We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smart Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Diamonds Inn(Mandalay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Marvel(Mandalay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tiger One Hotel(Mandalay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
79 Living Hotel(Mandalay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveller rating
202
208
86
16
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
208
86
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky bartop floorfree cocktailmandalay hillair confront officehotel staffrooftop restaurantroyal palacerailway stationbit datedmyanmar hotelspuppet showtoastcouple of nightstea and coffeebudget hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

"Terrance" will personally greet you upon arrival (I believe he does this with everyone). Quite the character (will try to sell you on how great his hotel is in comparison to others), but it's nothing spectacular. We were given a windowless room on the 2nd floor, which was fine for us since we were only staying for a night. Walls are paper thin and a lot of pigeon noises at night. Day staff is quite helpful and their English is better than what we've experienced at other places, but early morning staff is a little slower (so is the bar staff). Avoid the "Sky Bar" and restaurant: although breakfast is good, the bar's blue lighting makes you feel like you're in a seedy pick-up joint, and the Western options on the dinner menu are grossly overpriced and disappointing (e.g. the $8 "penne carbonara" is actually undercooked macaroni with a chunky bland cream sauce, mystery chunks of "bacon", and about half a tablespoon of parmesan). The Burmese options might be better, but why eat Burmese here when you can go downstairs to a better and cheaper local eatery? We got this place on a deal ($60 for a night), and I definitely wouldn't pay any more (didn't seem worth more than $40).

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank migrant546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart H, Manager at Smart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Migrant546,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review comments. Accordingly we have sorted out the pigeons
Noise area and already blocked it.
It was unfortunate that the very fresh new Trainee was talking to you it happened. He will be OK
Next time.
Reference to the food order, we apologize and it was the misunderstanding by the service boy,and the Sou Chef, and he asked pardon .e

Then, we thank you for the compliments given to the Front Desk Girls for the good communications
and we shall try harder, always.
So, we would like to thank you and appreciate your constructive comments and reviews.
In the near future, whenever you or your good friends who shall stop by this way, we will take care of them and will offer a VIP welcome to Smart, Mandalay.
Best Regards,
Smart 's Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Very helpful reception staff, they went out of their way to give me all available information regarding buses to Yangon and day tours. A huge difference to everywhere else I stayed. I spent 2 weeks in Burma and this was the only place I felt they cared about what I asked or needed. The only thing is prayers are heard over the megaphone for a lot of the day but do not let that deter you. All hotels in Mandalay seem to suffer from the same.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeSupernova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

A welcome to Myanmar can hardly be more welcoming than through the owner of this place. He really takes time to explain everything to you, help you planning and is authentically excited to chat with foreign visitors. The rooms are clean, spacious and good value for Mandalay. What was really extraordinary was, that when I left for the Malikha boat to Bagan at 6 AM in the morning they had packed two bags of food and drinks for me because I'll miss the breakfast (and I hadn't even asked for it). Great service, friendly staff!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamStar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We have stayed in the hotel for only one night, but we have experienced the best hospitality and services in my entire Myanmar trip.

The Hotel Manager was a very kindness person. He greeted all the the hotel guests in front of the hotel entrance and provided delicious welcoming drink which is totally out of our expectation. Staff are extremely friendly, all of them can speak perfect English, even some of them can speak fluent Chinese! After checking in, they tried to explain all those travel information around Mandalay to us and helped us to arrange local transportation, which was a really reasonable price compare with outside.

The room was very clean and tidy with a nice balcony. Hot shower was very stable compare with entire Myanmar or even Thailand Standard. Free mock-tails are provided for hotel guest during sunset hour in their rooftop bar. Excellent and comprehensive service!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

By Myanmar standards this is well-run, clean, good value three-star hotel with five-star service. It's on the edge of the downtown area and within 15 minutes walk of the Royal Palace. There are several recommended restaurants within a 5-minute walk.
The decor is Asian ornate, wifi reception is good, and rooms have a fridge, phone and TV. (Safety deposit lockers are provided in the lobby). Our standard de luxe was a little tight on space- no room for bedside tables - but the bathroom was a good size and the beds are comfortable.
There are two restaurants with a 7th floor bar providing great views across downtown. Breakfasts are good quality EurAsian buffet style with eggs to order and croissants available as an alternative to Myanmar white toast.
The Smart Hotel doesn't pretend to be anything else than it is - a sort of Asian TraveLodge at budget prices that believes in first-class service including escorting us to the nearest pharmacy when we needed medicine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garciasripple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews