We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly trained and extremely friendly staff in a place with good value for money”
Review of Smart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smart Hotel
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
Muttenz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Perfectly trained and extremely friendly staff in a place with good value for money”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

First of all: This place is not cheap and in many other countries surrounding Myanmar you would get more comfortable offerings for less money. Furthermore, WiFi all over the country is always really slow, which is not the fault of the hotel but rather the public telecom provider.

This said, Smart hotels really offers great value for money, specially if you have the chance to book at discounted rates, like we did.
The highlight of the hotel are definitely the staff: led by welcoming manager Terrence they will fullfill every wish you possibly might have with a smile!
The rooms are OK and equipped with aircon, WiFi, TV, Safety box. Nearby you can rent bikes and a lot of fairly good restaurants are in the same area. And if you travel by train, you can even walk to the hotel, it's just a few blocks away from the central railway station.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart H, General Manager at Smart Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
To
Nicolas B, Switzerland
Dear Valued Guest,
Vielen Dank ! Wir freuen uns sehr.
Many thanks for the review comment, saying " Perfectly trained and extremely friendly Staff in a place with great value for money." We appreciate for the same, and we all are very glad that our
aim and our mission is accomplished. Our Smart staff members and myself are trying to extend
and render Top service with smile and patience to our dear Guests. Uncountable guests have been
happy and satisfied with Smart's facilities and service.
Also what you have mentioned as, " Great value for money " and location is perfect etc .. are absolutely positive supporting comment from you. Thank you very much again, and we shall look
forward to welcoming you and your family in the near future at the Smart hotel.
Hoteliers ohne Grenze
Terrence
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    198
    81
    13
    12
See reviews for
48
227
86
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel online at a discount rate. Our welcoming was very warm. The manager greeted us in the lobby and he took the time to sit with us and draw on a map the nearby attractions and best local food. It really made us feel like home.

Unfortunately, the room we got was very small and dark. It had a moldy smell and the furniture was dusty. The upside is the roof top bar and restaurant which served burmese cuisine which was plenty and delicious.

Smart hotel gets a 3/5 stars because the accommodations could be cleaner but the staff and food were great.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JD E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart H, General Manager at Smart Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
To
JDE
Dear Valued guest,
First of all I would like to apologize and regret for the inconvenience caused during your stay
with us. We are very sorry for this matter and may I say that whenever you and your family could stop by in Mandalay, Smart hotel with me, here Welcomes you very warmly. Then,special amenity and treatments will be arranged , as there is a saying " Customer is always right."
Also may I have more information about this room, the room number and when was your
stay date etc. I am investigating and taking all necessary actions for this incident. So that
this will not occur anymore.
I am grateful and thank you for your frank review comment. Our staff members are pleased to learn that Myanmar food you have taken were delicious and plentiful to consume, and also you enjoyed the evenings at the Skybar, watching the picturesque Sunset.
Once again kindly accept my apology and I look forward to welcoming you again here to Smart
and I promise a full guest s satisfaction service with a smile.
From , Hoteliers without Borders.
Terrence
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Our stay in Smart Hotel was an unforgettable hotel experience. We were welcomed and greeted warmly by the friendly staff. All of them made sure that we are pleased and well-entertained. Terrence, our favorite manager, who joined us over breakfast, was very accommodating and helpful in our itinerary. He spoke to us in Filipino, one of the 8 languages he speaks. Our room was very comfortable. Their buffet breakfast was simple but good combination of delectable western and local food. Their mohinga, Myanmar's local rice noodle in fish soup was great. I don't mind staying again in Smart hotel if given the chance to go back to Mandalay. Smart hotel is highly recommended. Salamat Terrence and Smart staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnmarcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart H, General Manager at Smart Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
To
Donnmarcky
Makati
Dear Valued Guest,
Sorry for this belated response to your Excellent review comment. When you have made remarks as .... Smart, Smart Staff and smartest General Manager .. etc. I am flattered, first proud, but, I
felt humble, simple, sincere and getting to love my job more, with dedication to my Company.
Thank you very much indeed for your comment, you have rocketrd up our moral and the spirit to
take care of our Valued Guests with highest quality, politely,courteously and always with a smile.
Therefore I am convinced that our Smart hospitality service will be, " No Two, " the smartest
lovely friendly service in Myanmar,.. ( not only in Mandalay,but in whole of Myanmar ) I promise.
Awaiting your next visit to Mandalay in early 2015,and to welcome you with the smartest Golden
service.
We are, Hoteliers without Frontiers.
Terrence
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Very accommodating and friendly staff overseen by charming manager Terrance - who even invited us to dine with him upon our arrival. Reception staff also helped us book various transport links and taxis.

Our room was very comfortable and a decent size. Breakfast was excellent with a good variety of things to try. There is also a Sky Bar on the roof which serves decent food in the evening accompanied by an excellent view over the city.

The hotel is a short walk from the night market and just a couple of blocks south of the palace. There are limited eating establishments in the immediate vicinity but the location is otherwise good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCharlM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart H, General Manager at Smart Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
To
SCharlM
Dear Valued Guest,
In fact I must thank you for accepting my dinner invitation,and for choosing Smart hotel,in
Mandalay. Our Front Office Staff members and myself are always here to assist with the
Guest s requests to arrange for tours, sightseeing, transports e.g. Airlines,boats,buses,
cars, taxis etc. Most importantly giving all good advice, information sometimes, on my
ipad with birds eye views,showing the actual photos viewing.We never force our guests but
their choice.Thus, you were pleased with our transport links.
F and B staff are very happy to learn that breakfast was excellent, and you have enjoyed the
evening meal at the Skybar,.
Yes, your kind comment about our location is really great. Smart is standing at the point of
best location, walking distance to all Tourists haunting places.
We will continue to be .." welcoming and friendly " to all our Guests, look forward to welcoming
you again.
We are,... Hoteliers without borders.
Terrence
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Ive been staying in hostels before mandalay and this is quite a nice break from those hostels ive stayed at. The general manager Terence is a very accomodating man and makes sure that his guests feel welcomed. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueschist87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart H, General Manager at Smart Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
To
Blueschist87
Manila
Dear Valued Guest,
Marami Salamat poh, sa TripAdvisor ditto.Sabi mo Smart maganda !
We appreciate and thank you for mentioning , " Nice hotel in the middle of Mandalay "
recommending Smart and your praise to me.
Yes, indeed this is our entire duty to take care of our Valued Guests,serving them with a
smile with maximum efforts and patience.
I will try more to render Guests satisfaction and think of new hospitality tactics and strategy
so that Smart to be the Best.
Segey, sa sue sue nook,... Ee ngat....
Terrence
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Très bon accueil. Grand confort et très bon buffet/petit déjeuner pour le prix payé (50$ en août 2014). Excellentes prestations et conseils avisés de Terence, le manager, et de son équipe pour la découverte de Mandalay et de ses environs. Probablement le meilleur rapport qualité-prix de Mandalay.

Warm welcome. Great comfort and convenient buffet for the price paid in July 2014 (50$). Terence, the manager, and his team are brimming over with handy pieces of advice to help you discover mandalay and surroundings. Bus and boat tickets available. Probably one of the best offers on spot to be highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart H, General Manager at Smart Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
a
Jean M
Cher Patron,
Merci beaucoup pour votre report review, tres gentil Au TripAdvisor. Nous sommes tres contents de faire un petit service pour vous, Mias, tres sincerement ! quand vous avez ete chez nous a l hotel
Smart. Votre " Excellent rapport qualite prix " nous a donne et fait notre morale tres haute et mes
Members de Staff vous remercient infiniment d être venu . Aussi on vous attend de nouveaux
d accueillir a Mandalay, Smart, a tres bientot.
Meilleures voeux,.... Au Revoir. Hoteliers Sans Frontiers.
Terrence
Directeur Generale.

To,
Jean M
Dear valued Guest,
Many thanks for your wonderful review report, in French and also in English languages.
We all the Staff members of Smart and myself were very delighted to have served you very
Sincerely, at our hotel when you were in Mandalay. We are grateful for your trust and preferred our Property in Mandalay. We are proud and humbled by your kind support.
We do hope that in the near future we will be able to welcome you again soon .
Until we meet, greet and welcome you again,... Au Revoir.! Hoteliers without Borders.
Terrence
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Picking the Smart Hotel was one of the best choices I made while traveling in Myanmar. From the happy and hardworking staff who are anxious to make your stay perfect to Mr. Terrance the manager who makes it all work, the Smart Hotel is perfect. I spent five nights at the Smart spread over two visits. Mr. Terrance helped me plan several days of touring the vicinity of Mandalay and along with the very helpful desk staff arranged a flight from Mandalay to Bagan and a ride to Maymyo (Pyin Oo Lwin). As for the hotel itself, the rooms are comfortable, with good AC and the usual Asian style bathroom and shower. Wireless internet worked well, as good if not a little better than the norm for Myanmar. The rooftop restaurant is a great place to relax after a day spent exploring Mandalay. You might even have the great pleasure of sharing a meal with Mr. Terrance.
Anyone considering a visit to Mandaly should put the Smart Hotel at the top of their list.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart H, General Manager at Smart Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
To, EmilKarpo
Dear Valued Guest,
Firstly,many thanks for picking Smart hotel as one of your best choices while traveling in Myanmar.
I highly appreciate your compliments and praise for my work in the hotel. Yes, indeed because
of our kind Valued Guests , like yourself and others, who support us, who like us, and who came and stayed at Smart, Mandalay, thus,we are able to serve you all, with smiling service.
As you may have noticed, our Front Desk Staff members and myself as well, are dedicated to give, explain and brief our guests and to give all information regarding visits and tours,
sincerely and very clearly. Also, we are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your tour
trip to the environs of Mandalay and the Pyin Oo Lwin trip.
Moreover thank you very much for appreciating and liking our facilities, e.g. rooms, Aircon etc.
Besides, it was my pleasure that you ve accepted my invitation and you ve dined with me,
sharing my simple Myanmar menu.
Kindly be informed that whenever you would stop by at the Smart in future, I will welcome
you very warmly and we shall dine again at the rooftop Skybar, where you will enjoy again the
panoramic view of Mandalay city, the Royal Palace and the Golden Pagoda on top of Mandalay hill, while watching the most picturesque Sunset beyond the Ayeyawaddy river and Sagaing hills.
I look forward to welcoming you again.
Terrence
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.7 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#1 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Yadanarbon
Hotel Yadanarbon
#7 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Yuan Sheng Hotel
Yuan Sheng Hotel
#14 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel A1
Hotel A1
#13 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hotel

Property: Smart Hotel
Address: No. 167 28th Street, Between 76th & 77th Street | Chan Aye Tharzan Township, Mandalay, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart Hotel is conveniently located a few minutes walk to Mandalay Palace, Mandalay train station, local restaurants, shopping mall and a short distance from Mandalay famous places. Smart Hotel is ideal base for city tourists as well as business travellers and everyone visiting this beautiful Myanmar teak blending style and sophistication hotel can expert warmhearted, truly Burmese hospitality experience. With three exquisite room types; Standard, Superior and Executive rooms are perfect retreat for individual needs and styles. The interior of all rooms was designed along very clean but beautiful wallpaper design as well as lovely curtain and teak furniture with a tasteful mix of Myanmar and European style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Smart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing