We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine”
Review of Smart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smart Hotel
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Room was fine for what we needed-somewhere to sleep, wash and feel safe. The rooms aren't overly modern but it was clean and the beds comfy. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was much better than I was expecting! There were some decent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel which was a bonus.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank mancduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

This is genuinely a hotel and not a B&B. It has 6 floors with approximately seven rooms per floor, one of which is a small single. At about $30 a night, the single is good value even though it is only about 3x2 metres with a 2x2 bathroom where there is a window. Sadly, the corridors echo quite a bit and the staff start work noisily at dawn (around 6am) so you may want to pack earplugs.
An unusual element is the presence of aircon and good internet both of which continue when the generator is operating to combat the frequent power cuts. The bed and bedding is top quality.
The staff are exceptionally willing - almost too much so. I do sense that they have been trained to try to direct guests to hotel transport whenever they can, and the exchange rate carries a 10% penalty, but overall the service is very friendly.
The included breakfast is better than average for Myanmar, offering a choice of egg dishes as well as fruit, juice, toast and the usual jams.
The sights in Mandalay and outside are very spread out, so the real benefit of the hotel location is its proximity to several good restaurants - local and international.

Room Tip: Singles are in limited supply and not advertised on their website - ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SecretStreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

I found the hotel options in central Mandalay to be quite limited. The high end hotels are around $200 per night so we opted for a cheaper option given that it was only a one night stopover.

The smart hotel cost around $70 per night and opened only one month ago so most furnishings are brand new. The decoration leaves something to be desired, think gold lace curtains!

I agree with other reviewers about this hotel. Whilst the hotel itself is not impressive, it's the lovely staff who make this place special. They try incredibly hard to speak English and help you with whatever you need. The lovely hotel manager upgraded our room for free. Even security guards who wait near the lifts are very helpful and always opened the doors for us. When people are so sweet, you want to give them good business. Also the location is great, 5 minutes walk to nice restaurants (Rainforest and Mari Min)

The only downside is the main road location so if you have a room at the front of the hotel, it is incredibly noisy from beeping traffic. Bring ear plugs! Also the rooms have no safe, only safe boxes at reception, which we did not feel comfortable using so we locked our valuables in suitcases instead.

Overall I would recommend choosing this hotel if you travel to Mandalay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I was recommended to stay here and it was a most pleasant experience. The hotel seems to have opened recently, is in consequence in good shape, with charming and attentive staff. It's in center area of Mandalay so that very convenience to make shopping and wherever we want. Rooms are clean & tidy. Staffs are very helpful. Superior room's view is really nice and wide enough for family.

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny" "Higher floors have less noise" "Choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baybae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Smart Hotel is good for Chinese tour groups. That's all.

The lobby has been recently updated and is super-a/c'd with clocks telling you the time around the world - I guess an attempt at sophistication. The attached hotel at the back seems much older. Rooms are dirty, especially the bathrooms and there are mosquitoes floating (and biting) around. The AC in the rooms is terrible - it cannot hold a steady temperature. Despite asking for a double room they gave us a room with two single beds. This was after losing our booking the first time.... not great service. I guess in terms of positives, the breakfast was reasonable the the staff are friendly. $5/minute for international calls and $4 for a plate of french fries.

I'd pay $30/night for a room here not the $55-65 they try to extort out of people.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr_rushLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart H, General Manager at Smart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your most recent stay at our Smart hotel.

I sincerely apologise that your stay was unsatisfactory and your comments will allow us to learn the areas on which we need to improve upon. I am very sorry to hear that we are not meeting your standard. I have already passed your comments onto the HK manager and make sure to use insert killer every each guest check out and also meeting our cleaning standard. Ensure that a similar occurrence does not happen again.

If you do choose to stay with us again, please contact our Reservation team reservation@stayatsmart.com and we will do complementary upgrade to you.

We are always striving to improve the standards of service within the hotel and we are always grateful for your time and give a chance to improve our service and product.

Sincerely,

Myo

General Manager at Smart Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I was recommended to stay here and it was a most pleasant experience. The hotel seems to have opened recently, is in consequence in good shape, with charming and attentive staff. I paid a little extra for a King size bed/room, which was well worth while as the singles looked a little short for me. There is some street noise, but not a lot as 28th street is not a major thoroughfare. The air conditioning was fine (and quiet), the Internet was a little intermittent - fastest in the early morning I felt, but good enough for Skype and email. Upload was slow, The higher rooms facing north should have a view over the Palace to Mandalay Hill. I ate in the restaurant which had a mix of local and imported cuisine - and this was pleasant though obviously more expensive than going out to eat. There are restaurants nearby, e.g. BBB and TooToo.

Room Tip: Higher floors should be quieter. North facing have better views. Side facing may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TempleofPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I stayed here two nights, since no other rooms wete available in Mandalay. The room rate (superior type) was $ 60 for a room which values the half, bathroom was ok, wifi does not work well in the rooms, but it does in the lobby. They claim it is a new hotel, but the building and rooms' furniture are updated and certainly not new.....
Breakfast was ok, staff friendly. The location is good, since there are nice restaurants in the area where you can eat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enrica0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#2 of 118 in Mandalay
464 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 118 in Mandalay
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 118 in Mandalay
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel A1
Hotel A1
#15 of 118 in Mandalay
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
79 Living Hotel
79 Living Hotel
#32 of 118 in Mandalay
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Emperor
The Hotel Emperor
#18 of 118 in Mandalay
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hotel

Address: No. 167 28th Street, Between 76th & 77th Street | Chan Aye Tharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range: £12 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart Hotel is conveniently located a few minutes walk to Mandalay Palace, Mandalay train station, local restaurants, shopping mall and a short distance from Mandalay famous places. Smart Hotel is ideal base for city tourists as well as business travellers and everyone visiting this beautiful Myanmar teak blending style and sophistication hotel can expert warmhearted, truly Burmese hospitality experience. With three exquisite room types; Standard, Superior and Executive rooms are perfect retreat for individual needs and styles. The interior of all rooms was designed along very clean but beautiful wallpaper design as well as lovely curtain and teak furniture with a tasteful mix of Myanmar and European style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Smart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing