We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, real value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smart Hotel
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Mandalay
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great staff, real value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Mandalay on a burning hot day in the hot season and Smart hotel welcomed us with cold fresh towels and a drink in their lobby. This was the 1-0 headstart the hotel kept up during our 3 night stay. Nice central location close by major sights in Mandalay (rent a bike nextdoor for 3000 kyat or so, it's worth it). Mr. Terrence, the manager was really kind and even helped us put together a great trip to the Inle Lake (tip: ask for it, you won't be sorry!). The staff will help you with everything, from renting a bike to reserving your busticket. The hotel is clean, has WiFi (Myanmar style) and a variated breakfast buffet.

We ended up saying hi again to mr. Terrence on our way down to Bagan and he appreciated that by offering us a nice coffee and a chat about our trip. We could spend some time waiting for our next bus in the skybar, seeing sunset and had were served really nice (again) by Shwe Toe and H-Zaw.

Smart hotel fur us really was a smart hotel :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    197
    78
    13
    11
See reviews for
48
226
86
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have spent three nights at the Smart hotel in Mandalay. I have to admit that this place is the
best and very friendly staff with their Director Terrence who speaks Tagalog plus six foreign
Languages. Amazing well trained staff and their service with a Smile is .. zero .... complaints.
The Welcome was hearthy and warm, all smile and briefed and explained us all about inside
Mandalay, outside Ancient cities,our next destinations, with very good affordable charges and
important advice. No need guide and all tickets available at same price as the Travel Agents,and no commissions taken from us. It's a Turnkey and VIP priority Service..... that's Smart..!
Then the location is excellent, walking distance to city center, the Royal Palace, shopping
Malls, and several restaurants nearby. Room... Reasonable price and just comfortable size,
clean and please try to book on the 4th floor in the front. The buffet breakfast is plentiful, and .. A la cart menu and Special Myanmar dishes are delicious at the Sky Bar. A lovely view and
can see the whole city, facing the Mandalay Hill too. We enjoyed the Sunset here from the Sky Bar with a nice Complimentary cocktail, and we end up with very lovely mild Myanmar beer
and fresh fish from Irrawaddy river, Chef 's Special.
Thank you ... all at Smart, please keep this up, we recommend to all our good friends,,,, Go to
Smart,..... for a happy stay.
Tony So, traveled with a partner of Manila, now in Abu Dhabi, UAE.

Room Tip: choose Room No. 402 facing main road Mandalay.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony13so
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandalay
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

After a long traveljourney, arriving in the Smart Hotel felt like a warm bath (in this case a cold shower due to the crazy heat outside ;)). We were received in such a nice way by manager Terrance, who speaks 7 languages!, that we immediately felt good about choosing this hotel. When we saw the rooms, we even felt better: enough space, comfortable beds, tv, airco, minibar and good bathroom. From time to time electricity stopped working for only some minutes, but this was rather funny than annoying. The hotel has a very classy looking skybar with a great view, offering a choice of Indian, Burmese and European food. Staff is overall very friendly, including mr. Hmu. The breakfast is great, the best we had till now in 4 months traveling. I truly recommend this hotel when staying in Mandalay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annmuray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here twice on our trip to Myanmar. The service was excellent. All of the staff were friendly and eager to help with anything at all. The manager went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and offered us help with planning our time in Mandalay as well as anything else we needed help with. There is a free coctail in the evenings and the restaurant has a delicious Veggie Thali for $5, as well as many other items. Both of the rooms we stayed in were clean and comfortable. The superior King room was a bit more spacious and had more windows. The wifi was ok for Myanmar, sometimes it worked well and sometimes it cut out. The buffet breakfast was delicious. They will make you eggs to order as well as all the buffet items which were delicious. It's worth staying here just for the buffet breakfast. We were sad to leave and look forward to staying here on our next trip to Myanmar.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleGee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Well, I traveled to Myanmar for about 7 days then decided to stay in Smart Hotel in Mandalay. we were 7 persons and arrived at 4am. they just opened rooms for us even it wasn't time for check in. rooms are good, clean, and all staffs are helpful specially the GM hotel. the breakfast also good so no worry. the location about 20 minutes from the bus station and you can easily find foods or drinks near the hotel. the staff will help you with ticket bus, tour, or whatever you wanna ask things to do around Mandalay. budget hotel yet served you like 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desieys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I and my other six girl friends arrived very early on 14 May 2014, around 3 O'clock in the morning. We just arrived at Mandalay after taking 7 hours in the bus from Bagan
After taking very fast and simple checking procedure, they let us to check in 11 hours before normal checking time ...oh I was very grateful. Very early check really save my energy to explore Mandalay :)

The GM is very informative and helpful. The staff are also very kind and friendly. the variety of breakfast are complete and rooms are comfortable. The service are great.

The hotel worth it to the price even beyond to my expectation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yovita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I rarely write reviews of places I have stayed, but I felt like the Smart Hotel was such great value for money that it deserved a mention. My boyfriend and I were treated like royalty during the three days we stayed there.

When we arrived it was raining, but a couple of staff rushed out with umbrellas to get us safely into the hotel. We were then greeted by the manager, Terence, and the rest of his lovely staff, who gave us helpful advice on what to visit and where everything was in relation to the hotel. We were delighted to discover it is situated in a prime location, with the palace a few minutes’ walk away.

Our bedroom was light, airy and clean, with a good-sized bathroom and a great view of the city. It also had air-con, a mini bar fridge, and a flat-screen TV attached to the wall - everything you could want from a modern city hotel room.

Guests are invited to go up to the hotel’s Sky Bar for a free cocktail every evening, and we ate there on a couple of occasions. The menu offers Burmese and international dishes, all of good quality and reasonably priced. The gentleman manning the bar was really attentive and polite, and it was the perfect way to finish a long day exploring the city.

The staff sorted out a lot of our transportation - including a day-long tour of the city's environs - and negotiated prices on our behalf. They also helped us find anything we might need, such as the post office when we wanted to send some souvenirs back to Europe. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with a smile.

When we checked out we were invited for some delicious vegetable tempura and local tea with the manager while we waited for our taxi, which we thought was extremely kind. He is a very interesting character who has been in the hotel business for 30 years and can speak at least three languages fluently.

Our experience of the Smart Hotel was overall incredibly positive and I would like to support these deserving people by doing my bit to promote their business.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie26121983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#2 of 106 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel A1
Hotel A1
#12 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 106 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yuan Sheng Hotel
Yuan Sheng Hotel
#14 of 106 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.3 mi away
79 Living Hotel
79 Living Hotel
#32 of 106 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hotel

Property: Smart Hotel
Address: No. 167 28th Street, Between 76th & 77th Street | Chan Aye Tharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart Hotel is conveniently located a few minutes walk to Mandalay Palace, Mandalay train station, local restaurants, shopping mall and a short distance from Mandalay famous places. Smart Hotel is ideal base for city tourists as well as business travellers and everyone visiting this beautiful Myanmar teak blending style and sophistication hotel can expert warmhearted, truly Burmese hospitality experience. With three exquisite room types; Standard, Superior and Executive rooms are perfect retreat for individual needs and styles. The interior of all rooms was designed along very clean but beautiful wallpaper design as well as lovely curtain and teak furniture with a tasteful mix of Myanmar and European style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, JovagoAsia, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Smart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing