We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vert nice hotell”
Review of Le Marabout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Marabout Hotel
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Reading what others have said abouth this place, we wonder where they've been? The hotel is very nice. The food very good ( we had brekfast and dinner inclusive) and the staff where SO nice and welcoming. Recomended.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Traxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

Reading the reviews for this hotel, I was expecting a cross between a labour camp & a zoo but I was very pleasantly surprised. We paid €324 for for this B&B trip. The hotel's location is excellent - within walking distance of shops, restaurants, other hotels. The hotel room we had was exactly as seen on their website. The bathroom was a little tired but it was a good size and the shower was powerful with always lots of hot water. Our room was poolside but the noise did not disturb us at all. Our room was cleaned every day by a very pleasant woman who never ever even suggested getting a tip. We left her two dinar (less than a euro) every few days cos she did such a good job.

Breakfast was the usual continental European buffet style from 6.30am to 9:30am and regularly replenished throughout these hours so there was more than enough food for everyone, even though some of the guests acted liked they hadn't seen food since the last century.

As we were B&B only, I cannot comment on what lunch or dinner was like. We ate at the poolside restaurant at lunch and on a few evenings and the food was excellent. Pizza Margherita for 7 dinar (less than €3.50), various pastas for around 8 dinars, steak, fish, sandwiches, omelettes, salads - all delicious. The waiters were so warm & friendly - they really helped make the stay special. I especially mention Amor on the day shift - what an absolute gentleman and Tariq who worked from 4pm to midnight.They couldn't do enough to help. I was disappointed to see that some guests seemed to think staff at the hotel were servants rather than employees & spoke to them in a disgraceful manner.

Facilities at the hotel include two outdoor pools, an indoor pool, direct beach access, water slides, table tennis, pool table, spa facillities - we had a massage and a seaweed wrap (65 dinar each ) and it was heavenly. Cushions for the sunbeds on the beach cost 2 dinar each but you don't need to take one if you don't want one.

There's an entertainment team here who deserve a medal for the energy they put into each day's activities. They start at 9.30am and don't finish until nearly 11pm at night. They do aqua aerobics with adults & kids, poolside dance lessons etc and they make sure they try to involve everyone. There's entertainment on stage every evening - yes it is very very cheesy but it's hilarious and the team try so hard it's impossible not to enjoy it. Furthermore all the kids seemed to be having an absolute ball.

There are some souvenir shops on site also so you'd never need to leave the hotel if you didn't want to.

My only minor complaint was that I thought the reception staff were quite curt but we didn't have too much to do with them so it in no way impacted on our enjoyment.

I think for the price, the Marabout was excellent value. I know there were others there during the same week we stayed who did not have the same positive experience we had but I can only comment on our experience. Remember this is only a Tunisia three star facility ( 1 to 2 star European standard). If you want 5 star facilities, there's a five star hotel just up the road (at least triple the price for drinks/snacks)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
13  Thank DubDud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

20 Eur pocket money for a receptionist helped to get “nice” room. The room was elderly but OK, with an exception of pillows which were uncomfortable and hard like a stone. There is nice aquapark but not all rides are open daily. Tidiness of the swimming pool and surrounding is not perfect. Food is similar every day and All Inclusive program is served in plastic caps.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zdehli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We wanted to try a hotel with an Aqua Park attached for a day out. Came to this hotel, paid 30TND for the day, which included nothing! Had to also pay separately for sunbeds and the staff were rude and unfriendly. There were only 3 rides open in the morning and then after an hours lunch break (when all the rides were closed) they opened the remaining three rides. We arrived at 10.00 am and by 3.00pm all the rides were working! Such a disappointment for the children who were so excited to spend the day in an Aqua Park. Would definitely NOT recommend it as an attraction for a day out!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jotoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here 6-13 August 2013. We travelled in a group of 6 (3 adults, 3 children) and had booked a family room for 4-6 persons with no balcony and all inclusive.

Negatives we experienced and witnessed:

* Unwelcoming staff, who offered no explanation about where everything was, times we could eat and drink and what all-inclusive REALLY ENTAILED!

*The room they gave us was tiny for 6 people with no balcony and only a sliding DIRTY window which WE CLEANED upon arrival.

* When we complained about the room, the rip-off manager said we must pay 500 Euros to move room, we declined his ridiculous 'offer' and instead asked our hotel based rep. to help us, we got a bigger 2 bedroom room with a balcony for 35 Euros, overlooking the VERY LOUD evening animation area. Luckily we found a way to sleep through the noise.

* The 2nd room we stayed in was clean-ish but the cleaner did not always clean the floor properly and sometimes 'clean sheets' had small marks on them. The biggest problem in the room was the LEAKING AIR CONDITIONING. It was often dripping and once made half of a bed wet. We complained about this, they sent a repair man but it was never fully fixed.

*Before you use the toilets in the poublic hotel toilets check for toilet paper because it was often missing.

* We felt TRICKED by the all-inclusive concept. Usually all inclusive means that unless it is being sold in a mini (super)market inside the hotel it is INCLUDED in the all-inclusive, but at Hotel Marabout most of the nice food and NORMAL drinks must be paid for (like at the (white) beach bar/restaurant, the swimmingpool restaurant, the pancake and ice cream place and at 1 inside bar area.)

* Be warned, the hotel offers very little food & drink options:

BREAKFAST: They serve coffee and hot chocolate, vile 'juices' BUT NO tea, water, real apple or orange juice and a very limited and repetitive brekfast.
LUNCH: You can eat in the busy and uninspiring inside restaurant or get food from the outside take away restaurant (similair food every day) and you can choose between DISGUSTING tasting cola, lemon, orange, apple, strawberry and pineapple 'juice', 'tapped' water and beer, REAL DIET COKE and TONIC.
DINNER: The same as lunch, but be aware of the scheming waiters. Do not sit down at a table where you see bottled water, cola, fanta or sprite because once they open the bottles you will be expected to pay for it.

TIP: If you want to go to this hotel bring extra money to spend in the hotel because you will might need it to change rooms, to tip 'staff' to bring you beach and pool chair mattresses, buy a decent drink and maybe enjoy the non-all inclusive food and snacks.

*If you have children be careful of the cabinet/doors that are situated in most hallways, they seem to open on their own and when you look inside there is a massive hole/drop where children could fall and really hurt themselves.

Overall impression of the hotel:
The beach is nice, the water slides are fun, especially for children but the reception and beach staff are not very friendly or helpful. At the beach they only want to help you if you tip them. The hotel is over crowded, not enough variety in food and drinks. The animation team seems the most friendly and they do their best, but the evening entertainment echoes throughout the hotel if you face the animation and/or pool area.

Room Tip: They have the old, the middle and the new complex, the old complex looks filthy, dated and dark. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Disappointed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We came to the hotel by chance: on Monday had to decide to fly on Tuesday. The tour was madeby the Ukrainian company Oasis, they were offer different types of rooms, we chose Sea view.
Stood a long time at passport control (Ramadan, probably) came in at about eight pm - we were immediately given wristbands All inclusive and sent to the restaurant.
The food at the hotel is highly commendable; there was no only an omelette for breakfast.
Later the circus began. It should be noted that I basically do not give bribes, although the from reviews I know what to expect from the Russian-speaking tourists. So I was ready for the procrastination.
First proposed room was facing the street (the cheapest category). I left my wife and luggage in the room and went back to the reception with a request to give a Sea view room. I want to mention that the negotiations with the employees I conducted in English.
I was immediately taken to a neighbor room with Pool view .
I went back, than I was shown two rooms on the first floor (not Sea view), and then I was told that there is no Sea view room, will be tomorrow.
Then I said that I'll spend the night here, an employee agreed to it.
I jumped over the counter and sat down in his place. Picked up a bottle of water and made an offer to pour water into computer.
Room was found after that.
Maybe it was just a ceremony of initiation, while I'm not very young (47 years old).
Perhaps the hotel employees will better relate to Russian-speaking tourists.
Room as simple, electricity works only when key label is inserted. Instead of a key label you can use a credit card (you can bring your worthless).
Sea wonderful, though there were small jellyfish, they were visible in the water and can be bypassed.
Water park with six large slides (at the same time there worked only three of them) is in the hotel courtyard. All inclusive tourists enjoy the water park for free - I was probably the oldest one.
During Ramadan, the locals did attended water park, there was no queue. The hotel staff does not follow the slides, tourists should take care of their safety.
I recommend this hotel for those travelers who prefer to relax on the beach and use the hotel only to sleep and eat.

Room Tip: Rooms in the upper floors with Sea views, rooms with Pool View are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank otaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Hotel Marabout is definitely a hotel to consider if you're looking for a good-value, child-friendly place to stay in Tunisia. Apart from the obvious attractions of the aqua park, water slides and various beach activities, the Marabout animation team organizes activities for children and adults round the clock - and when they are not engaged in zumba, salsa, water polo, beach volley, water aerobics, children's mini-disco, night time family entertainment and what have you, they hang around the pool area and goof around with the kids. These people are some of the most energetic and hard-working people I've ever met (these guys are at it from 9 in the morning till midnight - seven days a week!) Charming, amiable, great with kids - and they are all fantastic dancers! Definitely one of this hotel's best features - and guaranteed to make your children's holiday a very special one.

The pool area is large and clean and has several life guards on duty from 9 to 5 - most of whom are there to secure safety on the water slides. The beach is wonderful. Clean, turquoise water, powdery sand, beach chairs and parasols available for a small fee and hotel life guards on duty there as well.

In general staff is very friendly and service-minded. Especially when treated with dignity and respect. Make sure to leave a tip from time to time. Not that it is demanded or even expected. Just as a small token of appreciation for the hard work they do.

Reception staff can be a bit stand-offish though and seem to cater mainly to the vast number of Russian guests.

Room are spacious, air-conditioned and clean and all have nice balconies. Some facing the backyard, but all with a view to the Mediterranean Sea. Don't expect accessories like hairdryers, shampoo or mini-bars. Bring your own.

Wifi is a bit wobbly. Do not expect internet access at your convenience. Best chances are by the pool - and early in the morning.

All inclusive food is so-so and appears to be adapted to Russian taste on most days, Mondays excepted. (Monday is Tunisia night food and entertainment wise and the Tunisian dishes are really enjoyable.) However, there is a nice, inexpensive restaurant by the pool where you can vary the menu form time to time. You might also want to try a meal by the Medina where restaurants are plentiful and most are excellent.

Down sides: The many Russian guests take a bit getting used to. They vastly out-number all other nationalities and some of them behave abhorrently. Rude, loud, inconsiderate and pushy at the buffet, bar and water slides. Try to ignore them...

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool tend to be a bit noisy. If you are traveling with small children you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Margit_Lundsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.2 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#15 of 35 in Sousse
1,606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#8 of 35 in Sousse
985 reviews
1.2 mi away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#23 of 35 in Sousse
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
1.1 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,658 reviews
0.9 mi away
Residence Boujaafar
Residence Boujaafar
#20 of 35 in Sousse
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Marabout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Marabout Hotel

Address: Boulvard du 7 Novembre, Sousse, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range: £24 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Marabout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Expedia, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Marabout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Marabout Sousse
Hotel Le Marabout

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing