We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Mandalay? I don't want to see the others”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Mandalay? I don't want to see the others”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights during our 9 days holiday in Myanmar. Even though I know that Sedona is the best hotel in Mandalay, I must say that they should invest a lot in the maintenance of this old building.
The rooms are big but very old with no maintenance. The carpet is run down (especially in the corridor); the curtains are falling and the morning light gets in way too easily; the furniture are from the 60s and the bedspreads are ridiculously old; the pillowcases are too small for the pillows and are so thin that you can see the pillow design/stains...; the bathroom is seriously damaged and the air con does a loud noise and the wifi is working really bad.

The service at the reception is good (actually the concierge is extremely good). At the poolbar there is almost no one serving you. At the restaurant the service wasn't very good: one evening they told us that they couldn't take reservations for outdoor seating (the second night we managed to get them) and at 4/5 pm they reported that they didn't know if there was only buffet serving or also a la carte on the same evening (...).
In the morning, the breakfast service was heavily understaffed; I know the hotel was running full occupancy but we could see the staff running around with little efficacy.

Anyway, this is the best hotel in Mandalay so it's the best spot to go at the moment but good luck for the future when competitors will get in!

Room Tip: For anything, do ask the concierge- he's extremely efficient and always around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabianaPizzali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    329
    130
    29
    20
See reviews for
58
298
38
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel is fine but it is not a 4-star hotel by any means.

Rooms are pleasant and clean -- although some were a bit musty-smelling and I had to request a change. The staff were lovely and prompt about my room change and helpful in everything else.

Nice bar area to hang out and the coffee there was delicious. I did not use the pool but it looked lovely. Lobby pleasant although a bit cheesy.

Breakfast buffet is good but as noted by other reviewers, dinner at the restaurant is not exceptional and extraordinarily over-priced.

I should note that I am not a fan of generic hotels like this in general and stayed here as part of a tour. Its the kind of hotel you promptly forget.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is a very good hotel in Mandalay. it is in an excellent location, right across from the palace. It is in walking distance of several restaurants, theaters, and shops. When we were there the walking was made a bit difficult by nearby construction but this should be only a temporary problem. I would also remind walkers to take a flashlight or some other light when they are out at night as there is not much in the way of streetlights in the area.
The hotel was clean and well run and the swimming pool provided good refreshment after a day around the city. The restaurant was a bit sub-par with their attempts at serving pasta and other non-native dishes falling a bit short. The bar was nice with a good selection of wines and beers at reasonable prices. The internet worked reasonably well most of the time we were there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr._Bob_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great location for puppet show just 3 minutes and local Myanmar food which is just 5 minutes walk, Good buffet breakfast of Asian and western dishes We had nice ,clean and quiet rooms View of the fort is more interesting than the pool.They also have a cultural show in the evenings at the lobby including puppets and dancers. Stayed here previously in Feb and Nov 2008.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ect_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

just another generic hotel, did have a pool which was nice, not outstanding, rooms were fine, not sure we needed a totally unequipped kitchen. Breakfast buffet was a highlight. Close access to some lovely restaurants, " rainforest " was a real favourite. Our visit coincided with the Asian annual military general meeting so security in and around the hotel was immense, it mean that the internet worked well though. The location is fine

Room Tip: visit rainforest for dinner, a 5 min taxi ride away
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
137 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I had to chuckle to myself when I read a previous review here that said this was the best hotel in the world, and the reviewer could say this because they had travelled around the world – several times. Actually this statement is worth laughing out loud about…

The reality is that the Sedona is not in the same league, let alone the same sport as a Mandarin Oriental, Ritz Carlton, or any Jumeirah property, and a far cry from a standard Marriot or Sheraton too. What you get here is a solid, standard hotel with big rooms – we booked a superior room on a high floor and specified a royal palace moat view – and it was great; spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean with a truly magnificent view. Reports of tired worn-out furniture seem exaggerated.

It’s also worth adding that the entry / lobby is attractive, and the outdoor space is nicely landscaped with a large pool and good seating / relaxing areas if you have the downtime to appreciate that space (alas we didn’t).

But that’s pretty much where the positive comments stop. The restaurant lacks atmosphere and food quality is generally poor – the menu choice at lunch is ridiculously limited and the food we had was bordering on awful; my boring burger was served with a cup full of lukewarm soggy chips which were practically inedible, and my wife couldn’t have a 3-egg omelette because the menu states that omelettes are made with 2 eggs, so we had to order a separate fried egg. Our waiter just couldn’t compute the request.

I was desperate to avoid the restaurant again for dinner, but after a heavy day of sightseeing and reading the mixed reviews of the Green Elephant (which is the only ‘rated’ restaurant nearby) we decided to brave it again for the buffet. This was better, and we found a few decent dishes worth eating, but at USD $30 this is high end for Myanmar and it needs to be much better for the price. If I compare this to say the dinner buffet at Traders Hotel in Yangon, it was a distinctly second tier offering. Breakfasts were O.K – the fruit selection is fine, and you can even have a 3-egg omelette! But overall limited choice.

The second night we stayed here I decided to eat out in the evening and based on the reviews here we went to Central Park – but didn’t stay because the BBQ food looked awful and I didn’t like the seating area either; it was all a bit scummy for my liking so the Sedona dinner buffet got a second visit – and this time the saving grace were the grilled tiger prawns with garlic – these were fantastic and were the only real culinary highlight of a 2 night, 5 meal experience.

One of the best hotels in the world? Er, no – definitely not…

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnlisa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Here is one of the best hotel in Mandalay and claims to be 5 stars accom.
Location is great, just opposite the Palace but not suitable for street walking around.
Service is good and qualified
Room is standard for only 3 stars hotel, normal size, clean, quite old, bathtub include, bad corridor
WIFI is claimed to be all-area coverage but it is very fluctuated and unusable at prime time, only the lobby has fine signal.
The breakfast is good and has lots of food variations
The swimming pool is huge and decorative

Lots of Mosquitoes at the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken_Jirasiritham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
0.7 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.1 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#5 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#11 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Hotel Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Hotel Mandalay

Property: Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Address: 1 Junction of 26th and 66th Street | Chanayetharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#4 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sedona Hotel Mandalay 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, Sedona Hotel Mandalay is strategically located in the heart of the city and faces the majestic Royal Palace and Mandalay Hill - sights that are a pleasure to behold. As one of the best hotels in Myanmar, we offer guests spacious suites and rooms and also a range of meeting, dining and recreational facilities to ensure an enjoyable stay. At Sedona Hotel in Mandalay, we enrich your tour of Myanmar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sedona Hotel Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Sedona Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing