We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away...”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Great Wall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Wall Hotel
Ranked #66 of 108 Hotels in Mandalay
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stay away...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Rooms were clean but poorly maintained. Bathroom is sad and shower setup is weird. Breakfast is disappointing - fried noodles and stir fried veggies. The idea of screamble, sunny side up is too advanced for the "fried egg" station. Lots of traffic noise.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nakedcrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Wall Hote... M, Manager at Great Wall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your feedback on tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not comfortable. Sorry again for any convenience cause, we have already made the changes and upgrade our hotel. We are also working to improve our services.
If you are planning to come back to Mandalay, We hope you will consider us again, So we could make your stay pleasant. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly via email (greatwallhotelmdy@gmaill.com), as we can offer you a better price for the next stay.

Yours sincerely,
Great Wall Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    12
    11
    14
    9
See reviews for
4
14
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was my most disappointing experience in Myanmar. The beds were hard, the hotel old and unmaintained, the showers poor, the breakfast disappointing and the general cleanliness lacking. Regrettably,and in all fairness, the hotel was being renovated for the Asian games but I sympathise with the athletes who will be in for a shock.

Room Tip: Lower floors are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Wall Hote... M, Manager at Great Wall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your feedback on tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not comfortable. Sorry again for any convenience cause, we have already made the changes and upgrade our hotel. We are also working to improve our services.

If you are planning to come back to Mandalay, We hope you will consider us again, So we could make your stay pleasant. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly via email (greatwallhotelmdy@gmaill.com), as we can offer you a better price for the next stay.

Yours sincerely,
Great Wall Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mandalay hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This has to be the noisiest hotel I've ever stayed in. It is located right next to the main highway leading into Mandalay and traffic is really horrible 24/7 making sleeping an almost impossible task in this hotel.

While the rooms are large and the WiFi connection the fastest I had during my stay in Myanmar, they don't make up for the ridiculous noise levels and thus the poor sleep quality.

Furthermore the location approximately 4 kilometers south of the city center is really inconvenient, especially if you consider that there are barely any taxis and no buses in Mandalay. Therefore you usually have to spend an hour walking into the city center.

If you consider that the hotel is charging rates that are well above the average rates of most other local hotels of a similar standard one can only give the advise to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JochenHertweck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Wall Hote... M, Manager at Great Wall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your feedback on tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not comfortable. Sorry again for any convenience cause, we have already made the changes and upgrade our hotel. We are also working to improve our services.

If you are planning to come back to Mandalay, We hope you will consider us again, So we could make your stay pleasant. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly via email (greatwallhotelmdy@gmaill.com), as we can offer you a better price for the next stay.

Yours sincerely,
Great Wall Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

The Great Wall Hotel might have seen better days, the rooms and lobby are rather uninspiring. I felt sorry for the huge fish in the small tank in the lobby...
The room and bathroom were clean, the room was rather large with dated furniture.
Breakfast was below average and served in a huge soulless dining room.
Very expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaMariaBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Wall Hote... M, Manager at Great Wall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your feedback on tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not comfortable. Sorry again for any convenience cause, we have already made the changes and upgrade our hotel. We are also working to improve our services.

If you are planning to come back to Mandalay, We hope you will consider us again, So we could make your stay pleasant. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly via email (greatwallhotelmdy@gmaill.com), as we can offer you a better price for the next stay.

Yours sincerely,
Great Wall Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adjuntas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
164 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a tour package. The room is big with all the things that you may need. The restroom had plenty of hot water for a good shower after a busy day. There is free wifi available and the only thing that I didn’t liked was that when I got to my room it was really hot, I tried to turn on the AC and it didn’t appear to work, I called the front desk and apparently there is a default “delay” setting so, when you get to your room and activate the electricity with your key your AC doesn’t turn up, it takes a bit unless you press a bottom that is next to the AC console. For that I had to get on top of a chair then on top of a desk so I can reach the bottom, unfortunately the default temperature was too high and the room never felt cool, honestly I’m not too sensitive to warm environments but that AC was not properly cooling even though it looked new. I think other people had the same experience as I asked around. Also, there is no “do not disturb” sign and since I didn’t want room service I told the front desk people to make a note, and well apparently they never informed the appropriate person to not get into my room. Besides that everything was fine with the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silarem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Wall Hote... M, Manager at Great Wall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your feedback on tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not comfortable. Sorry again for any convenience cause, we have already made the changes and upgrade our hotel. We are also working to improve our services.

If you are planning to come back to Mandalay, We hope you will consider us again, So we could make your stay pleasant. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly via email (greatwallhotelmdy@gmaill.com), as we can offer you a better price for the next stay.

Yours sincerely,
Great Wall Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

I was in Mandalay with my group on april 2013. It was a short but intense stay. From Mandalay we visited all the nearby attractions and the near Mingun, Ava, Saigang and Amarapura. The hotel was a great choice, with plenty of breakfast and wifi, very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roma75Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Wall Hote... M, Manager at Great Wall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you had pleasant experience.
We hope to see you again when next time in Mandalay Myanmar, also please contact us directly via email (greatwallhotelmdy@gmail.com) for the future booking and we will make sure you have best deal with the best services.
Kind regards,
Great Wall Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gradara, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

The Great Wall Hotel has a big and clean rooms, with air conditioning, bath and television. Wi-fi connection is available and there are two pc in the lobby for the guests. Breakfast is very good, with bread, jam, butter, milk, eggs, noodles, rice etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvaG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Wall Hote... M, Manager at Great Wall Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2016
Dear Eva G81,
Thank for your kind feedback on tripadviosr, we are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Great Wall Hotel.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us via email (greatwallhotelmdy@gmail.com) for the best prices in the future.
Yours Sincerely,
Great Wall Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Hotel 78
The Hotel 78
#76 of 108 in Mandalay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aung Gyi Soe Hotel
Aung Gyi Soe Hotel
#86 of 108 in Mandalay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.9 mi away
Perfect Hotel
Perfect Hotel
#96 of 108 in Mandalay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nice Dream Hotel
Nice Dream Hotel
#41 of 108 in Mandalay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.8 mi away
Win Star Hotel
Win Star Hotel
#45 of 108 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ye' Myanmar
Hotel Ye' Myanmar
#40 of 108 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wall Hotel

Property: Great Wall Hotel
Address: Block (901), 78th Road | Between 42nd & Theinpan Street, Mandalay, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 108 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Odigeo, JovagoAsia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Wall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing