We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice for a stay in Mandalay”
Review of Hotel Yadanarbon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Yadanarbon
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a stay in Mandalay”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

The room is nice and clean, though a bit on the small size. The breakfast is nice with a good variety. Staffs are friendly and helpful. While the rooftop bar closes painstakingly early, you can still sit and chill there. The location is okay, but the overall newness of the place beats other choices in Mandalay. What more could you ask for?

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pow K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    360
    113
    18
    9
See reviews for
101
408
129
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My friend and I stayed for one night <15 may 2014 > we had and excellent experience at this hotel and would highly recommend.The staff was friendly, attentive and very helpful. Mr.Si Thu is staff at night shift very nice, he try to help us to solved our problem ........ Yes !!!!! The problem was finished and we will come back again.
Ps. We found the big storm <Rain and Sand> and all the town has electric down but this hotel is not electric down *** wow wow wow ****

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linkybell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stopped here for three nights. The room was good with a good bathroom. Water pressure wasn't the best in the shower. The best thing about the hotel was the staff. They were incredibly friendly, and couldn't do enough for you. Even the maid was amazing, the room was spotless.

There is a lovely roof terrace that serves drinks, and has a traditional Burmese puppet show. The food is typical of the region.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel has an early market and is near a mosque. If you want a lie in, take some ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tashingon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
313 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Location
Located in downtown busy hustle & bustle area of Mandalay - about an hour from the airport & 30 minutes from main bus station. The palace is about 30 minute walk & Mandalay hill plus some pagodas like the one with the book is about an hour and 20min walk or 15-20min in a taxi. Initially the immediate area is like "what a hole" but it's actually quite an interesting area to see how the locals live & breath but still kind of a hole. There are some resturants and small shops but all really for locals & not much tourist appeal -for a decent local meal try "Aye Myit Tar"- not far less than 10 minutes by taxi (see my other review but 5 star).
Room
Room is quite nice and spacious it's got an original somewhat 90's Asian appeal to it- gold curtains, wooden furniture and some gold ornaments on the walls. It crosses between a leisure hotel and aged business city hotel. It dies though feel very much traditional to Myanmar & quite cosy. The bed was fairly comfortable and quite large for a double bed, large bed side tables existed with nice lamp and phone but no clock. Some traditional wooden chairs existed around a corner table that had a kettle and cups but only powered coffee available (no tea). A luggage rack was also provided as well as large wooden wardrobe of which us of decent size for clothes and included some unusual looking dressing gowns. An easy to used fixed safe was also inside. There was a desk with fridge underneath that included some mini bar items but only drinks no snacks. The desk had a mirror above it and stool but the top kept falling off. There was a flat screen TV on the wall but limited channels which is consistent in most of Myanmar however this hotel did have a HBO movie channel and Nat geo. The room had an excellent amount of plugs of which have international sockets such as EU, US and UK plugs. Lighting was ok - no dimmer or reading light but a decent bed side lamp. A/C was cold enough and remote controlled individual unit.
The bathroom was one of the better bathrooms I had in Myanmar- it had a bath shower combo, rather than the typical shared toilet floor with shower. A large curtain and decent selection of individual amenities such as combs, toothbrushes, shampoo a and shower gel.
Overall the room was a nice enough room, a bit aged but clean & fits in with the location well. It was on the 5th floor and I could hear some noise but general city -not overbearing as some reviewers have suggested - then again ask for a top floor. You do hear some Buddist preaching in the morning about 7-8 on a speaker phone but this is Mandalay & the hotel do offer an apology letter regarding this in their welcome back. Besides it wakes you up nice and early to get breakfast & go exploring.
Facilities
The hotel has free secure WIFI in which multiple devices can be used - for myanmar it was the best I had & had no issue with it at all. Ok it's not as fast as Bangkok but it is adequate for emails and websites. The hotel has a shop by reception which has some nice souvenirs -but found them a bit pricey- a lot of gems are for sale as well.
There is a resturant & bar on the roof which is not covered at the sides with a small stage that faces the seating. Breakfast is served here & was adequate - the food is nothing special but does include mixture of Asian and western options including an egg station. I did try dinner one night and found this to be the flaw of the hotel - the food is way overpriced, in fact the most expensive I saw in Myanmar, fried rice alone is $5 will it doesn't seem that much everywhere else in the world but this country including yangon it's like 2bucks. The rice was not that great and the next morning I had some 'stomach issues' requiring Imodium and the day before only ate at the hotel. To be fair they do provide a show in the restaurant in which I only briefly saw a lady playing a mandolin but looked too dull to stay, puppets show also exist but did not see it. They also provide whiskey sour cocktails for free between 530-630pm but missed this as wanted to see the sunrise outside of hotel.
Staff
Staff are fairly disciplined - they are nice and hospitable but I found in comparison to the other hotels in Myanmar I stayed at, they did not go out their way for you other than security whom would always open the door for you. As such directions are vague and they don't provide or show a map or much detail of the main places to see. Some reviewers have said the staff gave them a free towel and drink when they came back after a hard day, that didn't happen to me even after a 4 hour walk dripping in sweat in the 44C heat in May and another reviewer said they got given a free lift to the air Asia bus pick up point but for me was directed to a taxi to pay for. Perhaps they are selective.
Overall yes this is the second best option and most value for money in Mandalay where hotels are limited and so there is not much competition it seems, but the room is cosy and functional. I just think the food is way overpriced and of poor standard for dinner, staff also are not that hospitable when compared to other hotels I stayed at in Myanmar. If I came back I would like to try another hotel which is of similar price & standard.

Room Tip: 507 is a pretty good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Attentive, efficient, helpfull and warm staff with adequate commend of english. Clean room and bathroom (with hot water),and a safety box .Get an upper floor room to avoid the noise from the waterpump or generator. Excellent buffet breakfast on the terrace . Don't miss the sunset, complimentary sour rum , happy hour. Convenient central location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosier1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Price/quality is exellent
Rooms and breakfast are ok and staff is really exellent
Management knows really how to run a hotel , they are very helpful
Everything is very clean
To recommand for a stay in Mandalay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
525 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 827 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Hotel Yadanarbon is located in centre of Town and is very modern hotel; the staffs are very helpful, friendly with excellent service. I was given a nice drink on arrival, the check in was swift, my room at Yadanarbon was lovely and nicely furnished with good size bathroom on the fourth floor which was quiet. The breakfast on the roof top terrace had many varieties for the vegetarians and I enjoyed the stir fry vegetables, I could see the street market from the roof top which is interesting, I also went on the roof top terrace in the evening for a drink and got one free drink there as well. As I was leaving early next morning at 4.30 am, they gave me a cold packed breakfast which was really nice and I was very happy with this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mandalay hotels
0.6 mi away
The Home Hotel
The Home Hotel
#2 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bagan King Hotel
Bagan King Hotel
#3 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel 8
Hotel 8
#1 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
Triumph Hotel Mandalay
#5 of 109 in Mandalay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
Ayarwaddy River View Hotel
#18 of 109 in Mandalay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel by the Red Canal, Mandalay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yadanarbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yadanarbon

Property: Hotel Yadanarbon
Address: no 125 31st Street Between 76th & 77th St, Mandalay 00952, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Mandalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Mandalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Yadanarbon 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Yadanarbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing