We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Ranked #11 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Nice rooms and bathroom. Beautiful view towards the moat and the mountain. Comfortable beds.

We opened the window for 5 minutes and suddenly the room had dozens and dozens of mosquitoes, we were going mad.
At breakfast you get charged $4 (!!!) usd per glass if you want fresh orange juice...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juan Pablo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    335
    131
    32
    21
See reviews for
59
302
39
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
seattle, washington
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Our room looked out on the old palace but also faced the street which had a lot of busy traffic. This is like a basic sheraton type hotel. We did have dinner in the lobby restaurant one night and had a nice dinner.
the pool was large and inviting after a busy day out exploring.
Great breakfast offered. Try the noodles with toppings.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We weren't sure where to stay in Mandalay, as it was our first trip to Myanmar, but after reading the Trip Advisor reviews, the bulk of which were fairly positive, we selected the Sedona Hotel.

When our guide who picked us up at the airport told us the Sedona Hotel is one of the best hotels in Mandalay, we knew we made the right decision.

The place is beautiful, the staff wonderful, with a great location, and a nice swimming pool,

If there is one negative- it's the WIFI- it only works in the lobby area; but this seems to be an issue throughout Mandalay.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor- with a great view of the old palace walls and moat, it's much nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I was in Mandalay for a literary conference and this was a great hotel, although probably due for some renovations. Overlooked the historic fort ramparts so was a wonderful sight to wake up to. Was also located near the Mandalay Hill and close to the book stupa, so it was easy getting around. I took a car to visit the night book market and that was also nearby...if you have the stomach for street food, the night market had some of the best in Myanmar.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyDesiNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The hotel is well situated near the centre of town looking out on the site of the old royal palace. Although on a busy street it is situated in its own quite large grounds and therefore is quiet and peaceful. There is a large well-maintained swimming pool which is very pleasant as few guests seem to use it and so it too is quiet.

The staff are friendly and speak good English. We found the concierge very helpful in recommending a good guide and suggesting local restaurants.

The rooms are well furnished and clean - the décor being traditional rather than cutting-edge.

Breakfasts were excellent with a good selection of Asian and international dishes. We didn't try the restaurant other than for breakfast so cannot comment on any other meals.

We would definitely stay there again.





The breakfasts are excellent with a wide selection

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Sedona Mandalay is located in the heart of the city and looks over the palace and towards Mandalay hill. It is located about 3 km from the center of Mandalay. This is a large hotel which attracts both business and leasure travelers.

The room was on the large side with a sitting area. While on a busy street, it was quiet in the room. The staff were very friendly and helpful and all spoke good English.

The breakfast buffet was very good. Great fruit, lots of choices, and a friendly staff. The restaurant also offers guests the choice to dine outside. The downside of the restaurant is that the food is a bit expensive.

While there are several restaurants nearby, there is only limited shopping in the area around the hotel. Other dining and shopping options are a short taxi ride away.

There is a large pool at the hotel as well as one tennis court.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thevinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azeitao, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Very good hotel facing Mandalay Hill and the Royal Palace. The rooms are great and newly furnished. The breakfast is excellent with a lot of options.
The swimming pool is very nice. We had a fabulous burger for lunch there.
We refused to sign a blank visa for deposit so they asked us 100 USD which they returned during check-out.
There are several good restaurants walking distance (ex: Unique Myanmar Restaurant).

Room Tip: 5th floor, facing Mandalay Hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xanoca63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
0.7 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 110 in Mandalay
421 reviews
1.1 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 110 in Mandalay
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 110 in Mandalay
905 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#1 of 110 in Mandalay
398 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#9 of 110 in Mandalay
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedona Hotel Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedona Hotel Mandalay

Property: Sedona Hotel Mandalay
Address: 1 Junction of 26th and 66th Street | Chanayetharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mandalay
#6 Spa Hotel in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sedona Hotel Mandalay 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, Sedona Hotel Mandalay is strategically located in the heart of the city and faces the majestic Royal Palace and Mandalay Hill - sights that are a pleasure to behold. As one of the best hotels in Myanmar, we offer guests spacious suites and rooms and also a range of meeting, dining and recreational facilities to ensure an enjoyable stay. At Sedona Hotel in Mandalay, we enrich your tour of Myanmar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JovagoAsia, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sedona Hotel Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Sedona Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing