We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many people and poor food”
Review of Le Marabout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Marabout Hotel
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Valby, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Too many people and poor food”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The beach is really nice and the rooms are airconditioned, spacious and very clean. And there was quiet at night in ourwing. But the breakfast is really bad and disappointing - long lines, bad tasting tea, russians without manners, no omelet guy etc - and the dinner is not much better. The salads are good though.
If you havent bought all inclusive - which the people that have advise against - you must pay for sunbeds, drinks etc and there is no place to sit down. The staff e.g the waiters and the nice hairdresser work hard and are generally friendly, except in the reception.
Avoid this hotel if you dont like people from Russia and eastern Europe.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcor66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    164
    107
    47
    56
See reviews for
168
123
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here for one week.
We enjoyed our stay here.the room was clean, the staff friendly(mostly), food is definetly catered toward Continental Europe( think pasteries, cereal & strangely enough hot dogs!).the swimming pool & slide area was great. They have volleyball, aqua aerobics, salsa lessons, yoga & much more and all done poolside. They have an "Animation Team" who try get you to join in, they are pushy to a point but know when to back off!!! They have evening entertainment some of which is questionable( Miss Marabout was probably not family entertainment!) but mostly good fun! The spa was an enjoyable experience. They also have a beach with sun loungers & umbrellas.
The only downfalls were sporadic wifi & the smell of smoke everywhere (they still allow indoor smoking in Tunisia) & the smell of horse urine right outside the main hotel doors.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away as possible from the night-time entertainment stage or your in for a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel in June, fortunately, I booked only one week. I chose ALL INCLUSIVE, but it didn't mean much to most of the staff in this hotel. They tried to charge me everything what is included in ALL INCLUSIVE. Juice in the restaurant, cotton mattress, which is nonsense, on the beach they have plastic and cotton mattress, and boys tried to convince me that there is a difference and that I have to pay. Room maid didn't clean my room 4 days. She lied that I put "don't disturb" ( 4 days ????). Actually she wants to be payed in advance, every day, to clean our rooms. Most of the guests from my group told me that they did it. I informed the reception, that did not pay attention firstly, but, since I was persistent to report these things after 2 days they reacted and talked to the head room maid. Nevertheless, my room wasn't cleaned after. I decided to inform the manager about this.He was polite and promised that I won't have problems with my room any more. And, that ALL INCLUSIVE guests don't pay for this what I was told to pay. But... Everything repeated next day on the beach. The boys there explained that they know better about the thing on the beach, although I told them that I spoke with the manager. When they face facts, and you show the bill that you really payed something what you don't have to pay they start with " oh, I didn't understand you". Of course , there is no need to understand you for these things because you have the sign ALL INCLUSIVE on your arm.
This happened many times every day, and not to mention that it is the same in the city. Every step you make somebody will try to sell you something and to cheat you. But, in the hotel ????
These people are allowed to do that, because they repeat that and they don't care about the manager and the reception.
I traveled with Kon Tiki, Serbia. Their answer was that it is the folklore of Tunisia. Cheating in the hotel, your hotel, every day and everywhere is the folklore of Tunisia???
And don't take taxi. There is a little touristic train which drives every 30 minutes. Nobody will tell you that. Maybe your guide/representative, receptionists "don't know" about that. Our guide didn't even mention that. It is clearly solidarity with taxi drivers which will charge you 2-3 times more for a drive.

Room Tip: Check which room you will get. There are two or three wings in the hotel. One is terrible, the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EminaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sousse hotels

Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Location is great as its close to everywhere, hotel has its own private lovely beach. Swimming pool with the water slides awesome! WiFi in reception area could improve as it was hard to connect few times. Breakfast was absolutely good choice of everything... The food in 2 restaurants (beside the pool and beside the beach) was lovely and they give you always (tunisian yummi yummi) starter for free. It only shows what a hospitality is in this hotel!!! Rooms in new block are modern and clean. Staff, barmains, enterteiners really nice and helpful. Would recommend that hotel for 100%!!! It's fantastic!!! Greetings from 2 polish girls!!! Dziękuję ! Thank You شكرا

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AniaPolskaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Our room was noisy and full of mosquitos but it was a good holiday. Helpful staff and good catering.
A lot of children and a lot of russian guests.
The beach was clean. Mattress for 2 TDN/person.
The hotel's location is very good. I recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I was in this hotel for10 days the only one think is good in this hotel is the bar and we like to say thanks for all the bar man .I was in the shop in the hotel other is 1 old men he speak so bad whit USS and he is so expansive you can go about side to the hotel you get whit the half prise and if you need sun bad you have to pay for it the room is not clean the hotel is so dirty we will never come back to this hotel

Room Tip: I sad to the ather guest that hotel is not good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Transylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Good sides:
- swimming pools with toboggans, free of charge
- decent food

Bad sides:
- the rooms are terrible cold. No carpet on the floor, just tiles. Everything is made of tiles in the room
- on oldish specific smell
- poor internet access; it got better outside, on the balcony
- only 1 electric socket supply, so you cannot charge 2 devices at once without an adapter
- a looooong way from the elevators to our room *(340), in the NOT renewed part of the hotel

Room Tip: At the beginning we were gave a ground floor room, so everyone could jump up in our balcony and into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boyarul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#15 of 35 in Sousse
1,582 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
969 reviews
0.4 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
1.4 mi away
Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Marabout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Marabout Hotel

Property: Le Marabout Hotel
Address: Boulvard du 7 Novembre, Sousse, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Marabout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Marabout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Marabout Sousse
Hotel Le Marabout

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing