We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff”
Review of Smart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smart Hotel
Ranked #20 of 111 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The staff were brilliant so friendly and helpful, the owner introduced himself to us at breakfast, saying that if we needed anything his staff would look after us, and they did, we were only able to stay 2 night as they were fully booked on the 3rd night, and they sorted out a hotel for us for the 3rd night. We really enjoyed our stay, thanks

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philippajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is great hotel which is great located and was quiet (for a Hotel in Mandalay). The room was big and comfortable enough, but looked a little bit old-furnished. The new terrace on the top of the hotel offers a great view over the city. The breakfast was very good and the service was good, maybe a little bit too much. We spent there our last night in Myanmar and it was a good closing of our Myanmar trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mathias_and_Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Thank you Smart hotel and Dear Mr.Terrence!
I booked on Agoda for 4 nights here.
Had nice, very clean room with Great breakfast and helpful,friendly staff!!

The Location was perfect, I took my Daily walks to Mandalay Palace and the market.
Everyday was surprised to have my fresh fruits plate in my room ~ sweet little things that makes the difference.
Enjoyed my free cocktail at Sky bar and the harp concert.

Booked for Mingun boat,Taxis,flights,everything went well with excellent service!
Would love to come back again.
Best regards,
Agamit

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agamtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is a great hotel, quite near to the main railway station (if you're using trains) and the hospital (if you become ill). During the daytime it's easy to find - it's on 28th Street near the corner of 77th Road. At night it's easy to spot from a distance because it's well lit. Be wary, at nights in Mandalay the power often goes off early in the evening, forcing the unwary to wander along in darkness. The rooms are comfortable and the staff are very, very helpful. Khaing Khaing, on the reception desk is very obliging - she even stuck down a corner of my I-pad screen protector which refused to stay down. In fact the sticky tape she used is still going strong, despite all the travelling since then. Take a long walk to the Mandalay Palace and then organise a motor bike taxi back. On the way to the palace watch out for some large concrete tubs just around a corner on the right hand side of the main road where people do their daily bathing. Once you enter the palace stay on the main road as the side roads are off limits - there is a military base there. The treasures inside are some of the best I've seen in Asia. Climb up the tower to get a good view of the palace and the city beyond.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main street are quieter but Mandalay isn't a noisy city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaSpindoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

yes indeed, we can only repeat what so many others have said here before....we had a pleasant stay at the Smart Hotel, where it felt , each day, nice to get back to after a hot day sightseeing. Charming personal welcome by the equaly charming Mr. Terence, lovely, competent and caring staff at every level, excellent bathroom facilities ( great water pressure ), soundproof room (except for the classical doorbanging at night by the usual "boers"), equaly enjoyed the sunsetview from the roof terrace and the "how would you like your eggs, sir...." breakfast. Keep it up Smart Hotel!

Room Tip: we slept in 402 and had no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bushidosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed there for two nights and I can highly recommend the Smart Hotel. Nice and friendly staff, clean rooms, good location and a very good breakfast (compared to other hotels I've been to). I also can recommend the roof terrace for sunset in case you don't make it to Mandalay Hill. Ask the friendly manager or the staff to book you a taxi for sightseeing around Mandalay.

Room Tip: Nice view at the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

"Terrance" will personally greet you upon arrival (I believe he does this with everyone). Quite the character (will try to sell you on how great his hotel is in comparison to others), but it's nothing spectacular. We were given a windowless room on the 2nd floor, which was fine for us since we were only staying for a night. Walls are paper thin and a lot of pigeon noises at night. Day staff is quite helpful and their English is better than what we've experienced at other places, but early morning staff is a little slower (so is the bar staff). Avoid the "Sky Bar" and restaurant: although breakfast is good, the bar's blue lighting makes you feel like you're in a seedy pick-up joint, and the Western options on the dinner menu are grossly overpriced and disappointing (e.g. the $8 "penne carbonara" is actually undercooked macaroni with a chunky bland cream sauce, mystery chunks of "bacon", and about half a tablespoon of parmesan). The Burmese options might be better, but why eat Burmese here when you can go downstairs to a better and cheaper local eatery? We got this place on a deal ($60 for a night), and I definitely wouldn't pay any more (didn't seem worth more than $40).

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank migrant546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart H, Manager at Smart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Dear Migrant546,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review comments. Accordingly we have sorted out the pigeons
Noise area and already blocked it.
It was unfortunate that the very fresh new Trainee was talking to you it happened. He will be OK
Next time.
Reference to the food order, we apologize and it was the misunderstanding by the service boy,and the Sou Chef, and he asked pardon .e

Then, we thank you for the compliments given to the Front Desk Girls for the good communications
and we shall try harder, always.
So, we would like to thank you and appreciate your constructive comments and reviews.
In the near future, whenever you or your good friends who shall stop by this way, we will take care of them and will offer a VIP welcome to Smart, Mandalay.
Best Regards,
Smart 's Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.3 mi away
79 Living Hotel
79 Living Hotel
#33 of 111 in Mandalay
365 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel A1
Hotel A1
#14 of 111 in Mandalay
225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#2 of 111 in Mandalay
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Emperor
The Hotel Emperor
#19 of 111 in Mandalay
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tiger One Hotel
Tiger One Hotel
#17 of 111 in Mandalay
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 111 in Mandalay
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hotel

Address: No. 167 28th Street, Between 76th & 77th Street | Chan Aye Tharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 111 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range: £19 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart Hotel is conveniently located a few minutes walk to Mandalay Palace, Mandalay train station, local restaurants, shopping mall and a short distance from Mandalay famous places. Smart Hotel is ideal base for city tourists as well as business travellers and everyone visiting this beautiful Myanmar teak blending style and sophistication hotel can expert warmhearted, truly Burmese hospitality experience. With three exquisite room types; Standard, Superior and Executive rooms are perfect retreat for individual needs and styles. The interior of all rooms was designed along very clean but beautiful wallpaper design as well as lovely curtain and teak furniture with a tasteful mix of Myanmar and European style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Smart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing