We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mingy, expensive but good”
Review of Cafe City

Cafe City
Ranked #19 of 195 Restaurants in Mandalay
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A short walk from Red Canal Hotel but take a torch as limited street lighting. A great bistro style restaurant serving a large range if European (Try the Beef steak or fish and chips) and Asian food, main courses K5000 – K7000. A good selection of French and Australian wine starting from K12,500 per bottle. Fun atmosphere with fast friendly service. Busy on the nights we were there with mainly a younger local crowd so get there early for a table.
Brest, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mingy, expensive but good”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

All restaurant near the entrance of the palace are more expensive than other place. 3900 for a chicken burger with 7 chips. No price on the drink menu, 2200 for a juice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    102
    40
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good food and coffee”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We actually liked this enough to eat there twice. The fish kabobs, in particular, are quite good, and the coffee drinks are also good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KenaiAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Good soups and local rum sours”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Nice location in North Mandalay by the Old Palace moat, lively and full of young locals i.e. not touristy! Nice ambiance. We arrived early evening when it was not too packed and had good service. Mostly western food. Strongly recommend their Mandalay rum sours (ask for low sugar if you don't like it too sweet) - at KT 300 (($0.30) each, very good value and the Mandalay rum is really great quality made from local sugar cane.
As others have said, bring a torch as street lighting at night is bad (we walked from Red Canal hotel which took c 10 minutes).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xxxasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hue, Vietnam
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We tried.”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We came in and sat down. And waited. Waved our hands. A waiter came over and gave us the wifi password then walked away when we attempted to order drinks. They just lost the business of two resident expats with money to spend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElSchon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna
Level Contributor
172 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fair cafè”
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Nice bar with western style.

The menu seems rich enough and the plates well presented.

I tried a beef hamburger, it was not bad (the meat was over cooked though).
The price is ridiculously low.


I will try it another time before leaving Mandalay

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank popamiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe City also viewed

Mandalay, Mandalay Region
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 

Been to Cafe City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing