We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK hotel but nice swimming pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
London
Level Contributor
714 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
“OK hotel but nice swimming pool”
Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the Sedona Mandalay. The hotel is OK but the swimming pool is very large and nice. The location is good. A good option considering it is Burma and Mandalay. We ate 1 night at the Red Canal hotel and I will stay there instead next time.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    329
    130
    29
    20
See reviews for
58
298
38
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We searched for a comfortable hotel in Mandalay and found The Sedona a Singapore owned to be to our liking.And we were happy to have made the choice as we were looking for comfort and luxury ,which was a far cry of what one see on the streets or in the rice field where people face daily hardship and substandard living conditions because of their being shut off from the outside world.
The Hotel itself is very spacious and built to the same standard as any in Asia.Staff are polite and speak good English and know what they are doing. Slight snag with the wifi access and for Apple users.We had to get their IT man to reset application,he said it happens only with Apple.Also signal does not work on 4th floor so one has to come down to lobby for access.Breakfast buffet was good.But we took short walk to restaurants outside hotel to dine.
Overall a nice stay but we were disappointed to find that Mandalay did not have much to offer for foreign tourists.Its the center for agriculture trade for the country.Although outside town,one see village life of cattle carts and people bathing on river bank.

Room Tip: Ask for room on front side and on high floor.It has better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelbugX50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We were able to book at this hotel through Agoda while we were in Myanmar so it was a great way to save cash! The lobby, restaurant and pool areas were very nice. The room, although in need of updating was very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with a good selection on offer, even Burmese Chai! The Sedona is a standard business hotel with no surprises.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harjumaa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Hotel lobby is very promising, but in the rooms have old furniture and in corridors and irooms impatient to mold odor (it is probably due to the fact that all the corridors and rooms have 100% covering with carpets and eventually carpet pulls together all the dirt etc.). We booked a non smoking room, but their terms this means that just aired the room prior to your arrival. However, the furniture still smells of tobacco :(
Pool was mainteined. So I could not swim in pool. Sun chairs was broken.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liisi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is a well run, well located, comfortable hotel with good amenities. The rooms are a bit plain in comparison with the attractiveness of the lobby and other common spaces, but if you get a north-facing room with a view of the palace walls, the moat and Mandalay Hill, you won't notice. There's a very nice pool on the other side, but it doesn't make for as interesting a view. Internet was reliable. If only they would take credit cards!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
389 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel in Mandalay. It was very comfortable and a nice place to come back to after long days of sightseeing. There are good restaurants within walking distance as well (Green Elephant and Little Bit of Mandalay).

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking toward the palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This was another aged business hotel. It was in need of some updating. It was in a decent location and it was they did have a decent breakfast. The staff was friendly enough, but the hotel was not very comfortable or homey.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berlydallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
0.7 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#5 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#11 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Hotel Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Hotel Mandalay

Property: Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Address: 1 Junction of 26th and 66th Street | Chanayetharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#4 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sedona Hotel Mandalay 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, Sedona Hotel Mandalay is strategically located in the heart of the city and faces the majestic Royal Palace and Mandalay Hill - sights that are a pleasure to behold. As one of the best hotels in Myanmar, we offer guests spacious suites and rooms and also a range of meeting, dining and recreational facilities to ensure an enjoyable stay. At Sedona Hotel in Mandalay, we enrich your tour of Myanmar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sedona Hotel Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Sedona Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing