We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A three plus star hotel”
Review of Le Marabout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Marabout Hotel
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A three plus star hotel”
Reviewed 11 September 2010

For the money I paid for this hotel, I thought it was excellent. Firstly it looked impressive for a 3 star hotel, and it was rather big. The swimming pool was better than most 4 star hotels, the beach was amazing and the sea warm. The pool bar was very cheap and had nice food there. The service was ok, most of them rather grumpy unless tipped but it did not bother me. The room was ok, a little shabby but clean and there were no insects or bugs crawling around. The food ok, nothing special but really what can you expect from a three star budget hotel! All in all everything was excellent and I would recommend this place!! It may not be luxurious but for a nice comfortable break its a winner!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank ac170287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    165
    108
    49
    57
See reviews for
171
124
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Me, my friend and her 11 year old son stayed at this hotel for a week in June 2010. It was a nice family hotel with swimming pools, kids pools and water slide (for a small fee). The beach was just awesome, and right by the hotel. At the cost of 2 TDN a day you get a sunbed (this was manditory). The hotel is locacted in Sousse, with small shops/supermarkets in near by walk. A walk along the beach walk will take you to the Medina for more cheap shopping (a 20 minute walk - or you can take a taxi there for about 5 TDN). At the Medina be sure to not get ripped off, and tell the sellers to BACK OFF when needed. As me and my friend are blonds, they constantly thought we were from Sweden or Denmark (we are from Norway), so they started talking to us in Swedish. The Medina was charming, but a bit stressful. Back at the hotel we had half-pension including breakfast and dinner. The breakfast was awesome, a lot of variey. But if you don't like cheese or sousage the selection of things to put on your bread is minimal. The dinner was just terrible. I think out of the 7 days we were there we ate elsewhere 3 or 4 times. The dessert was good though, especially the ice cream. In stead, the pool bar/restaurant had some great food like cheese sandwich, pizza's, fries and a great spaghetti bologonese. Although, the selection was not big here either. The best thing was that the price of the food was just ridicolously cheap. You're not allowed to buy drinks from the supermarkets and bring into the room. We did, and hid it in our bags when entering the hotel (the guard stopped us the first time when we only had it in plastic bags). And we had to hide it in the room as well. Our room was at top floor (5th). It was cleaned every day and the bathroom was quite spacious. The only thing negative about the room was that it only had one electrical out take (+ one in the bathroom), and when traveling these days with computers, phones, video games you need to charge. A lot. Also, our room was located right next to a construction site (by the Royal Beach Club). They started verrrrrry early and finished late at night. And because of the humidity in the room we needed to have to door open all night. Thus, I woke up quite early every day (one day even as early as 5 a.m). But overall, we were VERY pleased with the hotel. Great and friendly staff (by tipping much, they were so nice), great entertainment (kids disco and a new show each day of the week), volleyball, water gymnastics, massage/spa and lot of happenings. Nice waiters that fought about serving us, haha. And considering the price, this was a great hotel. I would consider going back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CHaRTaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Just returned from Tunisia and visited this hotel for the day to use their waterpark Please , please beware! It is the hotels policy not to allow any food or drinks not bought at the hotel onto the grounds. There are no notices telling you this.
The pool waiters take any drinks they see. They took 2 bottles of water from our table while we were in the pool. They refused to hand it back, and we spent most of the morning argueing with various staff members. Our 12 year old and her friend got very upset by this.
We eventually had to see the hotel manager to complain. He was very rude, but eventually he gave us our money back and we left with the day spoiled. We told the manager we would be warning others via Trip Advisor and he said "Do what you like". What a way to run a business. Even some of the Tunisian staff were very upset by the hotels attitude and were as angry as we were.
It wasnt just us it happened to. A Dutch family sat alongside us said a bottle of water was taken out of their small boys hands, and another family had water removed from where they were sat.
Unbelievable.
We would never contemplate staying at , or visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank russ1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sousse hotels

Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

It was absolutely ok! Great food, pool, nice position. It was really worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelmaniac_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Me and my family went to Marabout i Sousse last summer in August. We had a very nice stay, the hotel was better than what we expected, for that low price. The pool area is good, the slides are great. You have to pay a little money for being allowed to use them, but it´s woth it! The beach is great. One of the best I´ve ever been at. There is a lot of watersport too.
Almost everyday the animation team organizes beach volleyball, soccer and water gymnastic.
The rooms are very simple, a bit worn, but OK!
The food is not the best. Breakfast is not very big, but I´m sure you will find something you like!
Evening buffet is different everyday.. some evenings I liked it very much, some evings was not so good. but still, you can always find something you like.
The poolbar served the best food in my opinion. Lovely pasta!
There is also many good restaurants around the courner!

The hotell has a very good location, close to Sousse town with its stores and restaurants.

If you´re looking for a good hotell, with a lovely beach and poolarea, located close to shops and resturants, and don´t need care if the rooms are a bit simple, THIS IS A HOTEL FOR YOU!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mijo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

stayed here a few times. rooms are so basic - no hairdryer and bathroom soap etc bad . . no details of services available. lot of ants etc in room .
if lucky enuf to get pool view then nice - other side, as my mate had was building site (not good and noise very bad). Think top floor is refurbished but still basic .

.. My opinion is they should have spent money on doing rooms up to 4 star standard...instead of building new pool and aqua slides. people want nice bedrooms and decent pool, so they went all out on pool and left crappy rooms . landing carpet and landings look so dreary and look out of scarey movie. . my choice would be nice comfy bed and decor an landing alley towards rooms iviting. Drinks at bar reasonable price but snack bar prices have risen way too much and portions have almost halved - not good. this was always an old traditional tunisian hotel who have tried to make it modern - not working

ok good location - can walk to town.....bars outside easy reach but some soo expensive , especially saloon bar and not very pleasant security staff either. (looks like mafia lol) ..week days ok to get in as they are glad of tourists but weekend different story,

The management of marabout have tried to bring hotel into modern society but if that case they should have done it 100% or left it as it was (as we loved). new hotel opening beside it (corilia club) will check it out. please marabout please refurbish rooms and think of old customers - dont change too much as it wont work

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slangford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ski Municipality, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We were a 4-generation, 13 people group on a 2 week family holiday, and as I had contacted the hotel in advance, they very kindly gave us all nice rooms with sea view in the same corridor. It's a fairly large hotel, not new but recently and thoroughly renovated, and presents itself with better facilities than the official 3 stars would indicate. It is also very centrally situated in the hotel area of Sousse, not to far from the city centre, and lots of shops and entertainment in the adjacent area.

The rooms are simple, but adequate, we were somewhat bothered by small, black ants but they were merely annoying. The chamber maid was efficient and friendly, and an early tip persuaded her to make up our room not too late in the afternoon. Fridges can be rented at 40 TD per week, and we did. Otherwise there is a general ban on bringing food or drinks into the room, but with the ant menace one can perhaps understand why?

Food in the buffet restaurant is good, the breakfast is a little boring, but the dinner buffets are varied and consistently good, the only problem is the mobs of apparently starved tourists with whom you have to fight minor battles for your dinner. The salad buffet was very appealing and not so fought over, so vegetarians won't perish here. But after a week of this "speed-dining" we tired and started to dine outside the hotel instead.

There is even an indoor pool, but the outside pool area is very nice, with an elaborate water slides/toboggan rig (if you like this get the "all holiday"-offer of 20 TD) and there are fresh green lawns with sunbeds closer to the pool for those who don't like sand between toes. But the beach here is truly amazing! Very broad (and wide) with old-fashioned wooden sunbeds and wonderful palm umbreallas, and eager and service minded boys (with neon yellow "STAFF" T-shirts) that supply mattresses for the sunbeds (at 2 TD per day), fetch drinks or food from the charming beach restaurant, etc. They also guard you from rogue vendors that pass on the lower beach. The sea is unbeliavable; turquoise, fresh and so shallow even small children can bathe.

The only thing that lets down the experience is the reception staff. They seem to receive the informarion or complaints you give them and then nothing happens. We had no air condition in the room for the first week and more, and after reporting this a number of times we just ignored it even if it was very uncomfortable. Somehow, magically, it seemed to fix itself 4 days before departure. The (rest of the) staff is friendly and efficient, but I do speak some French and that sure came in handy. Just English isn't going to get you very far if you have problems.

It was a very cost efficient holiday, in 2 weeks I spent less than 10.000 NOK (about 1100 Euro or 1500 USD), shopping and all else included, and I would spent a lot more at home in 2 weeks. So, yes, I would recommend it! I have been to Tunisia before and I will surely return.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DSS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,585 reviews
0.4 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#5 of 35 in Sousse
1,613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 35 in Sousse
969 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Marabout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Marabout Hotel

Property: Le Marabout Hotel
Address: Boulvard du 7 Novembre, Sousse, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Marabout Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Marabout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Marabout Sousse
Hotel Le Marabout

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing