We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of Myanmar's Best Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“One of Myanmar's Best Hotels”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The Sedona Mandalay is a first-rate hotel—one of the very best in Burma, with a strikingly beautiful lobby and lush landscaped gardens. The rooms are large, quiet, and comfortable (albeit slightly dated) and the breakfast is exceptionally good. The huge pool was a big plus during Mandalay’s steamy afternoons. The hotel is located near the Royal Palace complex and offers a nice view of Mandalay Hill. Most gratifying were the members of the staff, who were especially gracious and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MonteCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Mandalay, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear MonteCD

We thank you very much for this wonderful TripAdvisor review.

It’s always a pleasure to hear about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotel. Such feedback is an encouragement to my team and I, as we continue to improve the quality of our services.

We hope to welcome you again at Sedona Hotel Mandalay, and may your next visit be as enjoyable as this one.

Regards
Dino Anthonio (Mr)
General Manager, Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    329
    130
    29
    20
See reviews for
58
298
38
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This hotel is clean. Breakfast was good. Only shortcoming is the staff who are so picky on USD. She want new USD and notes without fold. She don't want Myanmar $ which is funny. We were not US citizen we change USD at the Yangon airport.

One funny thing is in Myanmar they don't give back change like 50 and above.

Why are the street and eateries so dirty? When the city itself and the people are so very friendly and have so much to offer, why can't the local authority undertake to engage people to sweep the street and the tourist spots like the templse and palace? Especially it require to take off shoes at almost all the places we visited. It was a huge disappointment when we visited the palace in Mandalay, the place dirty and yet require to take off shoe, and the toilet also were so very dirty. when our van drove in we though it is a nice place with long walk way but as we proceed we saw the kampong inside the palace compound. what happen?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explor a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Mandalay, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear lorna l

Thank you for writing us a review.

As local banks and money changers do not accept notes which have marks, folds and are damaged, the hotel practices the same policy with all cash transactions. The US currency is widely accepted and remains the preferred payment mode locally.

We hope our country will continue to improve and flourish, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mandalay in the near future.

Regards
Dino Anthonio (Mr)
General Manager, Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This place was weird and creepy. If by 'business hotel' you mean hotel that runs businesses out of it, then the business hotel description is accurate. We stayed on the 4th floor and the conference rooms next to us were occupied (permanently judging by the signage) by what appeared to be a Chinese construction or mining company or something. Air conditioning worked horribly in both the rooms and common areas. With the added twist of no windows that could be opened. Overall I guess the creepiest part of this hotel was it's decade out of date, non-descriptness. You literally feel as though you could be in a doubletree in Dayton Ohio in 1995 when you enter the room. Restaurant was pretty lousy for breakfast as well. We didn't eat dinner there and opted for local restaurants nearby each night. The bed was a hideous torture device (hard as a board and the pillows just as bad!) The bathroom looked clean enough but there was a lot of mold (understandable with the environment) and some funky smells. Plus the water that came out of the sink and shower was literally the color of tea. It smelled badly as well. We mentioned our disappointment about the Sedona to our guide who suggested we look at the Red Canal in case we ever visit Mandaly again. We were absolutely charmed by that hotel when we took a little minitour and instantly wished we had stayed there! If you are having a hard time deciding I'd go for the Red Canal. The location didn't offer a lot of options but taxis are cheap in Mandalay and the hotel restaurant's menu at the Red Canal looked great!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel! Or don't stay in Mandalay. If this is one of the best Mandalay has to offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michael-and-Jose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SedonaHotels, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Mandalay, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear Michael-and-Jose

Thank you very much for your review.

We are currently in discussions with the City’s authorities, on improving the water supply and quality for Sedona Hotel Mandalay.

We will also work on continuously improving the hotel stay environment for all our guests, and hope to welcome you back at our hotel again.

Regards
Dino Anthonio (Mr)
General Manager, Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip and I found the hotel staff to be professional and the breakfast and hotel restaurants good. The rooms large and reasonably well appointed. They are a bit run down I think. The bathrooms are not well designed and I found it to be awkward (the way the door opened etc..). Toilet didn't flush properly. Mostly however, I just needed to sleep well and that was possible!

I asked the front desk for some advice on buying some local crafts and actually go really bad advice. First, the suggested I go to Bagan. Thanks, but I'm here. Second, they suggested I go to a market that had really low quality products (as in plastic instead of wood, laquer etc...). Eventually I found a shop on my own with a taxi driver (which I had to hail myself on the street because the hotel said it would be too expensive from their driveway!!). Having spent a lot of time in this country, that wasn't a problem for me, I just found it strange... especially given their own room rates!

In the end, the hotel shop had decent quality but the concierge didn't mention that.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SODA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Sedona Hotel Mandalay, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Fed S

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor, and we sincerely apologize for the unsatisfactory experiences you faced during your stay.

Although we have an excellent handicraft shop at the hotel, our staff may have initiated alternatives to provide guests more choices to choose from. We will train our staff to present a more appropriate approach in future.

Also, we will work hard on improving spots in the hotel that need regular maintenance.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and hope to see you soon.

Regards
Dino Anthonio (Mr)
General Manager, Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
223 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

this hotel is location in front of the palace on the main road. we had front facing rooms and the view was great. the rooms were clean, spacious, minibar, safe etc all were available. good pool. breakfast was good with a wide variety of selections. though the hotel calls itself 5 star i would give it 4 stars.

Room Tip: take front palace facing rooms, great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed 1 night in January as part of tour. A large standard type hotel with a nice outdoor pool. Some rooms have nice views of pool or canal in front.
Good breakfast.
Good location.
Comfortable.
Room was fine but a little outdated, everything worked though.
Nice front desk staff, efficient.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
714 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the Sedona Mandalay. The hotel is OK but the swimming pool is very large and nice. The location is good. A good option considering it is Burma and Mandalay. We ate 1 night at the Red Canal hotel and I will stay there instead next time.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
0.7 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.1 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#12 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Hotel Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Hotel Mandalay

Property: Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Address: 1 Junction of 26th and 66th Street | Chanayetharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#4 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sedona Hotel Mandalay 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, Sedona Hotel Mandalay is strategically located in the heart of the city and faces the majestic Royal Palace and Mandalay Hill - sights that are a pleasure to behold. As one of the best hotels in Myanmar, we offer guests spacious suites and rooms and also a range of meeting, dining and recreational facilities to ensure an enjoyable stay. At Sedona Hotel in Mandalay, we enrich your tour of Myanmar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sedona Hotel Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Sedona Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing