We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money”
Review of Hotel Yadanarbon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Yadanarbon
Ranked #7 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed in this Hotel for two nights and we were very happy with our choice. Compared to other Hotels in Myanmar the Hotel had a very good standard and service level. The breakfast is served as a buffet on a rooftop terrace with nice views over the city. In the evening they have a happy hour with free drinks- which we did not attend though. The rooms are pretty new and very clean. I can absolutely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Yadanarbon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

Perfect location in Mandaly for visting the attractions like Mandalay hill on 10 min drive.
But dont expect western walking distance, there is a night market around the corner if you like to try. An absolut plus is the restaurant on de deckterrace with tradional entertainment. Service is good and friendly, we bought a boat ticket to Bagan at the reception desk and when we left they gave us a good breakfast package. The room was fine, clean and everything in working order.
In front of the hotel there is a unofficail guide who will talk to you, he claims to be on tripadvisor but we dont have good experience with him. I can recommend mr Zaw la (l.zawla@gmail.com) as a guide.
Mandalay is the best location to discover Myanmar, you can do trips to Ava, Saging and much more.
Tip: if you fly with Air Asia the ticket includes a bus ride into town, they will drop you of at the corner of the street.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JNT_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Location of the hotel is very good.Shopping complex nearby.The free Air Asia shuttle bus did drop us off about 300m from the hotel.To get to the airport we took a cab for 12 usd...a fair price because it's a 45 min drive to the airport.Rooftop restaurant is very nice...very good for dinner...prices reasonable.Expect to pay about 6 usd for a steak with french fries.Breakfast could be improved.Standard room was modern with nice ensuite bathroom.Avoid the overrated taxi service from the hotel.Nice excursions out of Mandalay : getting to Mingun by local ferry and a visit to the 3 cities.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PeterenDavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Hotel Yadanarbon in Mandalay would have to be one of best hotels in Myanmar for value ,rooms spotless , staff brilliant , buffet breakfast great hotel in rooftop restaurant, not open for dinner, free puppet show 8pm every night on roof top bar , 500/ 1000 kyat by motor bike from railway station. not an easy walk, not many good dining options in the area , recommend Top Merit Food & Beverages ate there a few times (good safe food) situated 77th ST between 30th & 31st ST Main meals around 3000 kyat US$3 about 2oo meters from the hotel, no hesitation in recommending this hotel , have e-mail address of a good driver

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank don p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Situated in an urban surrounding this hotel was a cut above them with pleasant, helpful staff and clean comfortable rooms and an good buffet breakfast(which could be eaten al fresco), all at what we thought, was a reasonable price. Unfortunately, the restaurant did not open in the evening and we had difficulty finding an attractive alternative within walking distance.We asked around and found our own taxi service whuch we used to access the local area. The chanting of Buddist monks went on till quite late in the evening but afterall that is Myanmar.

Room Tip: One could ask for a quiet room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoohBurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Modern and comfortable hotel in Mandalay. Clean and spacious room friendly staff and a very good restaurant/bar on top roof! Restaurant maybe a bit expansive but a puppet show is included every evening. High speed wifi at top Roof bar reception and sometimes also in room.
ATM available at the entrance ( visa-MasterCard- cirrus) and hotel accept payment with credit card.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vialactea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Researching TA for our 3 nights in mandalay, this hotel came up as No.1 (Sep. '13). It seemed to fit our needs, and we booked a deluxe room hoping to be on one of the top floors. Arriving by taxi through the chaos of traffic and commerce that is central mandalay, the hotel matched my expectations. New and clean with friendly staff awaiting us at the door. We were told at the front desk that a guest had become too ill to travel and was staying longer in our room, so we were upgraded to a suite, on the top floor. This was a mixed bag of first impressions-- happy to be upgraded, anxious to hear of another guests misfortune, assuming it to be a bad case of food poisoning.

We were exhausted after a poorly judged decision to walk out in the streets to the district of monasteries near the river, west of the hotel. There were no taxis to take us back where we ended up, and had to walk for what seemed like miles before we were back in the traffic-choked streets of the centre and negotiated two motorbike taxis to the hotel. Too tired to try one of the TA restaurants, we ate on the roof top and had some pretty good piping hot Thai soups and curries. Gladly no stomach problems the next day. We ate there three times, as well as breakfast and never had a problem. (Skip Rainforest restaurant, a bland tourist trap.)

But sadly the hotel was a let-down overall. There were some loud sounds coming from the room next door that sounded like a pump for hot water that lasted more than several minutes at a time. Then there were noises like a washing machine and drier running. This room next-door was also a guest room, so their origins remain a mystery. The noise luckily stopped during the night, but started again early mornings. Also a lot of noise from the neighbourhood, but for me up on the 5th floor this just added to the atmosphere of being in central Mandalay.
The roof top is a plus for this hotel, because the minute you step out the door you are enveloped in dust and exhaust fumes that don't seem to reach that far up. There are views to Mandalay Hill, but you need a telescope to see anything. In retrospect we would have preferred to stay outside the centre, with nice views over the countryside, such as the comparatively priced River View Hotel. You can arrange taxis to take you to the most important sites, as walking or biking takes nerves of steel and an iron lung.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 110 in Mandalay
493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 110 in Mandalay
436 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#1 of 110 in Mandalay
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#4 of 110 in Mandalay
400 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
0.8 mi away
Mandalay City Hotel
Mandalay City Hotel
#9 of 110 in Mandalay
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yadanarbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yadanarbon

Address: no 125 31st Street Between 76th & 77th St, Mandalay 00952, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 110 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range: £18 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Yadanarbon 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Yadanarbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing