We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terence rocks! Must stay.”
Review of Smart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smart Hotel
Ranked #20 of 113 Hotels in Mandalay
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights in April. The room was spacious, clean, with good internet (for Myanmar). The rooftop bar/restaurant area has one of the best views in town and is a great place to relax after a long day of exploring. Terence was wonderful, he met us at the door when we arrived with coffee and helped us plan our time in his city. We booked a tour though the hotel and were pleased with what we got. Most things are within walking distance (including ATMs!) and the Air Asia free shuttle is within a few blocks of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pacavacova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart H, Manager at Smart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear valued Guest
We, the Staff of Smart hotel and myself are thrilled and very happy to see your kind review comments at TripAdvisor.
Thank you very much for choosing Smart and we appreciate your comment.
Actually, the Staff members and myself were just doing our duty, given our top Service to you and Mrs Craig..... sincerely... and frankly.
It was and it is and it will be our pleasure to extend Smart's warm hospitality to our dear valued Guests. .... Always ! ... This is our Motto and our job and we are here to serve you......
.... A votre service,,,.! I will work harder and will give information and good advice to all our
valued Guests,... if necessary in 7 languages.At Smart we make sure our Guests are happy and it's value for money.

Terrence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

The service my friend and I received at this hotel was beyond five stars. The Hotel Director, Terence, is strait out of a movie. He speaks 7 languages, has wild stories about his life in the hotel industry, goes out of his way to help you and is adorable. His staff was equally helpful. I had a problem with my airline ticket and they went out of their way to help me, including bell boys taking me around town on their motorbikes for free.

Unfortunately the rooms and food do not meet the level of service. I'd give the rooms and food 2-3 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RACHEL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart H, Manager at Smart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

To
Ms.Rachel T
Brooklyn , New York

Dear Rachel,
Your review comment gave us a great pleasure and appreciate very much and thank you. This was frank and fair.
Yes, I am happy that our guest is pleased with our first class service and also it is my zeal to fly out of the way to assist our guests,always!!
Speaking 7 languages now, is still not enough for me. So, I am now practicing two more languages.
For the room, as you may have noticed, we are on going with renovations during this summer low seasons. Also necessary action is taking to improve the food as per your kind comment.
By the way , I have told the " Daung Lan Gyi" restaurant staff, that you and Jenny loved their food and service.

Best Regards,
Terrence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I only stayed at Smart Hotel for one night but wish I had stayed longer.

Terrence and all the staff were very friendly and professional, a level above the majority of hotels in this range in Myanmar.

The location is good, very close to the Royal Palace and easy to get to all the major attractions Mandalay has to offer.

I really felt welcomed and appreciated as a client at Smart Hotel and I would definitely stay there again. Oh and the Sky bar on the roof is a great place to watch the sun set across Mandalay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The staff and manager/owner (Terence) were very friendly, I felt welcome from the moment I arrived and was treated like family, staff greeted by name every time they saw me and really made the effort to ensure I had a great stay.

I organised tours through the hotel which I enjoyed, especially the ancient cities tour. Breakfast was a full buffet breakfast with western and asian foods, rooms were clean and comfortable with air con and all the amenities required.

I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone staying in Mandalay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelrobw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed in Hotel Smart for two nights on my short (too short!) visit to Mandalay. It's a modern, clean hotel in great central location, with charming and attentive staff. I felt very welcome and taken care of, starting with cold fresh towel and a welcome drink on arrival. Got free upgrade to the the best room in the hotel, on the top floor, with a terrace. Special thanks to Miss No No who was super professional, knowledgeable, and helpful with onward flight tickets and local travel tips, and spoke excellent English - always with a smile and great sense of humour :-) Would happily stay there again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Pawel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel has all the amenities you would expect in a modern hotel; air con, comfortable rooms and good hot showers. However the best thing about Smart Hotel is the owner Terence and his staff who go to any lengths to esure your stay is memorable. They can assist in booking flights, buses or taxis, changing money or making suggestions of things to see in Myanmar. Terence organised transportation to Inle Lake for me and also arranged an excellent homestay right in the middle of the lake, including a boat to take me around all the sights. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrynNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hospitality and service at this place was second to none. Each and every member of staff was polite and attentive (to hotel guests and each other!), and the personable hospitality given by the hotel manager, Terrence, was a highlight of the trip as he joined us for a complimentary drink on the rooftop bar. We only stayed for one night, but enjoyed the impeccable cleanliness and central location that the hotel offered. Thank you Smart Hotel for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 113 in Mandalay
519 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#2 of 113 in Mandalay
444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 113 in Mandalay
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel A1
Hotel A1
#14 of 113 in Mandalay
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
79 Living Hotel
79 Living Hotel
#33 of 113 in Mandalay
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Emperor
The Hotel Emperor
#18 of 113 in Mandalay
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hotel

Address: No. 167 28th Street, Between 76th & 77th Street | Chan Aye Tharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 113 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range: £18 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart Hotel is conveniently located a few minutes walk to Mandalay Palace, Mandalay train station, local restaurants, shopping mall and a short distance from Mandalay famous places. Smart Hotel is ideal base for city tourists as well as business travellers and everyone visiting this beautiful Myanmar teak blending style and sophistication hotel can expert warmhearted, truly Burmese hospitality experience. With three exquisite room types; Standard, Superior and Executive rooms are perfect retreat for individual needs and styles. The interior of all rooms was designed along very clean but beautiful wallpaper design as well as lovely curtain and teak furniture with a tasteful mix of Myanmar and European style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Smart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing