We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start into Myanmar vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Smart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Smart Hotel
Ranked #17 of 108 Hotels in Mandalay
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“Perfect start into Myanmar vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

The Smart Hotel in Mandalay was our starting point for a 2 weeks vacation to Myanmar - first time in this wonderful country. Other than 3 nights in the Smart Hotel we had no fixed reservations for any location or hotel later on and it proved to be the right decision, because we received maximum support and advice from Terrence, the Hotel manager. The Smart Hotel, as many others have pointed out before me, has a lot to offer. First of all, there is the tremendous friendly and helpful staff - if you need anything, don't feel shy to ask. And this is true from top down, starting with the extremely competent and multi language manager Terrence. The rooms are tidy, you can shade them to your needs and there is almost no noise coming in from the street.. The air-condition is perfectly programmable to your needs and in case you carry a lot of electronic stuff around you will find a plethora of power sockets to recharge - nice! The beds not too soft and not too hard and worked perfectly for us. The bathrooms are also tidy and yes there is hot water - always. The breakfast also caters to european needs and if you miss something - just ask. Located in the center of Mandalay the hotel has an optimum position in terms of distance to the most important attractions, some places can actually be reached by foot - the Kings Palace for instance. If you want further away you may choose the trishaw, several drivers hang around close by, or you choose one of the hotels trusted taxi drivers (ours was Poxy - a very nice guy). You get fixed and very reasonable prices and in case you change your mind in between - no problem. I highly recommend that, before you make any plans for the next day, you talk to Terrence first. He has immense knowledge, will help you with your decisions and show you new options. He is more up to date than any book you may carry around with you. In our case, as we decided to move on to Lake Inlay, he arranged 3 nights of home-stay with his wider family in a wooden house on stilts. It was an outstanding experience. To sum it all up: this Hotel is worth every cent of your money and if you happen to visit Mandaly - choose the Smart Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uwe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    197
    79
    13
    11
See reviews for
48
226
86
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
India mcloud ganj
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We were welcomed with open arms by the well educated staff of the Smart Hotel and the Manger himself Mr Terrance. We were impressed by the english conversation and learning about Burma's ways over dinner in the Sky Bar in the hotel itself, no guide needed ;) The sunset from the Sky Bar is epic and the buffet breakfast fills with variey. The rooms are clean, well thought with a touch of Victorian adapted decor. Price is good according to Mandalay standards. Our highlight was the spontaneous trip Mr Terrance arranged for us to a local homestay in Ines lake. An honourable memory for ever!
Thank you again to Mr Terrance and The Staff.
Love Sheree & Stefan

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leushien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed here for a few nights, the staff were exceptionally helpful and polite, with the manager being very knowledgeable providing tips for travel and accommodation. He speaks a wide variety of languages [having worked in the hotel industry in the Middle East for most of his life] so communication isn’t a problem. The rooms were basic but clean, a/c worked as did all the other electrical bits, and the 4th floor was quiet. As with all the hotels in Myanmar the prices are high compared with the surrounding countries, but you don’t mind the cost when the staff are able to make your stay and travel arrangements easier and the trip therefore more enjoyable. The manager was able to arrange a house stay at the bottom of lake Inle with some of his relatives, which to be honest was the highlight for me of the whole trip. To see the sights in Mandalay it is easier and cheaper to hire a taxi for the day or 1/2 day and then work your way around the things you want to see rather than taking individual taxi rides.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellis_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Very nice welcome by tho boss and his team.
I still ain't sure wether he's or not a former military ... anyway I must stay we had a nice stay there.
Like almost all hotels in Myanmar, I just felt the price was exorbitant, compared to all countries in Asia.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peatraveladvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights in March, and from the second I walked in the door, I felt very welcome. The staff is so friendly and polite, that I would recommend any international high end hotel chain trying to enter the Mandalay hotel market, to recruit and headhunt here!!! Since front desk staff Khang Khang was so proud af have been mentioned in another TA-review, I will do that again, but really not fair only to mention her, since every single member of the staff is so excellent. The owner and manager (apparently speaking seven languages) is present everywhere, and all the time. He is also very helpful and kind, really trying to meet any clients need.
Every client is at check in explained sights worth seeing in town (while they obviously try to sell tours). Nevertheless a very informative service.

Bicycles can be rented next door for $3/day.

All that said, the hard product of the hotel is a bit tacky, from the tiles in hallways and bathroom, the bed lamps, the furniture to the Sky Bar on the penthouse floor, where you however have excellent views over the city. The bed is comfortable, there is a/c, plasma tv, fridge with minibar, coffee/tea-maker in room. Some rooms with balcony.
Free wifi with good (for Myanmar) speed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed ther for four nights. Very good location. Room was very clean and not noisy. Staff was very kind. Possibility to rent bikes close to the hotel. Wifi in the room. Some good restaurants around the hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

we stayed in smart hotel for 2 nights. the staff and the hotel manager is very friendly they were able to help us decide which places we should visit in mandalay, since we only have a limited time. compared to other hotels the staff can speak a decent level of english . wifi is a bit slow but fast and stable compared to other places i stayed in myanmar. the manager is very accomodating and can speak tagalog !we where shocked to say the least! hehe.. i highly recommend to stay here 3 star hotel but 5 star in service!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 108 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#2 of 108 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 108 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Yuan Sheng Hotel
Yuan Sheng Hotel
#14 of 108 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel A1
Hotel A1
#13 of 108 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 108 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hotel

Property: Smart Hotel
Address: No. 167 28th Street, Between 76th & 77th Street | Chan Aye Tharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 108 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart Hotel is conveniently located a few minutes walk to Mandalay Palace, Mandalay train station, local restaurants, shopping mall and a short distance from Mandalay famous places. Smart Hotel is ideal base for city tourists as well as business travellers and everyone visiting this beautiful Myanmar teak blending style and sophistication hotel can expert warmhearted, truly Burmese hospitality experience. With three exquisite room types; Standard, Superior and Executive rooms are perfect retreat for individual needs and styles. The interior of all rooms was designed along very clean but beautiful wallpaper design as well as lovely curtain and teak furniture with a tasteful mix of Myanmar and European style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, JovagoAsia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing