We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay budget hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of ET Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ET Hotel
Ranked #17 of 59 Mandalay B&B and Inns
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Okay budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Adequate budget hotel for a couple of days whilst exploring Mandalay. Aircon worked, wifi was good and breakfast was okay. For those on a budget this is fine to stay at. Hotel staff are helpful and speak fairly good English

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TassieRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    55
    84
    23
    7
See reviews for
5
75
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

hotel OK, $20 for double with fan.
-neighbourhood is full of other hotels, take a look there too especially the ones that are not in the lonely planet.
-bustickets at the reception are quite expensive
-hotel staff VERY helpful in finding new hotel (Bagan). They speak decent English.
-If you are very persistent and ask the manager multiple times they may serve you noodles instead of the untasty fried eggs breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wagnnxnwp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

Free wifi which worked adequately, basic breakfast of egg and toast, and friendly staff. They did book friends of mine onto a local bus to kalaw, instead of the promised AC bus, but I wasn't affected so can't really comment!

The double room with bathroom was 25, TV did not have any English channels, aircon worked but was a bit noisy. Clean though!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

But it does the job with no frills. Like everywhere in this beautiful land you have to do your homework when it comes to booking buses, taxis and tours. Everyone gets a cut whenever possible! The price of things is x4 for us foreigners, I know this because my Burmese friends do my negotiating and shopping.
The hotel has good wifi, and a good location. The room is not too dirty, and is big enough. The breakfast is just okay. The bread is yuk, the eggs ok, and the bananas are delicious. 25$ is good value now in Burma!

Room Tip: Back of the building for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinhayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
187 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Kind of expensive at $20 a night for a double with fan and bathroom but worth it for the free decent wifi. Our room was huge and airy and the bathroom was spotless. DON'T however book your bus tickets here- they charged us a lot to get to Bagan and booked us onto a "cargo bus," which turned out to be this ancient contraption going along the cheap, pot-holed back roads and filled with sacks. Plus us uncomfortably perched on top. It was galling to find out we'd paid similar to people travelling by air con night buses going along the main roads.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank killtacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muara, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Whatever you do, don't stay at the roof top. It's boiling and its very dirty. Bottles everywhere. I found dead crockroaches on the floor when I woke up the next day. The only plus - great WiFi up to the second floor. oh and don't use any of their tour or ticket services because it costs way more. it's cheaper if you ask the drivers outside. Poor breakfast as well.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mandalay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

I was overall pleased with my stay at ET Hotel. We paid usd20 for a double room. The free wifi works in the hangout area of the 2nd floor and the lobby, and the included breakfast was sufficient. Rooms were clean and had no mildewy smells. Garbage wasn't taken out of the room daily but the linens and towels were replaced. Staff was attentive and helpful. Another nice touch was that they switched on espn for us to watch the us open final match (the only English channel on the tv is controlled by the desk downstairs). I wouldn't recommend using their transport though- we found that negotiating directly with drivers outside was cheaper than their quoted prices.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fushigisushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel A1
Hotel A1
#12 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#2 of 106 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Yadanarbon Hotel
Royal Yadanarbon Hotel
#27 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 106 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.7 mi away
79 Living Hotel
79 Living Hotel
#32 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ET Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ET Hotel

Property: ET Hotel
Address: 129 (A) 83rd, Bet 23-24, Mandalay, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — ET Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your ET Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing