We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really weird place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This place was weird and creepy. If by 'business hotel' you mean hotel that runs businesses out of it, then the business hotel description is accurate. We stayed on the 4th floor and the conference rooms next to us were occupied (permanently judging by the signage) by what appeared to be a Chinese construction or mining company or something. Air conditioning worked horribly in both the rooms and common areas. With the added twist of no windows that could be opened. Overall I guess the creepiest part of this hotel was it's decade out of date, non-descriptness. You literally feel as though you could be in a doubletree in Dayton Ohio in 1995 when you enter the room. Restaurant was pretty lousy for breakfast as well. We didn't eat dinner there and opted for local restaurants nearby each night. The bed was a hideous torture device (hard as a board and the pillows just as bad!) The bathroom looked clean enough but there was a lot of mold (understandable with the environment) and some funky smells. Plus the water that came out of the sink and shower was literally the color of tea. It smelled badly as well. We mentioned our disappointment about the Sedona to our guide who suggested we look at the Red Canal in case we ever visit Mandaly again. We were absolutely charmed by that hotel when we took a little minitour and instantly wished we had stayed there! If you are having a hard time deciding I'd go for the Red Canal. The location didn't offer a lot of options but taxis are cheap in Mandalay and the hotel restaurant's menu at the Red Canal looked great!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel! Or don't stay in Mandalay. If this is one of the best Mandalay has to offer...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Michael-and-Jose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Mandalay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Michael-and-Jose

Thank you very much for your review.

We are currently in discussions with the City’s authorities, on improving the water supply and quality for Sedona Hotel Mandalay.

We will also work on continuously improving the hotel stay environment for all our guests, and hope to welcome you back at our hotel again.

Regards
Dino Anthonio (Mr)
General Manager, Sedona Hotel Mandalay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
There are newer reviews for Sedona Hotel Mandalay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip and I found the hotel staff to be professional and the breakfast and hotel restaurants good. The rooms large and reasonably well appointed. They are a bit run down I think. The bathrooms are not well designed and I found it to be awkward (the way the door opened etc..). Toilet didn't flush properly. Mostly however, I just needed to sleep well and that was possible!

I asked the front desk for some advice on buying some local crafts and actually go really bad advice. First, the suggested I go to Bagan. Thanks, but I'm here. Second, they suggested I go to a market that had really low quality products (as in plastic instead of wood, laquer etc...). Eventually I found a shop on my own with a taxi driver (which I had to hail myself on the street because the hotel said it would be too expensive from their driveway!!). Having spent a lot of time in this country, that wasn't a problem for me, I just found it strange... especially given their own room rates!

In the end, the hotel shop had decent quality but the concierge didn't mention that.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SODA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Dear Fed S

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor, and we sincerely apologize for the unsatisfactory experiences you faced during your stay.

Although we have an excellent handicraft shop at the hotel, our staff may have initiated alternatives to provide guests more choices to choose from. We will train our staff to present a more appropriate approach in future.

Also, we will work hard on improving spots in the hotel that need regular maintenance.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and hope to see you soon.

Regards
Dino Anthonio (Mr)
General Manager, Sedona Hotel Mandalay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

this hotel is location in front of the palace on the main road. we had front facing rooms and the view was great. the rooms were clean, spacious, minibar, safe etc all were available. good pool. breakfast was good with a wide variety of selections. though the hotel calls itself 5 star i would give it 4 stars.

Room Tip: take front palace facing rooms, great view
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sanjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed 1 night in January as part of tour. A large standard type hotel with a nice outdoor pool. Some rooms have nice views of pool or canal in front.
Good breakfast.
Good location.
Comfortable.
Room was fine but a little outdated, everything worked though.
Nice front desk staff, efficient.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Sedona Mandalay. The hotel is OK but the swimming pool is very large and nice. The location is good. A good option considering it is Burma and Mandalay. We ate 1 night at the Red Canal hotel and I will stay there instead next time.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We searched for a comfortable hotel in Mandalay and found The Sedona a Singapore owned to be to our liking.And we were happy to have made the choice as we were looking for comfort and luxury ,which was a far cry of what one see on the streets or in the rice field where people face daily hardship and substandard living conditions because of their being shut off from the outside world.
The Hotel itself is very spacious and built to the same standard as any in Asia.Staff are polite and speak good English and know what they are doing. Slight snag with the wifi access and for Apple users.We had to get their IT man to reset application,he said it happens only with Apple.Also signal does not work on 4th floor so one has to come down to lobby for access.Breakfast buffet was good.But we took short walk to restaurants outside hotel to dine.
Overall a nice stay but we were disappointed to find that Mandalay did not have much to offer for foreign tourists.Its the center for agriculture trade for the country.Although outside town,one see village life of cattle carts and people bathing on river bank.

Room Tip: Ask for room on front side and on high floor.It has better view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelbugX50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We were able to book at this hotel through Agoda while we were in Myanmar so it was a great way to save cash! The lobby, restaurant and pool areas were very nice. The room, although in need of updating was very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with a good selection on offer, even Burmese Chai! The Sedona is a standard business hotel with no surprises.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
0.7 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 110 in Mandalay
436 reviews
1.1 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 110 in Mandalay
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 110 in Mandalay
921 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#9 of 110 in Mandalay
612 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#17 of 110 in Mandalay
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Hotel Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Hotel Mandalay

Address: 1 Junction of 26th and 66th Street | Chanayetharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#6 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range: £118 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sedona Hotel Mandalay 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, Sedona Hotel Mandalay is strategically located in the heart of the city and faces the majestic Royal Palace and Mandalay Hill - sights that are a pleasure to behold. As one of the best hotels in Myanmar, we offer guests spacious suites and rooms and also a range of meeting, dining and recreational facilities to ensure an enjoyable stay. At Sedona Hotel in Mandalay, we enrich your tour of Myanmar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JovagoAsia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sedona Hotel Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Sedona Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing