We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and staff, could not be more happy.”
Review of Smart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smart Hotel
Ranked #17 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service and staff, could not be more happy.”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Thank you Terrance for organizing and taking care of everything during our 1 week stay in Myanmar!
My wife and I arrived in Mandalay with only one week in Myanmar and nothing scheduled yet for how best to get around the country. We had obvious concerns on how we would get around this vastly untouched country and online research provided few solid solutions. The moment we entered Smart Hotel we were greeted by Terrance who immediately sat down with us to discuss our interests and what we wanted to see. His fluent English and knowledge of the country alleviated all our concerns right away. Terrance organized our entire week in Myanmar as we travelled by car to Bagan, and then onto Inle Lake, both of which were incredible experiences and quite possibly the highlight of our 3 months in SE Asia. Even more, Terrance kept in frequent contact with our driver and other stops along the way to ensure we were happy and being well looked after. This is above and beyond what any travel agency has done, and far more than anyone can expect from a hotel manager!
I should also mention that it was the girls at the front desk who made all our reservations with such care and concern and it was so nice to not have to organize a thing for the entire week.
The hotel itself is good, but it is the friendly and smiling staff that made this stop completely worth it. I would direct any of my friends to start their trip at the Smart Hotel just for this service alone.
The breakfast in the morning was exceptional and we could easily skip lunch after filling up on this buffet!
Thank you all at the Smart Hotel for making our week in Myanmar so memorable!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart H, Manager at Smart Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear valued Guest
We, the Staff of Smart hotel and myself are thrilled and very happy to see your kind review comments at TripAdvisor.
Thank you very much for choosing Smart and we appreciate your comment.
Actually, the Staff members and myself were just doing our duty, given our top Service to you and Mrs Craig..... sincerely.
It was and it is and it will be our pleasure to extend Smart's warm hospitality to our dear valued Guests. .... Always ! ... This is our Motto and our job and we are here to serve you......
.... A votre service,,,.! I will work harder and will give information and advice to all our valued
Guests,... if necessary in 7 languages.
Terrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    200
    81
    14
    12
See reviews for
48
228
86
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Terence is a great hotel manager and his experience shows.
Everything you would expect from a hotel of this price range - come here for a comfortable, relaxing base during your time in Mandalay.

I was really glad we took time to wander around the surrounding neighborhoods, great to see normal, suburban and poorer Myanmar life plodding along in its beautiful, exciting way, just around the corner from this friendly but swanky hotel... enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellaglasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart H, Manager at Smart Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear valued Guest
Many thanks for your compliments and for kind review comment for Smart, our Staff and myself.
Well., we have being extending our Myanmar's Smart hospitality and service sincerely,politely with
most friendly manners...... Yes, you may have noticed about Mandalay, that it was selected as one of the most Friendliest Cities in the world, being number 8th ranking , so will work harder.
We all here, are very pleased to know that you ve enjoyed your brief sejour at Smart. Thank you very much for choosing Smart and Au Revoir..... until we meet again to Welcome you warmly and
to serve you at Smart.
Terrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King George, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights in April. The room was spacious, clean, with good internet (for Myanmar). The rooftop bar/restaurant area has one of the best views in town and is a great place to relax after a long day of exploring. Terence was wonderful, he met us at the door when we arrived with coffee and helped us plan our time in his city. We booked a tour though the hotel and were pleased with what we got. Most things are within walking distance (including ATMs!) and the Air Asia free shuttle is within a few blocks of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pacavacova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart H, Manager at Smart Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear valued Guest
We, the Staff of Smart hotel and myself are thrilled and very happy to see your kind review comments at TripAdvisor.
Thank you very much for choosing Smart and we appreciate your comment.
Actually, the Staff members and myself were just doing our duty, given our top Service to you and Mrs Craig..... sincerely... and frankly.
It was and it is and it will be our pleasure to extend Smart's warm hospitality to our dear valued Guests. .... Always ! ... This is our Motto and our job and we are here to serve you......
.... A votre service,,,.! I will work harder and will give information and good advice to all our
valued Guests,... if necessary in 7 languages.At Smart we make sure our Guests are happy and it's value for money.

Terrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The service my friend and I received at this hotel was beyond five stars. The Hotel Director, Terence, is strait out of a movie. He speaks 7 languages, has wild stories about his life in the hotel industry, goes out of his way to help you and is adorable. His staff was equally helpful. I had a problem with my airline ticket and they went out of their way to help me, including bell boys taking me around town on their motorbikes for free.

Unfortunately the rooms and food do not meet the level of service. I'd give the rooms and food 2-3 stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RACHEL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart H, Manager at Smart Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
To
Ms.Rachel T
Brooklyn , New York

Dear Rachel,
Your review comment gave us a great pleasure and appreciate very much and thank you. This was frank and fair.
Yes, I am happy that our guest is pleased with our first class service and also it is my zeal to fly out of the way to assist our guests,always!!
Speaking 7 languages now, is still not enough for me. So, I am now practicing two more languages.
For the room, as you may have noticed, we are on going with renovations during this summer low seasons. Also necessary action is taking to improve the food as per your kind comment.
By the way , I have told the " Daung Lan Gyi" restaurant staff, that you and Jenny loved their food and service.

Best Regards,
Terrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I only stayed at Smart Hotel for one night but wish I had stayed longer.

Terrence and all the staff were very friendly and professional, a level above the majority of hotels in this range in Myanmar.

The location is good, very close to the Royal Palace and easy to get to all the major attractions Mandalay has to offer.

I really felt welcomed and appreciated as a client at Smart Hotel and I would definitely stay there again. Oh and the Sky bar on the roof is a great place to watch the sun set across Mandalay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The staff and manager/owner (Terence) were very friendly, I felt welcome from the moment I arrived and was treated like family, staff greeted by name every time they saw me and really made the effort to ensure I had a great stay.

I organised tours through the hotel which I enjoyed, especially the ancient cities tour. Breakfast was a full buffet breakfast with western and asian foods, rooms were clean and comfortable with air con and all the amenities required.

I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone staying in Mandalay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelrobw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed in Hotel Smart for two nights on my short (too short!) visit to Mandalay. It's a modern, clean hotel in great central location, with charming and attentive staff. I felt very welcome and taken care of, starting with cold fresh towel and a welcome drink on arrival. Got free upgrade to the the best room in the hotel, on the top floor, with a terrace. Special thanks to Miss No No who was super professional, knowledgeable, and helpful with onward flight tickets and local travel tips, and spoke excellent English - always with a smile and great sense of humour :-) Would happily stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Pawel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 110 in Mandalay
889 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#1 of 110 in Mandalay
382 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 110 in Mandalay
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kaung Myint Hotel
Kaung Myint Hotel
#16 of 110 in Mandalay
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 110 in Mandalay
399 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yuan Sheng Hotel
Yuan Sheng Hotel
#15 of 110 in Mandalay
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hotel

Property: Smart Hotel
Address: No. 167 28th Street, Between 76th & 77th Street | Chan Aye Tharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart Hotel is conveniently located a few minutes walk to Mandalay Palace, Mandalay train station, local restaurants, shopping mall and a short distance from Mandalay famous places. Smart Hotel is ideal base for city tourists as well as business travellers and everyone visiting this beautiful Myanmar teak blending style and sophistication hotel can expert warmhearted, truly Burmese hospitality experience. With three exquisite room types; Standard, Superior and Executive rooms are perfect retreat for individual needs and styles. The interior of all rooms was designed along very clean but beautiful wallpaper design as well as lovely curtain and teak furniture with a tasteful mix of Myanmar and European style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Smart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing