We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Mandalay, double check services” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ET Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ET Hotel
Ranked #17 of 59 Mandalay B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good for Mandalay, double check services”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

Nice rooms, good price (for Myanmar). Free wifi is a plus. Breakfast is mediocre. I also was catching a 4:00 am train and asked them to organize a taxi. They did not. It was extremely difficult to find one at 3:30 am.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chw_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    55
    84
    23
    7
See reviews for
5
75
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Rooms are clean with air/con, however we suffered from bloody hungry Mosquito's getting in our room via the air/con unit which was poorly meshed.
The bathrooms are very small, but have good hot water supply.
The free wifi only works from reception & first floor lounge.
Breakfast was average considering the expensive room rate.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tacticalmunitions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mandalay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We arrived very early in the morning in Mandalay and had prebooked a room at ET, so we went there by taxi and hoped that the door will be open... We were very surprised that the friendly staff gave us our room already in the early morning, so that we could get some sleep after the night in the bus. What a great service! The lady at the reception always knew which room we had, we never had to tell her the room-number to get our key - wow! The room was clean, as well as the bathroom. We rented bycicles there which was a great way to explore the city. We also booked a daytrip to Sagaing, Inwa and Amarapura at the hotel. It was a nice day but it's important to know, that there are quite a lot of not included costs that you have to pay during the day (boats, entry-fees,...) – ask about it before you book it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChMBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chang mai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Found this a good value, clean and friendly hotel to stay in, basic but comfortable enough. wi fi in the lobby is slow ish but still usable and the staff are v v helpful, on the down side the electrics in the room were poorly maintained, didn't need it, but the air con wasn't working and the sockets wern't working, or one out of 4 was and the major minus for me was that the hotel allowed smoking in the enclosed smallish lobby, breakfast area and in the 'common' areas on each floor, not pleasant certainly over breakfast.

Room Tip: not facing the street and not directly under the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superspurs2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesena, Italy
Level Contributor
1,159 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,071 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

We spent two nights here.
The hotel offers very large and cleaned rooms, a decent breakfast. There is the the chance to use free internet wi fi in the main hall of the hotel. The reception can help you in planning all your bus transports from the city to all the other destination in Myanmar. The staff is really kind, nice and polite. We really recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We spend 1+3 nights in a twin room with bathroom (no. 109 and 205) in ET Hotel in July during our 28 day trip in Burma.

For 13 000 K we got TV, bathroom with hot shower, fan (stable, their own generator) + AC (not stable, government's electricity) and breakfast. The room didn't have a fridge.

For breakfast we had an egg as we liked it, coffee and tea, bananas, butter and jam, roasts - nothing special. In case you leave early they pack breakfast also.

The staff was really helpful.

Not so good sides also: you can't buy tickets there (but they help you to find the offices), fan has only on/off switch (and it makes room quite windy) and there were some mosquitoes in the room.

Owerall I liked this hotel. It is well located and it's easy to visit central market (10 min walk), Shwekyimyint paya next door (2 min walk) and Mandalay hill (15 min drive). Nearby are some good restaurants, for example Lashio Shan Restaurant, and internet cafes.

Room Tip: 109 and 205 were good (twin rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qwerty1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed for two nights here and got a rooftop twin room for $12. it was basic but the breakfast was nice and staff where very helpful and friendly.

We were about 10 mins walk from the royal palace entrance and restaurants were about 5 mins away, recomend the ice cream shop two blocks down.

Tuk Tuk and taxi sit outside but walk a block and you will get a better price.

They phoned our next hotel with no charge and couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeprechaunLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel A1
Hotel A1
#13 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#2 of 106 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yadanarbon Hotel
Royal Yadanarbon Hotel
#27 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 106 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#6 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.7 mi away
79 Living Hotel
79 Living Hotel
#32 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ET Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ET Hotel

Property: ET Hotel
Address: 129 (A) 83rd, Bet 23-24, Mandalay, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — ET Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your ET Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing