We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teak Monestry.”
Review of Bargaya Monastery

Bargaya Monastery
Ranked #8 of 69 things to do in Mandalay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
640 reviews
446 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Teak Monestry.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

An example of superb craftsmanship with this 1834 teak monestry.
This is in the old city of Ava and accessible by river than horse and cart.
It's worth the effort to get there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris101111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    89
    23
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Bagaya Monastery”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

One of the places we stopped on our horse and buggy tour of the old city of Ava, or Inwa as it is now known. The whole tour is an interesting experience and this ancient teak wood monastery is one of the highlights. Magnificent in its weather aged appearance and decorated with beautiful carvings.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindyLouMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The carvings are amazing. The carvings in the doors are worth a special mention. Unfortunately our experience was taken away a bit by the lady at the admission place who wouldn't accept US dollars, and we didn't have any Kyat. Eventually a friendly local gave us Kyat for the USD.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Miksub5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent monastry !”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is an old wooden monastry located in the old Inwa capital near Mandalay city. It is a monastry that is entirely built on teak wood and it also has some wonderful carvings there. I believe that this monastry is not as widely reported or seen as compared to the Shwenandaw Monastry, which is located in Mandalay city itself. However, I feel that the Bargaya Monastry is as equally good as the Shwenandaw Monastry. A real awe inspiring monastry to see ! Another must see attraction if you ever visit Mandalay. I believe that with more visits from tourists to this monastry it would probably give the local authorities there more impetus to help preserve it. These are attractions that definitely needs to be preserved for future generations to see.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank V_Alagappan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“You must see the monastery! But be prepared for bad manners.”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The life of the young monks in Myanmar makes for fascinating listening. We went to a monastery outside of Mandalay where a 1000 monks reside, many of them are very young including white robed initiatives. We went to watch them take their lunch and I wanted to get that iconic picture of them in line in their saffron robes, heads lowered in silent thoughts. But I had not expected it to be like this!

As the monks queued in two lines, the masses of tourists stood on each side. They were far too close and all jostling for the best view. I am glad that we stood back from this maddening crowd at a respectable distance, behind a barrier and slightly elevated. This was the biggest congregation of tourists we had seen and some of them were so rude and ignorant to each other and the monks.

We could not believe the actions of two Chinese tourist who went in between the two lines of monks and crouched on the ground taking photos as the monks walked around them to go for their lunch. It was appalling and even though they did eventually move, in my view they should have been forcibly removed and ejected from the monastery!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank battersby33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bargaya Monastery also viewed

 
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
Mandalay, Mandalay Region
 

Been to Bargaya Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing