We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hotel Mandalay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mandalay
Ranked #90 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Hi,

I visited Mandalay from 26 Feb - 1 Mar 2014. The hotel was fantastic, big clean and comfortable rooms, centrally located. Just the cost was too high. Just look at other hotels and may be you get a good deal.

I wish good luck for Hotel Mandalay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    18
    33
    13
    3
See reviews for
8
15
4
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We asked for non smoking room but as soon as we arrived the room, could smell the cigarette in the room. May be the guest smoked even though it is supposed to be nonsmoking room. Room is spacious but the Wifi here is useless. We are on 2nd floor and our room is located near one side of the building and found out that the fire exit is only at the further end of the building. Otherwise elevators are only choice. Hotel lobby rakes of cigarette. Breakfast is OK.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MyaA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mandalay hotels

Mandalay, Myanmar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This is a party hotel for locals with nonresponsive staff. Forget about sleeping, even on weeknights. The old section of the hotel is run down, windowless rooms in some cases. Non-western breakfast assortment. Worst hotel experience I've had in Myanmar (and I have worked here for nearly a year and been all over the country). Avoid this place unless the only option is sleeping on the street - and even then consider looking for a safe location under a roof.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

the lobby and the swimming pool area are very beautiful rooms are small and sort of out of date if you compare it with other hotels. The Hotel closed the pool area for one afternoon as they were having a Gala Event..even thought they warned us of this event they should have offered us something in return instead of just a notification that it would not be in use for the guests.
My thoughts were they could have offered paying guests something rather bad on management side.. breakfast was great american style with other choices

Room Tip: book a room over looking the pool beautiful of a night and fab pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here for one night. It is old but still good. The room is very big, clean and comfortable. The hot shower is great. The free wifi is good (compared to Burma standard). The breakfast is good with many choices eg. Asian, western and some local food.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SamTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

A short business trip to Mandalay.The hotel has large clean rooms, a good breakfast, and represents good value in Myanmar where hotels are often expensive.TV included some international cable channels..... The free wifi was slow - but this is a common Myanmar issue.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianfly30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

After reading a lot of the reviews on Tripadvisor, we did not have high expectations but thought we'd roll the dice given the short amount of time we had to plan our trip.

The staff is as friendly as you'll ever find anywhere in the world. The showers were recently updated and we were really happy we got hot showers and rain shower head. Room was very clean and in the quiet part of the hotel. The free breakfast was really good and plentiful. Even the drip pour coffee was surprisingly good.

There was even a gym and swimming pool which was decent enough but don't expect a Bally's gym.

I can't say enough about how accommodating the staff was. We left a tip for housekeeping and the front desk let us know that we forgot money in the room. Now that's honesty!

They are renovating many parts of the hotel and expanding it as well so just be aware there's a construction going on.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrfield999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Queen Mandalay
Hotel Queen Mandalay
#59 of 110 in Mandalay
142 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Magic Mandalay
Hotel Magic Mandalay
#43 of 110 in Mandalay
5 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 76
Hotel 76
#87 of 110 in Mandalay
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#18 of 110 in Mandalay
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yuan Sheng Hotel
Yuan Sheng Hotel
#14 of 110 in Mandalay
172 reviews
2.7 mi away
Esperado Getaway Mandalay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mandalay

Property: Hotel Mandalay
Address: No. 652 78th Str, Between 37th / 38th | Mahamaungmyay Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mandalay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JovagoAsia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing