We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe all the negative reviews.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Sousse
Reviewed 4 February 2010

First of all, don't let all those negative reviews put you off this hotel. Of course there are a few things which will not always be to some people's liking. We went here in January this year, and got what we expected - a good, clean hotel in the middle of winter, so didn't expect much in the line of entertainment. There was some, every night in the main lounge, suitable for the clientele - mainly middle aged+.

We arrived just as the evening meal was being served. Once we'd been shown to our room (bags taken by porter), we sampled our first meal...buffet, as all meals are, and VERY good food. At this point, all I can say about the people who have been negative about the food is, they must be cordon bleu fish n chip eaters! This hotels' kitchens, serves first class food every day. What you have to remember though, is that they have to cater for the tastes of many different nationalities, and do so very well.

The rooms however, although adequate were a little basic. Cleaned daily by very friendly staff, always with a smile, and the previous review stating that all they wanted was their tips..........THAT is a load of codswallop!! In my eyes, good service deserves a tip. Be reminded though, that all rooms have a TV, however there is a 20 dinar cost for a remote so you can watch it.

These reviews are supposed to be about the hotel, NOT the town, nor the booked trips, nor the weather. All of those can be disappointing in their own way, but there is little disappointment from the hotel or its staff. The pool will be in summer, a haven to die for, unfortunately in winter, you would have to be a die-hard swimmer to go in. It was freezing. With that in mind, a little stroll through the well manicured gardens takes you to the beach where you can enjoy a walk almost to Port El Kantaoui or Sosse.

All in all, visiting the Thalassa will not be a disappointment to anybody, UNLESS your standards are such that you are only used to staying in very exclusive 5* hotels. This is not a 5* and doesn't even pretend to be. But what it is, is a very good value for money 3*+/4* holiday hotel, staffed with the most pleasant and helpful people. Go there? Without a doubt. Enjoy it? Now that depends on your personal tastes, but you certainly won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
There are newer reviews for Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2010

The hotel was clean, food very average and never hot, staff only concerned about whether they were going to get a tip and only some of the receptionists seemed genuinely helpful. Our rep recommended the Sahara Desert trip which we did but had we known that it meant travelling both days for 13 hours would not have done it.

Sousse itself wasn't very interesting and got fed up with taxi drivers and shop traders continually trying to drag us in to buy their wares. There wasn't a moment you could actually relax and enjoy browsing round any shops at all. Beware of taxi rip-offs too. The continual reassurance by the rep that Tunisians are friendly is a load of codswollop, all they're interested is getting money from you. NOTHING IS FREE!!

Wouldn't dream of going back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monarchoftheglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

This hotel is absoulatly fantastic! dont listen to any bad comments, i went therel ast august for 2 weeks, and i must say out of all the hotels ive ever been to, none of them could ever top this one! i would say if not a 4star most definatly a 5 star! the animation team really make it enjoyable for you, and the night time entertainement is one of the funniest things youve ever seen, when they get all the people doing differnt things. Alot to do with side such as the slides which are great fun, and on the beach, which has banna boats and flying fish:) the food is lovley, always have a lot out there, and between 4-5 they have snacks such as pancakes and doughnuts hmm yummmyyy! the town in souse was nice, had some good shops, and as they say one of there owen primark which seels some good souvaneirs cheaply! the room were lovely! had no problams, and had airconditioning and lovely brighton colourbeds.and lastly the spa, it is soo relaxing, and they do amazing affordable treatments, had my nails done and massages, and were lovely. I hope you enjoy this holiday if you go, as much as i did.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshine1397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

On arriving at the hotel they looked after our bags and sat us down to eat as it was midday when we arrived. There was a wide selection of lovely food and all of the waiters were extremely friendly. We were then showed to our rooms and they took our bags for us.
The room was very clean and was cleaned daily. We were given fresh towels everyday. It was air-conditioned which was well and truly needed because of the 55degree weather.
The bars are open 24hours, the night shows are quite good and prepared well by the amazingly friendly thallassa sousse animation team. Snacks and drinks are provided around the pool bar during the day. There is also a shop where you can buy gifts and more snacks.
All inclusive is well worth it, although the drinks are given in quite small glasses sometimes there is a wide range and you can still go up and get another. When you come to think about it you are save so much money. The alacarte meal was very nice and i recommend it.
There was entertainment around the pool during the day. The animation team provided lots of fun activities for all ages to join in.The staff are fantastic.

I highly recommend this value for money holiday package. We made lots of friends and will be going back soon :)
Amy & Kim

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amy-the-traveller92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Me and my husband were really looking forward to our holiday over the festive period and into the new year as it was going to be the last chance we able to holiday as a couple before the arrival of our first child. We read the reviews (after already having booked the Thalassa) and were a little aprehensive as to what to expect. Unfortunately we found the majority of the negative reviews to be correct....

1) Whilst the main areas seem spotless to the naked eye, little things like the tables in the bar never seemed to be wiped and the cutlery in the main resturant had to be inspected.

2) Considering we probably paid more for this holiday because of the time of year most of the facilities were NOT up and running --> there was only ONE Bar open in the hotel which had constant ques (one/two people serving) when you EVENTUALLY got your drink it came in a thimble-sized glass. Carbonated drinks always appeared FLAT. The drinks list was VERY limited and used poor quality examples.

3) The buffet food bacame very monotonous after 7 days (only 1 themed 'Tunisian' night).

4) The rooms seriously needed updating and definately was not of a 4* standard --> the bathroom was unacceptable - infact the WHOLE room needed a thorough clean - the daily room clean left much to the imagination. We viewed another room and that was even WORSE!

5) Apart from a selection of monotonous cakes (no snacks as the hotel advertises) there is no food available outside of the designated Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner slots. So, after arriving at the hotel at night tired and hungry there was no food available for us (no Room Service either). We were then told that we couldn't change up any money at the hotel until the morning as the Bureau De Change was out of hours. We then had to walk to the nearest hotel, change up our money and continue walking until we found the nearest resturant at 11pm - NOT THE BEST START to our holiday... it all went downhill from there....

6) The All Inclusive Option is definately NOT Worth it ... the selection of drinks is poor and snacks are practically non-existent...it's so much cheaper to eat locally and the service seemed so much better.

7) The location wasn't bad, taxi transfers were reasonable but prepare yourself for a hair-rasing ride...hold onto your hats!

If you have already booked your stay at the Thalassa Sousse then I really hope that your stay is far more enjoyable than ours was!! GOOD LUCK!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

I booked this hotel as the Thomson advert said it was modern, had 3 restaurants, 3 bars and a spa. Only one bar was open and we had to queue for 15-20 mins for a drink. The a la carte served the same food as the all inclusive deal, the only difference was the served you rather than self service. Food and drink was very basic and not very nice- not 4 star standard/.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carts1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We spent Christmas at this hotel. The room was excellent - a bungalow with 2 bedrooms, hallway, bathroom and toilet; and plenty of wardrobes. It was cleaned thoroughly everyday - the maid even formed our towels into swans and arranged our children's pyjamas into different shapes. The food was excellent - we are not the easiest family to please with three of us being vegetarian and our autistic son not being able to eat gluten. The waiters and chefs went the extra mile to ensure we were well fed, preparing special meals for our son. We didn't have much to do with Feti the rep but he assisted our passage through Monastir airport and ensured our son was well looked after at the airport and whilst boarding the plane. The Tunisian people love children and our children enjoyed being made a fuss of - especially when they were visited by Father Christmas. The entertainment on Christmas Eve was very good with a six course meal and music. The guests were mainly French, Flemish, German and Italian - they were friendly and family orientated. It was an ideal relaxing place to stay with a port and medina a pleasant walk away.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 37,400,911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sousse hotels
0.9 mi away
JAZ Tour Khalef Thalasso & Spa
0.2 mi away
Marhaba Royal Salem
Marhaba Royal Salem
#6 of 35 in Sousse
1,642 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marhaba Beach Hotel
Marhaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 35 in Sousse
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marhaba
Hotel Marhaba
#7 of 35 in Sousse
980 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tej Marhaba Hotel
Tej Marhaba Hotel
#14 of 35 in Sousse
1,593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orient Palace Hotel
Orient Palace Hotel
#18 of 35 in Sousse
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark

Address: 2011 Boulevard 14 Janvier, Sousse 4000, Tunisia (Formerly LTI Thalassa Sousse)
Region: Tunisia > Sousse Governorate > Sousse
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sousse
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sousse
Price Range: £57 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an unbeatable situation on a golden sandy beach along the Mediterranean Sea, just a few steps from the vibrant city of Sousse, this luxurious hotel offers the perfect choice for holidaymakers eager to explore something out of the ordinary and spice up their sun holidays with a range of outstanding services. Close to El Kantaoui Marina and just a 30-minute drive from the Monastir International Aiport, the comfortable rooms are spread over 3 floors. Those travellers wishing to enjoy full privacy may prefer the comfortable bungalows overlooking the pools or the beach and providing its own terrace. Guests staying at this establishment may find a wide range of dining options including international cuisine, Tunisian specialities and different bars offering the best place to share moments with the family or friends. The magnificent water park offers the young ones the best place to have a great time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thalassa Sousse Resort & Aquapark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Thalassa Sousse Hotel Sousse
Lti Thalassa Hotel Sousse
Sousse Lti Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Sousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing