and the rooms forgotten about.
The outdoors and pools are shared with the Royal Salem hotel right next door, so there are a lot of grounds which are nice to walk round, and its not too far to the beach. There is a man trying to flog dodgy cigarettes for 1 dinar (about 42p). Your holiday rep will warn you about this, they are full of ANYTHING but tobacco and nicotine. Think camel dung and soil.
Found out on the first day that we were unable to get snacks as they close the snack bar during quieter months which we were not told and which i think is unfair.
We all got sickness bugs the last few days of being here, not sure where from or how and Im not pinning blame on the hotel either. I think it was just one of those things.
Overall we had a good time, probably wont return until some major refurbishing has been done.

Room Tip: Lot of stairs to middle and top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samantha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    327
    114
    49
    48
See reviews for
382
257
44
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

After our first holiday in Tunisia earlier on in the year, we couldn't wait to return and we certainly was not disappointed.
The staff defiantly make this holiday. They are all the most kindest and friendly people.
We was disappointed to learn that a lot of our favourite animation team had left the hotel but thank god the new team are just as good. Joe, Trino, Sagon, Mido, Sam, Sophie, FiFi, Kristy and our favourite Bruno (Kalou) Mars. Thank you all for keeping us entertained and thank you Kalou for putting up with my shocking attempt at playing Darts every day.
A big thank you to the bar staff for keeping our glasses full all night, you're all wonderful, Elyes (Wlly) Yesine (Nipper) and Mohammed (Phillip Schofield)
Cant wait to return again in January!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jokieser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

My Wife and I have just returned from a 2 week holiday at this Hotel, I have to say it was a very lovely Hotel and I could not find any fault with it what so ever.
This has been my second trip to Tunisia but my first time to this part.
The Staff at the Hotel were brilliant, So friendly and ever so helpful.
I found the food was brilliant and there was a lovely selection each day.
The only thing I will say that let it down slightly was the evening entertainment, To be honest it could be better but then saying that we were out most evenings with.
To anyone going to Tunisia for the first time I would certainly recommend this Hotel, Okay it may only have a 3-4 star rating but it far more than that in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Booked this hotel as a late deal with Thomson. Labeled as a 4 star, but probably a little generous. Staff were very good and service equally so. Rooms were a little tired and cramped for the rating given. Entertainment was limited, but it was very late in the season (November).
Food choice was pretty good for the all inclusive package and the drinks selection was OK.

Room Tip: No real sea views available and you need to ask for a view of the pool from the main block, for best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back from a 10 night stay with family. Arrived at the hotel about 4am after an ok flight but very long wait at passport control in Tunisia. I was really pleased with the room, fairly spacious and modern and very clean, we had 3 rooms on the 3rd floor 2 overlooking the beach and pool. The hotel itself is nice and very clean. All the staff are excellent, i dont think you need to tip to get good service but it doesnt hurt. There were 4 pools, i think the only one thats salt water is the one with the slides which i found a little bit too cold for this time of year but there is a heated indoor pool. We went on the camel riding trip provided by the men on the beach which was good, about 12 pound. It included camel horse and donkey riding through rural sousse to a little farm sort of thing where we watched a man make pottery and a lady make some lovely bread. We also did the zoo trip which we booked through thomsoms which also included a 4 course meal which was beautiful whilst watching an african zulu dancers show, i dont

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Mel186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

As previous reviews the hotel was good, kept clean, room cleaned and fresh linen daily.

We found food delicious especially the Tunisian dishes in the tagines and always plenty of variety.

the rep not that helpful, not explaining the different snack bars, restaurants etc and didn't explain that we couldn't use dinars in duty free on way back home, much more interested on promoting trips out.

Animation team poor, repetitive and really really noisy and we're not party poopers - Wouldn't have minded if they'd been any good. The drag show was good well worth seeing even though it was extra.

Didn't really like Tunisia, everyone pestering you for money, trying to con you and expecting tips when not even providing service or before you get any service at all.

Having said that we found all staff in hotel helpful waiters in bars and restaurant, reception staff, maids and porters, which we tipped at end of holiday, even the pool guy fetching us mats for the loungers.

If the hotel had been in another location would go again but won't be going back to Tunisia.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jm_butler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Booked this as a last minute break away, arrived at the hotel on the 20.10.13 for 2 weeks; this was not recommended as a great place to go to but me and my partner always say everyone has there own opinion, well here we go. The hotel was good, when we checked in the porter wanted to take our bags & because I said no its ok we will take them our self they did not show us the way to the room, we walked around looking our self until one of the waiters pointed us in the right direction, we was greeted with a strange smell in the room which you do get used to after a day or 2. the maid every morning cleaned the room which helped with the smell, the bed always felt damp when you got into it (think that's because the linen was not completely dry) we were in block c room 205.

The food was good, our waiter belhaid was brilliant, always coffee on the table at breakfast, juice at lunch & wine at dinner, he didn't look for tipping at every sitting (some people did tip 3 time a day) so we tipped him on our last day.

The evening bar waiters were especial nice & polite especially Elyes, Mohamed (yes please), Moktar, Sofien & yassine (Mr smiler). They waited on a lot of people & could memorise what every one was drinking, brilliant guys. the day shift waiters wasn't that friendly one of them (don't know his name) found it very hard to smile at all.

The second week into our holiday we was told about riots In Sousse where some police men were shot, (30 min walk from our hotel). Then we had a suicide bomber at a hotel just minutes away from us, the beach was cleared within seconds and the security was doubled, We were told by our rep Toni to stay on the complex & not to go out, which was fine for a couple of days until the boredom set in; then we felt like we was a prisoner, We manage to get out 2 days before we had to fly back home.

The entertainment at night was not brilliant it was the same every day, great if you have kids but tedious for those who don't.

The golden girls show was brilliant and well worth the 20 dinar (£8) to watch.
If you go into the box (night club) be prepared to pay 4.5 dinar for a bottle of lager (£1.80) it's not part of the all inclusive.

If you go on the free trip to the government market be careful & if you say NO you need to let them know you mean NO... we went with another couple from our hotel and because we had gone through the same in Egypt we knew what to expect, the other couple didn't.

Try it for yourself like I said every one has there own view on things.
We would go back to Tunisia but not to Sousse it's so cheep for everything, 1 dinar was 40p.

Room Tip: top floor away from the pools are the quietest, don't take a ground floor in main block, the sme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leedslass47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.1 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vendome El Ksar Resort & Thalasso
0.2 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Scheherazade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Salem

Property: Marhaba Salem
Address: Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4039, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sousse
#3 Family Hotel in Sousse
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marhaba Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Marhaba Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marhaba Salem Hotel Sousse
Marhaba Salem Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing