We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, friendly staff”
Review of Smart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smart Hotel
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is a great hotel, quite near to the main railway station (if you're using trains) and the hospital (if you become ill). During the daytime it's easy to find - it's on 28th Street near the corner of 77th Road. At night it's easy to spot from a distance because it's well lit. Be wary, at nights in Mandalay the power often goes off early in the evening, forcing the unwary to wander along in darkness. The rooms are comfortable and the staff are very, very helpful. Khaing Khaing, on the reception desk is very obliging - she even stuck down a corner of my I-pad screen protector which refused to stay down. In fact the sticky tape she used is still going strong, despite all the travelling since then. Take a long walk to the Mandalay Palace and then organise a motor bike taxi back. On the way to the palace watch out for some large concrete tubs just around a corner on the right hand side of the main road where people do their daily bathing. Once you enter the palace stay on the main road as the side roads are off limits - there is a military base there. The treasures inside are some of the best I've seen in Asia. Climb up the tower to get a good view of the palace and the city beyond.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main street are quieter but Mandalay isn't a noisy city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaSpindoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

yes indeed, we can only repeat what so many others have said here before....we had a pleasant stay at the Smart Hotel, where it felt , each day, nice to get back to after a hot day sightseeing. Charming personal welcome by the equaly charming Mr. Terence, lovely, competent and caring staff at every level, excellent bathroom facilities ( great water pressure ), soundproof room (except for the classical doorbanging at night by the usual "boers"), equaly enjoyed the sunsetview from the roof terrace and the "how would you like your eggs, sir...." breakfast. Keep it up Smart Hotel!

Room Tip: we slept in 402 and had no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bushidosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed there for two nights and I can highly recommend the Smart Hotel. Nice and friendly staff, clean rooms, good location and a very good breakfast (compared to other hotels I've been to). I also can recommend the roof terrace for sunset in case you don't make it to Mandalay Hill. Ask the friendly manager or the staff to book you a taxi for sightseeing around Mandalay.

Room Tip: Nice view at the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

"Terrance" will personally greet you upon arrival (I believe he does this with everyone). Quite the character (will try to sell you on how great his hotel is in comparison to others), but it's nothing spectacular. We were given a windowless room on the 2nd floor, which was fine for us since we were only staying for a night. Walls are paper thin and a lot of pigeon noises at night. Day staff is quite helpful and their English is better than what we've experienced at other places, but early morning staff is a little slower (so is the bar staff). Avoid the "Sky Bar" and restaurant: although breakfast is good, the bar's blue lighting makes you feel like you're in a seedy pick-up joint, and the Western options on the dinner menu are grossly overpriced and disappointing (e.g. the $8 "penne carbonara" is actually undercooked macaroni with a chunky bland cream sauce, mystery chunks of "bacon", and about half a tablespoon of parmesan). The Burmese options might be better, but why eat Burmese here when you can go downstairs to a better and cheaper local eatery? We got this place on a deal ($60 for a night), and I definitely wouldn't pay any more (didn't seem worth more than $40).

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank migrant546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart H, Manager at Smart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Migrant546,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review comments. Accordingly we have sorted out the pigeons
Noise area and already blocked it.
It was unfortunate that the very fresh new Trainee was talking to you it happened. He will be OK
Next time.
Reference to the food order, we apologize and it was the misunderstanding by the service boy,and the Sou Chef, and he asked pardon .e

Then, we thank you for the compliments given to the Front Desk Girls for the good communications
and we shall try harder, always.
So, we would like to thank you and appreciate your constructive comments and reviews.
In the near future, whenever you or your good friends who shall stop by this way, we will take care of them and will offer a VIP welcome to Smart, Mandalay.
Best Regards,
Smart 's Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Very helpful reception staff, they went out of their way to give me all available information regarding buses to Yangon and day tours. A huge difference to everywhere else I stayed. I spent 2 weeks in Burma and this was the only place I felt they cared about what I asked or needed. The only thing is prayers are heard over the megaphone for a lot of the day but do not let that deter you. All hotels in Mandalay seem to suffer from the same.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeSupernova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

A welcome to Myanmar can hardly be more welcoming than through the owner of this place. He really takes time to explain everything to you, help you planning and is authentically excited to chat with foreign visitors. The rooms are clean, spacious and good value for Mandalay. What was really extraordinary was, that when I left for the Malikha boat to Bagan at 6 AM in the morning they had packed two bags of food and drinks for me because I'll miss the breakfast (and I hadn't even asked for it). Great service, friendly staff!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamStar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We have stayed in the hotel for only one night, but we have experienced the best hospitality and services in my entire Myanmar trip.

The Hotel Manager was a very kindness person. He greeted all the the hotel guests in front of the hotel entrance and provided delicious welcoming drink which is totally out of our expectation. Staff are extremely friendly, all of them can speak perfect English, even some of them can speak fluent Chinese! After checking in, they tried to explain all those travel information around Mandalay to us and helped us to arrange local transportation, which was a really reasonable price compare with outside.

The room was very clean and tidy with a nice balcony. Hot shower was very stable compare with entire Myanmar or even Thailand Standard. Free mock-tails are provided for hotel guest during sunset hour in their rooftop bar. Excellent and comprehensive service!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#2 of 118 in Mandalay
464 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 118 in Mandalay
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 118 in Mandalay
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel A1
Hotel A1
#15 of 118 in Mandalay
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
79 Living Hotel
79 Living Hotel
#31 of 118 in Mandalay
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Emperor
The Hotel Emperor
#19 of 118 in Mandalay
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hotel

Address: No. 167 28th Street, Between 76th & 77th Street | Chan Aye Tharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range: £12 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart Hotel is conveniently located a few minutes walk to Mandalay Palace, Mandalay train station, local restaurants, shopping mall and a short distance from Mandalay famous places. Smart Hotel is ideal base for city tourists as well as business travellers and everyone visiting this beautiful Myanmar teak blending style and sophistication hotel can expert warmhearted, truly Burmese hospitality experience. With three exquisite room types; Standard, Superior and Executive rooms are perfect retreat for individual needs and styles. The interior of all rooms was designed along very clean but beautiful wallpaper design as well as lovely curtain and teak furniture with a tasteful mix of Myanmar and European style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Smart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing