We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see in Mandalay”

Maha Aung Mye Bon Zan Monastery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$60.00*
and up
Ava, Sagaing and Amarapura Day Trip from Mandalay Including Lunch
Ranked #13 of 66 things to do in Mandalay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A must see in Mandalay”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is an absolutely must-go temple in Mandalay, if you extend your travel to Inwa (you should!). This temple is unique as it has a combined style between Burmese style and Siamese style. You can tell its history from the wall. It is beautiful.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank linandhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    69
    18
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
120 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Different from the other Mandalay monasteries”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

If you are in Inwa/Ava, this should be on your itinerary - (re-)build of bricks in a nice contrast to the other teak monasteries.
Good for views of the Irrawaddy bridges and many golden pagodas on Sagaing Hill on the other side of the river.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank uxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
1,020 reviews
701 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,437 helpful votes
“Definitely a "Must See" Attraction in Ava”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I did the Ava/Inwa-Sagaing-Amarapura Tour immediately upon my arrival at Mandalay International Airport because of its proximity to these ancient cities/kingdoms. The taxi driver brought me to a number of attractions and this is one of the most beautiful site I visited in Ava.

To the locals this place is popularly known as Me Nu Ok Kyaung which literarlly means "Me Nu's Brick Monastery).

The building is remarkedly different from traditional Burmese monasteries which are mostly constructed with wood. Plenty of photo opportunities especially during my visit where only a few tourists were sighted.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank pinoytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellant choice for a visit”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I spent a couple of hours in awe of the carvings in this Monastery. It is inspiring to see the craftsmanship in wood and building itself.
I was put off by the sign that said "men only" at the main space but still glad I saw this monastery.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rmichaelUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
660 reviews
297 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“The most interesting of the sites in Ava”
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

former palace during Ava's 600yr reign as the capital that has new pagodas all around. Of the 4 sites in Ava that you will visit, this was the most interesting as it combines a palace of different antique style with he modern gilded pagoda that you'll become accustomed to. Is a part of the 1000 kyat boat ride and 6000 kyat horse cart that you will visit (on top of 40000 kyat taxi for the day to visit the 3 ancient cities).

Helpful?
1 Thank Jon1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maha Aung Mye Bon Zan Monastery also viewed

 

Been to Maha Aung Mye Bon Zan Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing