We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience”
Review of Hotel Yadanarbon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Yadanarbon
Ranked #7 of 114 Hotels in Mandalay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We chose this hotel because of the glowing reports on Tripadvisor but I think we must have been staying at a different Hotel Yadanarbon! Our room was on the 5th floor (top) and noise from the roof made our stay most unpleasant. One night (out of 3) builders worked all night preparing a soon to be opened roof top area for an early function. On the other 2 nights there was a lot of 'machinery' type noise which echoed to our floor. Given that there is going to be a restaurant/bar or whatever opening on the rooftop steer well clear of the 5th floor! Management were unwilling to change our room.
Whilst the room was just adequate for the price, like other reviewers, we found the bathroom to be smelly.

Room Tip: Probably go for 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazza281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

626 - 632 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We took the free Air Asia shuttle from the airport to 31st street. The shuttle takes you to the railway station but the staff asked everyone where they were staying. Several ppl were staying in this hotel so they dropped us off closer to the hotel. From the street it was only a 5 minutes walk (maybe less).

The staff are very welcoming and they speak great English. The rooms are clean and are very big. The wifi is strong too. The breakfast at the hotel is buffet style and there is a mix of western and local breakfast items.

The hotel is great in arranging taxis for your sightseeing plans. We went to the U Bein Bridge on our first day so that we could see the sunset and the cost was 25,000 kyat (round trip-the taxi driver will wait for you) On the second day we went to Mingun Pagoda and the taxi cost 6,000 kyat to get to the jetty where you take a boat to Mingun. The boat leaves at 9 am and returns at 1pm. The cost of the boat is 5,000 kyat per person. From the jetty back to the hotel was only 5,000 kyat. After we went to Mandalay Hill to see the sunset view. The taxi cost 15,000 kyat (round trip - the taxi driver will wait for you). On our last day we took a taxi to the airport for 15,000 kyat ( price is lower if you don't want ac)

I would definitely stay in this hotel again. A convenient thing about this hotel was that all the locals knew it and so it wasn't difficult to explain to taxi drivers when we wanted to go back to the hotel. The cost was about $130 usd for 2 nights. A good deal!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Christina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our room was really fantastic, very clean, modern, comfortable. For the most part, the staff was very attentive. Unfortunately, several other problems emerged. There was no double bed- instead, we had two beds pushed together, not a huge deal. The hotel warned us that during the end of buddhist lent, there might be noisy festivals and events, but it seemed pretty unreasonable that music started blaring at 3:30am and continued well through sunrise (this did not remotely sound religious, but rather, like pop and dance music). It was raining for most of the two days we stayed here, and we decided to have dinner at the hotel restaurant one night. We arrived ahead of a huge tour group, and got our orders in before them. An hour later, realizing that the tour group was being served dinner, we asked after our own orders. Turned out they had never been given to the kitchen, and now the kitchen was out of what we wanted, so we went to bed without dinner. Overall, we did enjoy our stay here, because we had a lovely room that we returned to between sightseeing trips. We had an afternoon flight, and the manager let us stay in the room a little after checkout time, which was very kind. If I return to Mandalay, I would probably try to stay closer to 27th street (i.e., a few blocks north) as there are more restaurants near there, and its closer to the palace.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bzchrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We not only stay at hotel Yadanarbon but also hire a car (Toyota Alphard) for half day trip in Mandalay. Their services were good.

Their staffs are attentive & friendly. Hotel was clean, breakfast was so so. Wifi in the room was so poor , it was fast only at the lobby area.

At night you will here a noise from outside but after 10pm it was very quite.

We asked them to buy A/C bus ticket to Bagan, the bus was look good but after travel 1 ½ it was broke down and they didn’t change a new bus. We had to wait almost 3hrs and made us arrived Bagan 3hrs later. (normally we should arrive Bagan at 12.30pm but it made us arrive 3.30pm) It not hotel false but just want to let you let you know anything can be happened.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nungning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A little disappointed from our stay after reading about many positive reviews from here. The room we stayed in was quite old and had a musky smell. The bathroom had a puddle from the leaking toilet. Warm water for the shower also did not work well. We only had a short stay though and was thankful for it. The wifi connection in the rooms were on and off (mostly off).

The breakfast is very vibrant with early birds at 6am. Quite a few options and the noodles were my favorite. The restaurant did have an egg station but be prepared to smell like eggs after having breakfast there.

Hotel staff were polite and very helpful in helping us plan for our visits in the city the following day. Hotel transportation (for sightseeing) was a little expensive but the hotel staff who was our driver was excellent and helpful.

Room Tip: Our friends who stayed on the 5th floor seem to have had a good room and more stable wifi/internet c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwiminBelugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at room 407 last week (21 - 23 Oct). It doesn't like other comments that the bathroom like a pool when doing shower. The shower is good and water wouldn't be on the floor. The bed is good, not as mentioned by others that is hard. I found the room have been newly renovated. Wifi is fast. There's morning servce at 5am, but the sound proof is good i only heard some sound. Whole room is very clean and the hotel is always full. Better to reserve before arrived. With US$55 per night includes breakfast, tax and central located. It's very reasonable than those hotels at Yangon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenBy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I always get impressed when I can get an early check in at 9am. The room 503 was big, clean, with a safe, proper drained bathroom, nice bed and pillows. We came from Aureum Palace and for less than half the price, we thought it was of great value. One afternoon we were having a nap and they started drilling next door, we told them we were trying to sleep and within minutes came a plate of fruits as an apology for the noise. Their driver took us around for the day, he was very helpful. It is true the neighborhood is not the best, we went for a walk, to see the train station, it was a waste of time. Use the hotel to sleep and take the car out after their breakfast, with the egg station.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jjendub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#1 of 114 in Mandalay
519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 114 in Mandalay
471 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#2 of 114 in Mandalay
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#5 of 114 in Mandalay
421 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#15 of 114 in Mandalay
434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#9 of 114 in Mandalay
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yadanarbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yadanarbon

Address: No 125 31st Street Between 76th & 77th St Street, Mandalay 00952, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 114 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range: £29 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Yadanarbon 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mandalay, Hotel Yadanarbon Mandalay features comfortable rooms with air conditioning. Other facilities at this hotel include a 24-hour front desk and a restaurant. Free Wi-FI is available throughout. Hotel Yadanarbon Mandalay is within a 5-minute drive from Mandalay Railway Station and Mandalay Royal Palace. Mandalay International Airport is a 45-minute ride away. On-site parking is possible. Cosy rooms here are provided with a TV, a seating area and a refrigerator. They also have an electric kettle and a safety box. An en suite bathroom comes with a bathtub and a hairdryer. Free toiletries are provided. For meals, guests can enjoy local dishes at the on-site Yadanarbon Restaurant. This is our guests' favourite part of Mandalay, according to independent reviews. Couples particularly like the location — they rated it 8.0 for a two-person trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Yadanarbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing