We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Karawan Beach & Resort
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good, you get what you pay for”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Was disappointed when we arrived at the hotel as none of the photos show that you are on a busy main road in a city centre, however when you get into the hotel and you see the sea view and the sun you forget all that and we found we spent most evenings sitting out the front with a drink watching the world go by. The place is clean and tidy. Yes the food repeats itself after a week but most hotels do. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely. You get what you pay for. We had a lovely relaxing two weeks and wouldn't think twice about going to karawan again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annacook80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    91
    78
    55
    100
See reviews for
105
90
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Oldbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just got back home and I can't say Im sorry.Arrived in the early hours and given room 501 ,which was absolutley disgusting.Complained and was given the room next door,which was slightly better.Only one plug socket,so nowhere to charge up iPads and iPhones.One sheet on the bed that we was greatful not to have to use very often,I itched every time I sat on it let alone sleep in it.Given wet towels.If you enjoy a night out and a drink don't bother going here,we paid for all inclusive and it ran out of drink frequently. Shandy is lager and sprite that tastes bloody awful,vodka is watered down.Thats if you manage to be lucky to get one!The bar staff at the poolside are the rudest Ive ever come across.The bar opens at 11am and by 1pm there are no glasses to be able to get a drink.If you dare to complain then be prepared to be verbally abused.The animation team aren't too bad on the afternoon but don't expect the same at night,and unless your a young lady don't expect them to be nice to you.There are no other drinking places to escape to so be prepared to do without.Food is good always something to try but it gets repetitive after a few days.The beach is amazing,it costs 3 dinars a day which is only about £1.20 sterling.You will need to use this if you want a sunlounger because the other guests get up at 5am to place their towels on the ones by the pool.They also place their towels on the tables and chairs for the night entertainment ,so unless you want to stand up all night and have no drink whatsover then stay in your rooms!The bathroom has a screw sticking up out of the floor,we worked out the reason for this was because it was to stop the door hitting the sink.There are no snacks,no ice creams so if your expecting an all inclusive that you have paid for the forget it.I read all the reviews on here before I went but decided to see for myself,and to be quite honest the bad ones on here put it mildly how bad it really is.There is a lovely resturant next to the hotel,pop in for a meal and ask for a man called Zoo,you won't be disappointed.I have never been to a hotel like this in my life and its one I never hope to repeat.Yes we know this only has a 3star but in my opinion I wouldnt even give it that,and for those saying Dont take the bad reviews seriously,then just do that,that is why the reviews are here for you to make up your minds.I wish I had listened to them.Tunisia is a beautiful place,the weather is gorgeous,but this hotel is awful.

Room Tip: Don't go all inclusive.Take drinks with you.Seaveiw rooms are the best and ask for the fourth fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sousse hotels

derbyshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

just returned from a weeks stay at karawan souse, thank god, arrived 12 noon, had to check with the coach driver as I thought we had been taken to the wrong hotel, as the first impression was not a good one, derelict buildings across the road, unfortunately we were in the right place. Went to main reception along with the others all of us were told to go and eat and come back after 2 no rooms were ready, which we did just given a key and left 2 find the room by ourselves, nice touch I must say, we only just managed to get in the lift as it was that small, 2 people and 3 small cases was all it would hold, on entering the room the floor was still wet but only half had been mopped the other half still contained the previous occupants hair. cobwebs under furniture that must have been there for months, moved to a quieter room on level 5, room with a view, ha ha concrete roof with pipes. but quite. we discovered later no pull to flush toilet, reported at 3 repaired at 11.30 at night, only for it to brake again the next morning, to cut a long story short, didn't work all week, not that we needed to use it as what goes in generally comes out, but I can tell u not much went in, food a disgrace, cauil 4 breakfast? dirty glasses at servery 4 AI, even staff were smelling them before getting water, if they were any, AI drink bar consisted of no more than 7 bottles of rubbish. beach great, but no AI, unless u cross bowfinger road ( eddie murphy film watch it) n go back 2 hotel n risk it all again on the way back. lol. avoid this hotel if you value having a good holiday with your hard earned cash and upgrade please take note its the pits, AND SO IS THE PLACE IT SITS IN dirty bin liners everywhere its a rubbish dump, that's not SAFE more riot vans n police than I have ever seen in my life. cant fit everything into this one review I could probably write a small book.. trust me and book elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trishaderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Hi there.. my partner and I have just returned from spending a week at the Karawan in Sousse.. we both enjoyed the holiday.
Only a few points.....the hotel has some 230 rooms plus and it can get noisy in the evening with the kids entertainment.. followed by the adults disco etc ... however the shows usually finished by 23.00..for those on 'All Inclusive'..drinks were available til midnight.
Just a thought....if you book the trip on the 'Pirate Ship' with the guy on the terrace by the pool...price can vary from 50..down to 40 Dinar.....he will say it is a 3 hour trip.....giving you the the impression that you are at sea for the sea for 3 hours ...picking you up from hotel at 09.40 for sailing at 10.00 from the harbour just down the road.!!
We were transported by taxi to the harbour...ok thats fine ... told by the guy from the hotel that on return, when the boat berthed we had to make our own way back... (£2.00 in taxi or 15 min walk).
Boarded the vessel at 9.50... and sailed at 11.05... back at 13.05... many of the passengers emkbarked around 10.40.. 10.50....and those were folk who had pre-booked like Aly and myself!!!!.....so it is NOT 3 HOURS at sea.
The hotel will give the going rate to exchange your £ Sterling for Tunisian Dinars... which is fixed by the State....approx 2.50Dinar to £
If you wish to exchange any Dinar back to Sterling... caution.the hotel will charge you commission!!!!...they wanted to charge 30%... £10.00....I declined!!...later in the day I swapped my 100.000 Dinars for £40.00.. the going rate to a couple from the UK...
Enfidha Airport.....only opened 3 years ago... as you will well know you can not export any Tunisian Dinar in notes...Passport Control and the 'X Ray' team will double check!!....HOWEVER the Duty Free Shop has everything priced in EUROS... they will also except £ Sterling... and payment by card too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jon5353Swan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntisland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Wellllll this is the part i like to remember all that happened in the week i was there... but i probably wont....but here goes loL

FIRST TIME VISITOR TO TUNISIA 30th June - 7th July 2013 SO READ IT AND COMPARE IT TO OTHER REVIEWS I HAVE WROTE ON OTHER PLACES I'VE BEEN TO IN OTHER COUNTRIES
Met with friend & daughter from Scotland while there so i was able to judge in all areas really even tho i travelled solo.

Hotel is fine...dont take all the bad reviews seriously as its a 3 star & is a hotel with work in progress & ongoing - now by saying that i dont mean its a building site with diggers at ur doors or drills whirring away at silly o clock etc...they are upgrading the whole hotel and what i seen during the week i was there i think by this time next year they will have done what they said they are doing and if done right & what i seen in the way they are doing it...it will be done well, it isnt interfering with the guests so good on them for doing it in this way.

its clean, its good for kids, its good for familiies and was a good mix of nationalities in it also.

Basically...ur looking for a room that u sleep, shower & s*** in and that is exactly what u get...it aint the hilton & it aint the ritz...its TUNISIA and if u expect perfectly beds & perfection all round u aint going to get it here...on any hotel really in tunisia thats 3 stars...what i will say tho is i managed all 3 of the above well and even had balcony over looking the pools & sea/beach.

Ok... thats that cleared up...

Food - i'm keepin emphasis on 'tunisia' here
its cooked & edible & there was always something to eat from pizza - chips to beef in gravy to chicken to shish kebab sauages to cereal in morning to toast to coffee machine with lattes etc...get the picture yet....am a fussy sod but managed
Only downside i would say is they cant fry chips lol...always bloody limp lol
other downside is - No snack during the day for kids or adults - this is something hotel should look at even ice cream or lollies would solve this issue.
Breakfast from 630am
Dinner from 1230pm
Lunch from 630pm

Entertainment - *emphasis on tunisia again*
the guys work bloody hard and do what they can and have to say they done it well enough for most...they cant cater for 244 rooms of varied guests but i admit...i got bored of the choo choo song and gangnam style after first *cough* day hate they bloody songs before i went lol
but escape to the wee bar at the front of the hotel just to side of the pool within hotel grounds... it has a wee live band on most nights and the guys are good, bit jazz, bit motown, bit everything really.
Only thing i am going to MOAN ABOUT..i was on 2nd floor above the hotel night club which is entered into thru a conservatory door.........CLOSE THE BLOODY DOOR OR FIT A MECHANISM TO IT THAT CLOSES IT BEHIND WHO WALKS IN OR OUT IT!!! I like my music & tunes big time but when that door was open it was a bloody pain like!!

Pools
PLEASEEEEE SORT OUT THE CHUTE OPENING TIMES GUYS - you cant expect kids to have to wait til 10am when they want on it before then...and then u close it at 1pm til 3pm and then reopen to 5.... kids are bored when it aint on so please fix this out asap

pools are nice but getting a sunlounger is a bit of a pain sometimes... see the pool man up at top chute pool with a few dinars & he'll make sure he 'finds' u one from the towel marauding posse who appear invisible on these beds they adorn with towels lol - as if a towel is gonna stop ur sun lounger being obtained NOT! i seen germans & czechs putting towels on loungers at 5am- ish...
Beach is private..clean & tidy & the sea is bliss!!!

one thing i will say about the hotel is you do not get hassled every second of the day by someone trying to sell or do something...they work well with what they got available out there and they do it to best they can

Its now 3am and if i can think of anything else to add i shall do in morning..........

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Only good thing I have to say was the weather was lovely. A power hose would work wonders on the pool area which was cleaned with a dirty rag on the end of a broom with a wee sprinkle of water. They didn't even move the sun beds to do this they just "cleaned" around them. Won't mention the public toilets as don't have enough room in the comments box. Food was never hot enough & never actually sure what it was most of the time. Glasses were filthy, that's if you could actually get one.

Room Tip: Sea view room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I try to be positive but it's going to be hard. We have had hassle-free holidays in Tunisia and I really like the people and the weather, but this was not by any means hassle-free.

First impressions are not great because the hotel is on a busy main street facing a derelict hotel. Inside it is quite nice but our welcome at Reception was a bit chaotic. There were only a few of us checking in but we were not offered a drink, and when we had completed our forms and handed them over they didn't give us our key or wristband. When we asked, they asked for our forms. When we said we had handed them over they got us mixed up with a party of three.

When we finally got to our room (no porter by the way and we were on the 4th Floor), the floor looked unswept and the bathroom smelled of stagnant water. The pillows were like flagstones and the beds squeaked. We did have a nice view over the upper pool and the sea (but you pay extra for a sea view).

When we went out we tried our key but it wouldn't work. We went to Reception and they told us it did work. One of the staff came up and finally agreed it was broken and they would get it fixed the next day. We had to get someone from Reception to come up and let us in whenever we needed to get into the room, although to be fair we did get a new key next day.

We asked for a bottle of water for the room at the bar but they would only give us a small glass and water from a cooler. This is the only hotel in Tunisia which we have stayed in that did not give you bottles and I think that says something about their attitude to their customers. It annoyed me that when you complained about something, they contradicted you immediately. When we said there was no on serving at the bar, they immediately said "Yes there is" even though there was no one in sight. The bars kept running out of glasses so there were long queues at times. One of the pool bars opened very late and never had Diet Coke or water so you had to go up and down lots of stairs to the other bar. There also weren't enough sunbeds though the pool staff did try to help (especially if you slipped them a tip).

First impressions of the food were good, but that didn't last long. They ran out of some food and didn't replace it, the meals were repetitive, and by the end of the week I could hardly face going into the dining room. Some people on all-inclusive were eating meals out of the hotel.

I could go on but I think you get the picture. Not as clean as other places we have stayed, basic facilities, bad food and poor customer service. Won't be back.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view and complain until you get what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RoddyCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.0 mi away
Residence Boujaafar
Residence Boujaafar
#22 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Faracha
Hotel El Faracha
#25 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Marabout Hotel
Le Marabout Hotel
#15 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Gondole
Hotel La Gondole
#5 of 14 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karawan Beach & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karawan Beach & Resort

Property: Karawan Beach & Resort
Address: Avenue Hedi Chaker | Route de la Corniche, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Karawan Beach & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Karawan Beach & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karawan Beach And Resort
Karawan Beach Hotel Sousse
Karawan Hotel Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing