We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget hotel get what you pay for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karawan Beach & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karawan Beach & Resort
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
County Durham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Budget hotel get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel defiantly had it's faults but can was pleasant, Stayed here with my tunisian husband for two weeks as we got a fantastic price we were apprehensive at first because of the bad reviews but on arrival which was early we expected to be not allowed into our room but we were
Room: basic size with double bed not two twins pushed together which was nice, clean and newly decorated. AC, bath, shower, hair dryer and tv but only two English channels the maid was extremely lovely and cleaned our room well every day providing fresh towels and sheets she left us pretty towel decorations regularly our room was street view and the shop over the road plays terrible loud music till early hours this is socially unacceptable and should be addressed
Lobby area is nice but I really struggled to get the free wifi on my iphone 5 only place avail was 3rd floor near the lift?!
All inclusive bar is bad it's tired looking with limited choice and the bar man is hardly there it needs improving badly
Restaurant waiters lovely, manger ok and chefs nice too initially good was basic with limited choice but edible as our holiday progressed and the hotel became busier the restaurant introduced fresh
pasta and grilled meat with fresh made pizza these were a blessing overall we found the food good but could be better. The bar service at the restaurant needs improving if you serve yourself you get told off but if you didn't you'd be stood there for ages until someone bothered to serve you
Pool: bottom pool nice but cold but that's not hotels fault plenty of lingers but no umbrellas for shade I think this needs addressing as it gets too hot pool bar is classed as an extra bar needs to be all inclusive
Kiddie pool with slide didn't work first part of hol but did second week
Top pool is nice with canopy shade at present the slides are broken but maintenance was carried out every day to get them up and running for summer
Animation: entertainment was none existent for 10 days of our stay and we were told this is because the hotel wasn't busy but to me this is unacceptable regardless if it's busy or not we are still paying guests and expect a service I cannot fault the team as people as they are are lovely bunch of guys Chico, momo, heikle and the young lad who's name I forget are friendly and make effort to talk to you towards the end of our stay they started to work and this was fun keep up the good work guys :)
Overall I think major faults are rubbish all inclusive bar, no umbrellas for shade at pool, animation program should be on all season, fresh cooked food to order in restaurant should be avail all season
We will return as we liked the cheap and cheerfulness of the place it's not the worst hotel we've stayed at in Tunisia there are worse believe me but if your on a budget it's a winner

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    90
    77
    55
    100
See reviews for
104
90
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Having read some of the reviews on here after having gone, we may have stayed at home. As it was, we went, had a great time in a pleasant hotel, with friendly attentive staff. Yes, the hotel has aged a bit, but its clean, comfortable and not at all shabby. The wifi is free, the rooms large, cleaned daily by friendly maids, towels changed every day or two.

Food was more than decent, and I simply don't understand anyone complaining about it at all. There were a splendid array of lovely fresh bread and salads, soup, choice of at least three mains, of chicken, lamb, beef and a vegetarian option, as well as pizzas and pasta. Every few days they even had chips for those who would have preferred to go to Blackpool but wanted the sun as well!

Waiters were excellent, give them a dinar tip and they go they extra mile. Bar staff were great too, always there and always friendly.

Complaints, only two, have an all inclusive bar at the pool as well as the front of hotel, can't be too difficult and also, ice, for heavens sake have plenty of ice at the all inclusive bar!

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamesbarr1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We travelled to Karawan for a family holiday, 5 adults (my parents, myself, my brother and sister and my 3 year old niece, we had read the reviews but took them with a pinch of salt...

To start with, the positives...the wifi was free and available in most areas, the medina isn't too far away (around 1km), the train is close by for Port El Kantoui and the chefs in the restaurant are very friendly and helpful (they made chips for my niece on a couple of occasions when she hadn't liked any of the other food available)...unfortunately that's it for positives...

First, the transport...having sat on the coach for almost an hour waiting for people we eventually left without these phantom people. We then sat on the coach for 1 hour 45 minutes whilst the driver drove up and down at random and even stopped at 3 hotels where no one was staying!

We arrived, eventually, at lunch time, where they didn't even know how many rooms we had reserved, they eventually listened to us and gave us keys, we left our luggage in one room and went for lunch...the food was terrible...it was cold, there was no descriptions of what anything was and the choice was limited, to make matters worse there was no child friendly menu...my niece isn't overly fussy but there was nothing for her to eat, we hoped this would improve for the evening meal...it didn't, again there was no child menu, not even chips or pasta, and the food was stone cold, even the "freshly made pizza" was cold and the dough wasn't cooked. This food continued until the Wednesday (we arrived on a Sunday)

After lunch we headed up to the rooms to unpack and get swimming costumes on. The rooms were a decent size, two rooms had baths and showers, two had just showers but the rooms were not very well cleaned, they were dusty and the linen and walls were dirty. However, it's only for sleeping in so the rooms aren't really all that important.

We headed down to the pool next, set up our sunloungers and wandered across the pool bar looking for the advertised all inclusive snacks, for my niece, and a drink...only to be told we would have to pay for drinks as the pool bar wasn't all inclusive yet...and the snacks were none existent! We had to go in through reception to the other bar whenever we wanted a drink...and that included water (which you were only allowed a small plastic cup of...no bottles) and soft drinks. Whenever my mum or I went to get alcohol (regardless of the time of day or night) we were greeted by a rude surly waiter who clearly did not want to serve us...and that's when you could find him as he would often wander off for 30 mins to chat with his friends...making no apologies for making you wait!

One thing I will say is that on the Wednesday the food improved as they started offering fresh pasta and sauce...it was bliss to not only have something to eat that you actually wanted and knew what it was but it was also boiling hot!! Furthermore, if you asked the breakfast chef he would make you a small, fresh omelette.

The "entertainment" was none existant a laptop played music, unattended, and there was no children animation team. The waterslide in the childrens pool was switched off, and the slides into the adult pool were disjointed and out of use.

There was an indoor pool, which my niece loved, however we were made to leave around 4pm (despite it stating it was open until 8pm) so that local kids could use it.

We asked about the snacks/ pool bar becoming all inclusive daily and depending on which rude, arrogant member of the reception staff you spoke to varied the answer, but eventually we asked to speak to a manager...we were lied to about when the manager would be available several times, but eventually, 4 hours later, we managed to speak to him. He professed great surprise about the snacks but nothing changed.

The rep Nabil was useless, tried to sell excursions in a "welcome meeting" that lasted way too long and was not very informative, when you didn't book a trip that was it, he wasn't interested.

To top of an interesting experience, our pick up for our 1025 flight, bearing in mind we were around 45 minutes away from the airport, was at 0530!! Needless to say the rep was totally uninterested when he told us this at around 1800 the day before we were due to leave...we won't book with A2B travel again.

Overall, we had a good holiday, but that is because we made it good...the hotel was atrocious, half the advertised features were not available and the attitude of the majority of the staff was surly, rude and highly inappropriate in a customer service role.

Suffice to say, we would NOT recommend the Karawan...I've stayed in better hostels and for much less. If you're travelling to Tunisia give this hotel the widest berth possible and look at another one...how this hotel is classed as a three star, even by Tunisian standards, I will never understand it would be pushing it to say it deserves 2 stars.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NatMc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sousse hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Myself and partner went to Karawan last June 2013 we turned up just before midnight and was greeted at reception hardly spoke English but it is north Africa and not part of the Empire.
was given key and loose direction to room it was basic but very clean, woke up to a wonderful view, food was as expected after reading reviews Nabile our rep was also helpful and even helped himself to dinner at local restaurant at our expense ! be warned as soon as you leave the sanctuary of the hotel you will be bombarded with free trinkets if you pay for them. open drains little smelly roads fresh from death race 2000 but coming from London seemed safer in sousse.
Overall yes you get what you pay for don't drink tap water don't eat the salad book the sea/pool view. will go back as the price is right, don't expect any entertainment as they are very lazy.

Room Tip: Never book city view go for meals early tip the bar man on all inclusive bar it wakes him up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a lovely week in Tunisia.
I had read the reports on Tripadvisor before I left and after I had booked!!! If I had read them before I wouldn't have booked.
However I am very pleased to say that I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel isn't perfect but it is a reasonable 3 star.
Positives - nice rooms cleaned daily, good location, and friendly staff. The food was good but a little tedious however, always a choice of fish, beef or chicken.
Negatives- no entertainment in the evening as too early in the season but the entertainment staff were very sociable with the guests and tried hard to make the guests feel comfortable.
Only one bar open for AI guests which was inconvenient if by the pool.

The hotel itself was very nice and clean with two lovely outdoor pools. I would certainly return.

I

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Rooms standard, food not bad, weather nice and hot. Staff realy helpful, friendly:). Entertainment great, realy funny and friendly! Ak, mo mo and misha are just the best:) will miss our entertainment at Karawan very much!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksnelgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

visited hotel march 2014 after arriving there was very shocked as the pics seen before booking made it look lovely. reality sank in it was like a hostel cold not welcoming at all we checked in our room was freezing cold dirty bedding with hair on sheets, there was shavings in the sink filthy!!!
we went down to find a restaurant to get some food we walked up the road and there were gangs of men hanging around doorways and alleys I felt very scared and intimidated by them. we went back to our room and waited for the morning to see our rep,we went to breakfast it was vile not like the pictures of a lovely buffet ,we rang our rep several times I wanted to move hotel or a flight home asap. this was not a holiday it was horrid the streets were like Beirut the people weren't pleasant either our rep finally came late afternoon he found us a move to another hotel we had to pay to move I would of payed anything to get away from there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank summerglow2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Boujaafar
Residence Boujaafar
#22 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Faracha
Hotel El Faracha
#25 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel
Royal Beach Hotel
#33 of 35 in Sousse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#4 of 35 in Sousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Marabout Hotel
Le Marabout Hotel
#16 of 35 in Sousse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karawan Beach & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karawan Beach & Resort

Property: Karawan Beach & Resort
Address: Avenue Hedi Chaker | Route de la Corniche, Sousse 4000, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Sousse
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Karawan Beach & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Karawan Beach & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karawan Beach Hotel Sousse
Karawan Beach And Resort
Karawan Hotel Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing